This is the "Physics and Astronomy" page of the "Physics and Astronomy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Physics and Astronomy  

Department of Physics and Astronomy Research Guide
Last Updated: Jul 23, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wku.edu/content.php?pid=185140 Print Guide RSS Updates

Physics and Astronomy Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Physics and Astronomy

Department of Physics and Astronomy
Departmental Research Guide


This research guide relays some basic information on library and information resources pertaining to the concerns of this department, as provided by University Libraries and/or sites on the World Wide Web.

1. LC Call Nos.    2. Finding Articles    3. Ref Collection    4. P & A Faculty    5. Prof. Societies    6. Websites



1. To Shelf-Browse for Books (using main Library of Congress Subject Divisions)

Books on subjects associated with this field are shelved under the call number ranges listed below. Use TOPCAT to search for specific items in the collection, or more narrowly-defined subjects.

Astronomy (all main subjects): QB ------- Physics (all main classical subjects): QC1-QC798 ------- Geophysics: QE801-QE809 ------- Geomagnetism: QC811-QC849 ------- Radioactive Dating/Earth's Interior: QE500-QE511.7 ------- Biomagnetism & Biophysics: QH504-QH505 ------- Applied Mechanics: TA349-TA359 ------- Electric Circuits & Networks: TK452-TK454.4 ------- Electronic Circuits: TK7867-TK7882 ------- various bibliographic subjects (Z)

2a. To Find Journal and Magazine Articles (using indexing/abstracting/full-text services)

The following services are recommended for courses for first-year students and nonmajors:

2b. To Find Journal and Magazine Articles (using indexing/abstracting/full-text services)

The following services are recommended for use by advanced students and researchers:

Special Resources

 

3. Monographic Reference Works in Helm Library

The following are recommended for use:

  • handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, etc.: available in Reference, mainly in theQBQC, and TK parts of the collection. Note especially the following:  History of Astronomy: An Encyclopedia QB15.H624 ------- Encyclopedia of Planetary Sciences QB600.2 .E53 -------Twentieth Century Physics QC7.T84 ------- Instrumentation Reference Book QC53.I574 -------Handbook of Physical Quantities QC61.H36 ------- Atomic, Molecular & Optical Physics Handbook QC173.A827 ------- Encyclopedia of Acoustics QC221.5 .E53 ------- Handbook of Optics QC369.H35 ------- Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy QC450.3 .P47 ------- Handbook of Chemistry and Physics QD65.H3.   See the Shelf List of Science & Technology-Related Reference Works in the Reference Department, Helm Library.
 

5. Related Professional Societies (for professional news, careers/jobs, memberships, etc.)

 

6. Web Sites Recommended by Dept. of Physics and Astronomy Faculty

Science Librarian

Profile Image
Charles Smith
Contact Info
mail: University Libraries, 1906 College Heights Blvd., Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green, KY 42101

office: Room 102, Helm Library
phone: (270) 745-6079
fax: (270) 745-2275
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip