This is the "Home" page of the "Mathematics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mathematics  

Dept. of Mathematics
Last Updated: Jul 22, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wku.edu/content.php?pid=185143 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Mathematics

Dept. of Mathematics
Departmental Research Guide


This research guide relays some basic information on library and information resources pertaining to the concerns of this department, as provided by University Libraries and/or sites on the World Wide Web.

1. LC Call Nos.   2. Finding Articles   3. Ref Collection   4. Math Faculty   5. Prof. Societies   6. Websites



1. To Shelf-Browse for Books (using main Library of Congress Subject Divisions)

Books on subjects associated with this field are shelved under the call number ranges listed below. Use TOPCAT to search for specific items in the collection, or more narrowly-defined subjects.

General Mathematics: QA1-QA74 & QA77-QA99 ------- Arithmetic: QA101-QA145 ------- Algebra: QA150-QA272 ------- Probability & Statistics: QA273-QA299.4 ------- Analysis: QA299.6-QA433 ------- Geometry, Trigonometry & Topology: QA440-QA699 ------- Analytic Mechanics: QA801-QA939 ------- Mathematical Physics: QC19.2-QC20.85 ------- Mathematical Crystallography: QD911-QD915 ------- Mathematics Bibliography: Z6651-Z6655 ------- Statistics Bibliography: Z7551-Z7555

2a. To Find Journal and Magazine Articles (using indexing/abstracting/full-text services)

The following services are recommended for courses for first-year students and nonmajors:

  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)  
      
    These two (see below) all-subject WWW-based services (they are part of the EBSCOhost system) feature indexing and abstracting of many journals and magazines WKU Libraries receives in hardcopy, plus a large selection of articles in full-text.
  • Masterfile Premier (EBSCOhost)
    See above.
  • Google Scholar  
      
    A free Web-based Google service that restricts searches to the scholarly literature. Now features linking to full-text of articles held by WKU.

2b. To Find Journal and Magazine Articles (using indexing/abstracting/full-text services)

The following services are recommended for use by advanced students and researchers:

  • MathSciNet
    This WWW-based service provides abstracting of the serial literature of mathematics, plus a number of enhancements. Recent years of the paper version (Mathematical Reviews) are available in Reference.
  • JSTOR  
      
    Provides the full text/full image web access of the complete archival collections of over twenty core scholarly journals in the mathematical sciences, up to the most recent three to five years.
  • SpringerLink journals
    Access to about 1000 Springer journals with full content back to about 1997.
  • Web of Science  
      
    A state of the art abstracting tool covering more than 11,000 scholar journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities, with links to full text as available.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)  
      
    "This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals" (across all subject areas, and in multiple languages).
  • Science (Magazine) Online (AAAS)  
      
  • Google Scholar  
      
    As described above.
  • IOP Science (Institute of Physics)  
      
    250,000 articles in full-text from the serial publications of the IOP.
  • IngentaConnect  
      
    A free online database indexing some 28000 journals and magazines from the 1980s onward. Offers for-pay text delivery.
  • Current Index to Statistics
    A paper product that reviews the literature of mathematical statistics for the years 1975-1997. Located in Reference at QA276 .A1 C87 (ref.per.ind.).

Special Resources

 

3. Monographic Reference Works in Helm Library

The following are recommended for use:

4. Mathematics Faculty and Services

 

6. Web Sites Recommended by Mathematics Faculty

Science Librarian

Profile Image
Charles Smith
Contact Info
mail: University Libraries, 1906 College Heights Blvd., Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green, KY 42101

office: Room 102, Helm Library
phone: (270) 745-6079
fax: (270) 745-2275
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip