Skip to main content
Banner Image

Biology: Biology

Biology Research Guide

Biology

Department of Biology
Departmental Research Guide


This research guide relays some basic information on library and information resources pertaining to the concerns of this department, as provided by University Libraries and/or sites on the World Wide Web.

1. LC Call Nos.     2. Find Articles     3. Ref Collection     4. Bio Faculty     5. Prof. Societies     6. Websites



1. To Shelf-Browse for Books (using main Library of Congress Subject Divisions)

Books on subjects associated with this field are shelved under the call number ranges listed below. Use TOPCAT to search for specific items in the collection, or more narrowly-defined subjects.

Environmental Sciences: GE ------- Biochemistry: QD415-QD436 ------- Paleobiology: QE760.8-QE996.5 ------- Natural History: QH1-QH278.5 ------- Biology Miscellaneous (Evolution, Genetics, Reproduction, Ecology, Cytology, etc.): QH301-QH705.5 ------- Botany: QK ------- Zoology: QL ------- Human Anatomy: QM ------- Physiology: QP ------- Microbiology: QR ------- Natural Resources Conservation: S900-S954 ------- Environmental Technology: TD ------- Biotechnology: TP248.13-TP248.65 ------- various bibliographic subjects (Z)

2a. To Find Journal and Magazine Articles (using indexing/abstracting/full-text services)

The following services are recommended for courses for first-year students and nonmajors:

2b. To Find Journal and Magazine Articles (using indexing/abstracting/full-text services)

The following services are recommended for use by advanced students and researchers:

Special Resources

3. Monographic and Other Reference Materials in the Helm Library and Kentucky Building

The following are recommended for use:

  • handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, etc.: available in Helm Reference, mainly in the GFQHQKQL, QMQP, and QR parts of the collection. 
  • 18-20th century printed works in the Kentucky Building relating to botany (including original works by Linnaeus and John James Audubon), biology and medicine.

4. Department of Biology Faculty

5. Related Professional Societies (for professional news, careers/jobs, memberships, etc.)

6. Web Sites Recommended by Department of Biology Faculty

General       Natural History       Botany       Zoology
Suborganismal Biology       Genetics       Biotechnology

Science Librarian

Charles Smith
Contact:
mail: University Libraries, 1906 College Heights Blvd., Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green, KY 42101



office: Room 102, Helm Library

phone: (270) 745-6079

fax: (270) 745-2275
Website / Blog Page