This guide will lead you to the best resources for company and industry research.
Last Updated: Oct 29, 2013
Start with these library databases for company and industry information from major trade, industry, and academic publications, as well as current financial data.
- Company Profiles (LexisNexis)
Company Profiles includes profiles of companies and company executives, annual reports and other SEC filings, bankruptcy reports, merger and acquisition transactions, and earnings reports. It covers all US public companies, more than 200,000 private US companies, and many thousands of other companies around the world.
- Mergent Online
Mergent Online provides current profiles of U.S. and international publicly-traded companies. Profiles include a business summary, recent news, up to 15 years of financial data, institutional holdings, inside owners, subsidiaries, major competitors, and more. Users can also find reports on "Inactive companies" (firms which were formerly publicly-traded but which no longer exist or are no longer public). Results can be imported into spreadsheets or users can create customized print reports.
- Morningstar Investment Research Center
Morningstar Investment Research Center offers data and analysis on thousands of domestic and international stocks, mutual funds, and exchange traded funds. It also includes data on financial markets and powerful screening tools.
- Statistical Insight (ProQuest)
Statistical Insight provides statistical surveys, charts, and tables produced by federal & state agencies, trade & professional associations, commercial publishers, research organizations, and universities. It also includes the online version of the American Statistics Index (ASI).
- Worldscope International Company Profiles
Use this database to find profiles on thousands of international companies. Searchable by company name, country, industry, subject, or personal name.
- Zacks Investment Research
Gives current financial reports on publicly-traded companies, including estimate revision histories, Reasons to Buy, and Reasons to Sell.