Skip to main content
Banner Image

Mathematics: Home

Dept. of Mathematics

Mathematics

Dept. of Mathematics
Departmental Research Guide


This research guide relays some basic information on library and information resources pertaining to the concerns of this department, as provided by University Libraries and/or sites on the World Wide Web.

1. LC Call Nos.   2. Finding Articles   3. Ref Collection   4. Math Faculty   5. Prof. Societies   6. Websites



1. To Shelf-Browse for Books (using main Library of Congress Subject Divisions)

Books on subjects associated with this field are shelved under the call number ranges listed below. Use TOPCAT to search for specific items in the collection, or more narrowly-defined subjects.

General Mathematics: QA1-QA74 & QA77-QA99 ------- Arithmetic: QA101-QA145 ------- Algebra: QA150-QA272 ------- Probability & Statistics: QA273-QA299.4 ------- Analysis: QA299.6-QA433 ------- Geometry, Trigonometry & Topology: QA440-QA699 ------- Analytic Mechanics: QA801-QA939 ------- Mathematical Physics: QC19.2-QC20.85 ------- Mathematical Crystallography: QD911-QD915 ------- Mathematics Bibliography: Z6651-Z6655 ------- Statistics Bibliography: Z7551-Z7555

2a. To Find Journal and Magazine Articles (using indexing/abstracting/full-text services)

The following services are recommended for courses for first-year students and nonmajors:

2b. To Find Journal and Magazine Articles (using indexing/abstracting/full-text services)

The following services are recommended for use by advanced students and researchers:

Special Resources

3. Monographic Reference Works in Helm Library

The following are recommended for use:

  • handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, etc.: available in Reference, mainly in the QA part of the collection. Note especially the following: Encyclopedia of Mathematics QA5 .M384x ------- Biographical Dictionary of Mathematicians QA28 .B534.  

4. Mathematics Faculty and Services

6. Web Sites Recommended by Mathematics Faculty

Science Librarian

Charles Smith
Contact:
mail: University Libraries, 1906 College Heights Blvd., Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green, KY 42101



office: Room 102, Helm Library

phone: (270) 745-6079

fax: (270) 745-2275
Website / Blog Page