Skip to main content
Banner Image

Engineering: Home

Engineering Research Guide

Engineering

Department of Engineering
Departmental Research Guide


This research guide relays some basic information on library and information resources pertaining to the concerns of this department, as provided by University Libraries and/or sites on the World Wide Web.

1. LC Call Nos.  2. Find Articles  3. Ref Collection  4. Engineering Faculty  5. Prof. Societies  6. Websites


1. To Shelf-Browse for Books (using main Library of Congress Subject Divisions)

Books on subjects associated with this field are shelved under the call number ranges listed below. Use TOPCAT to search for specific items in the collection, or more narrowly-defined subjects.

Traffic Engineering: HE331-HE380 ------- Analytical Methods: QA401-QA433 ------- Analytic Mechanics: QA801-QA939 ------- Fluid Mechanics: QC138-QC168 ------- Chemical Reactions: QD501-QD505.5 ------- General Technology: T ------- Civil Engineering: TA ------- Hydraulic Engineering: TC ------- Sanitary Engineering: TD ------- Highway Engineering: TE ------- Bridge Engineering: TG ------- Building Construction: TH ------- Mechanical Engineering & Machinery: TJ ------- Electrical Engineering & Electronics: TK ------- Chemical Engineering: TP ------- Manufacturing Processes: TS ------- various bibliographic subjects (Z)

2a. To Find Journal and Magazine Articles (using indexing/abstracting/full-text services)

The following services are recommended for courses for first-year students and nonmajors:

2b. To Find Journal and Magazine Articles (using indexing/abstracting/full-text services)

The following services are recommended for use by advanced students and researchers:

Special Resources

3. Monographic Reference Works in Helm Library

The following are recommended for use:

handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, etc.: available in Reference, mainly in the QAQC, TTATCTDTHTJ, TK, TP, and TSparts of the collection. Note, for example:

  • Index & Directory of Industry Standards T59.2 .U6.I5
  • The Civil Engineering Handbook TA151.C57
  • Job Opportunities for Engineering Majors TA157.P445
  • Standard Handbook of Engineering Calculations TA332.S73
  • Standard Handbook of Environmental Engineering TD145.S72
  • Encyclopedia of Environmental Pollution & Cleanup TD173.E53
  • Encyclopedia of Energy & the Environment TJ163.235 .W55
  • International Encyclopedia of Heat & Mass Transfer TJ260.I579
  • The Communications Handbook TK5101.C6583
  • The Electronics Handbook TK7867.E4244.

4. Department of Engineering Faculty

5. Related Professional Societies (for professional news, careers/jobs, memberships, etc.)

6. Web Sites Recommended by Dept. of Engineering Faculty

General & Miscellaneous

Science Librarian

Charles Smith
Contact:
mail: University Libraries, 1906 College Heights Blvd., Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green, KY 42101



office: Room 102, Helm Library

phone: (270) 745-6079

fax: (270) 745-2275
Website / Blog Page