This is the "MEAS" page of the "Middle East and African Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Middle East and African Studies   Tags: history, intercultural studies  

Departmental Research Guide
Last Updated: Aug 1, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wku.edu/MEAS Print Guide RSS Updates

MEAS Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Brian E. Coutts
Contact Info
Department of Library Public Services (502 Cravens)
Western Kentucky University
1906 College Heights Blvd. #11067
Bowling Green, Kentucky 42101-1067
Phone: (270) 745-6121
FAX: (270) FAX: (270) 745-2275
Send Email
Subjects:
History

MEAS Faculty

Arabic Faculty

Databases and online resources

  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)  
      
    A large multi-subject database which covers every topic. Contains abstracts of scholarly journal and popular magazine articles, with many available full text.
  • Google Scholar  
      
    A free Web-based Google service that restricts searches to the scholarly literature. Now features linking to full-text of articles held by WKU.
  • JSTOR  
      
    Provides the full-text searches of digitized back issues of several hundred well-known journals, some dating back to mid-1800s up to the most recent three to five years.
  • Middle East, 1916-2001: A Documentary Record  
      
  • ETANA (Electronic Tools and Ancient Near Eastern Archives)  
      
    ETANA (Electronic Tools and Ancient Near Eastern Archives) is an electronic repository and archive for archaeological data on the ancient Near East where scholars in the field can share data and images.
  • Web of Science  
      
    Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings.
 

Recent titles (available in Cravens Library)

Cover Art
Image Politics in the Middle East - Lina Khatib
Call Number: JA85.2.M628 K44 2013
ISBN: 9781848852822
Publication Date: 2012-12-24

Cover Art
Water on Sand - Alan Mikhail (Editor)
Call Number: GF670 .W48 2013
ISBN: 9780199768677
Publication Date: 2012-12-07

Cover Art
Islamist Radicalisation in Europe and the Middle East - George Joffé (Editor)
Call Number: BP173.7 .I85 2013
ISBN: 9781848854802
Publication Date: 2012-11-27

Cover Art
Arab Spring in Egypt - Bahgat Korany (Editor); Rabab El-Mahdi (Editor)
Call Number: DT107.87 .E39 2013
ISBN: 9789774165368
Publication Date: 2012-09-30

Cover Art
Back Stories - Amahl Bishara
Call Number: PN5449.W46 B57 2013
ISBN: 9780804781404
Publication Date: 2012-12-05

Cover Art
Cosmopolitanism and the Arab Spring - Lori J. Underwood
Call Number: JZ1308 .U535 2013
ISBN: 9781433117923
Publication Date: 2012-12-01

Cover Art
The Arab Revolts - David McMurray (Editor); Amanda Ufheil-Somers (Editor)
Call Number: online
ISBN: 9780253009753
Publication Date: 2013-02-22

 

Reference Books (available in Helm Library)

Cover Art
The Arab Spring - Lynn Zott (Editor)
Call Number: JQ1850.A91 A75 2013
ISBN: 9780737760422
Publication Date: 2012-09-14

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Ottoman Empire - Gabor Agoston; Bruce Masters
Call Number: Ref. DR486 .A375 2009
ISBN: 9780816062591
Publication Date: 2008-12-01
Encyclopedia of the Ottoman Empire provides a thorough overview of the history and civilization of the Ottomans, with more than 400 A-to-Z entries focusing on major events, personalities, institutions, and terms. With signed articles by experts in the field, this comprehensive one-volume resource also includes essential information regarding imperialism and the emerging Balkan, Arab, and Turkish nationalism; the demise of the empire; and Ottoman legacy in the Balkans and the Middle East.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Arab-Israeli Conflict - Spencer C. Tucker (Editor); Priscilla Mary Roberts (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. DS119.7 .E5653 2008
ISBN: 9781851098415
Publication Date: 2008-05-12

Cover Art
The New Encyclopedia of Islam - Cyril Glasse
Call Number: Ref. BP40 .G43x 2008
ISBN: 0742562964
Publication Date: 2008-07-11

Cover Art
Atlas of the Middle East - National Geographic Society Staff
Call Number: Ref. G2205 .N34 2008
ISBN: 9781426202216
Publication Date: 2008-04-15
A handy collection of country and city maps which also includes thematic and historical maps.

Cover Art
Medieval Islamic Civilization - Josef W. Meri (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. DS36.85 .M434 2006
ISBN: 0415966906
Publication Date: 2005-10-31
In more than 500 entries, coverage ranges from the Iberian Peninsula and North Africa to the Middle East and South and Southeast Asia, and from the sixth through the seventeenth centuries, a span of time that includes what is generally described as the golden age of Islam, 750-1200 C.E. The introduction tells us that historical themes have been deemphasized "in favor of an original synthesis that gives prominence to aspects of daily life."

Cover Art
Encyclopedia Judaica - Fred Skolnik; Michael Berenbaum
Call Number: Ref. DS102.8
ISBN: 9780028659282
Publication Date: 2006-12-12
The major multi-volume scholarly encyclopedia in Judaic and ancient Hebrew studies. Short bibliographies of classical works accompany signed articles.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa - Philip Mattar
Call Number: Ref. DS43 .E53 2004
ISBN: 0028657691
Publication Date: 2004-06-01

Cover Art
Companion Encyclopedia of Middle Eastern and North African Film - Oliver Leaman (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. PN1993.5.A65 C66 2001
ISBN: 0415187036
Publication Date: 2001-10-12

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip