Skip to main content
Banner Image

Geography & Geology: Home

Geography & Geology Research Guide

Geography & Geology

Department of Geography & Geology
Departmental Research Guide


This research guide relays some basic information on library and information resources pertaining to the concerns of this department, as provided by University Libraries and/or sites on the World Wide Web.

1. LC Call Nos.    2. Find Articles    3. Ref Collection    4. G & G Faculty    5. Prof. Societies    6. Websites


1. To Shelf-Browse for Books (using main Library of Congress Subject Divisions)

Books on subjects associated with this field are shelved under the call number ranges listed below. Use TOPCAT to search for specific items in the collection, or more narrowly-defined subjects.

Geography:
World Regional Geographies/Histories (D's, E's & F's) ------- General Geography (G) ------- Cartography etc. (GA) ------- Regional & Physical Geography (GB) ------- Oceanography (GC) ------- General Environmental Sciences (GE) ------- Human Ecology (GF) ------- Population Geography/Migration (HB1951 - HB2577) ------- Economic History & Conditions (HC & HD) ------- General & Urban Transportation (HE131 - HE333) ------- Commercial/Economic Geography (HF1025 - HF1027) ------- Human Settlements & Cities (HT) ------- Geopolitics/Nationalism (JC319 - JC323) ------- City Planning/Beautifying (NA9000 - NA9428) ------- Meteorology & Climatology (QC851 - QC999) ------- Phytogeography (QK101 - QK474) ------- Soil Science (S590 - S599) ------- Natural Resource Conservation (S900 - S972) ------- Survey Methods (TA590 - TA597) ------- various bibliographic subjects (Z)

Geology:
Regional & Physical Geography (GB) ------- Oceanography (GC) ------- Geophysics & Geomagnetism (QC801 - QC849) ------- Geology (all main subjects) (QE) ------- Mining (TN) ------- various bibliographic subjects (Z)

2a. To Find Journal and Magazine Articles (using indexing/abstracting/full-text services)

The following services are recommended for use by first-year students and nonmajors:

2b. To Find Journal and Magazine Articles (using indexing/abstracting/full-text services)

The following services are recommended for use by advanced students and researchers:

Special Resources

3. Monographic and Other Reference Materials in the Helm Library and Kentucky Building

Handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, etc. are available in Helm Reference, mainly in the G, GA, GB, GC, GE, GF, QC801-QC999, QE, and TD parts of the collection. The following are recommended for use:

  • The Columbia Gazetteer G103.5 .C65x
  • Encyclopedia of Geomorphology GB400.3 .E53
  • Encyclopedia of Caves & Karst Science GB601 .E535 
  • Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences GC9 .E57 
  • Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences QC854 .E522 
  • Significant Tornadoes QC955.5 .U6.G733x 
  • The Weather Almanac QC983.W38 
  • Dana's New Mineralogy QE372.D23 
  • Treatise on Invertebrate Paleontology QE770.J6. 

4. Department of Geography & Geology Faculty

Meteorology, Climatology, Hydroclimatology, Hydrology

Science Librarian

Charles Smith
Contact:
mail: University Libraries, 1906 College Heights Blvd., Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green, KY 42101



office: Room 102, Helm Library

phone: (270) 745-6079

fax: (270) 745-2275
Website / Blog Page