Menu
Databases | E-Books | E-Journals
Gordon Wilson Storage Facility
Leisure Magazines
Library of Congress Classification
Magazines/Journals: Print | online
Maps: Reference | Periodicals
Ref Books: Science | Business
SuDoc System (Gov't Documents)
Geography & Geology
Department of Geography & Geology
Departmental Research Guide
This research guide relays some basic information on library and information resources pertaining to the concerns of this department, as provided by University Libraries and/or sites on the World Wide Web.
1. LC Call Nos. 2. Find Articles 3. Ref Collection 4. G & G Faculty 5. Prof. Societies 6. Websites
1. To Shelf-Browse for Books (using main Library of Congress Subject Divisions)
Books on subjects associated with this field are shelved under the call number ranges listed below. Use TOPCAT to search for specific items in the collection, or more narrowly-defined subjects.
Geography:
World Regional Geographies/Histories (D's, E's & F's) ------- General Geography (G) ------- Cartography etc. (GA) ------- Regional & Physical Geography (GB) ------- Oceanography (GC) ------- General Environmental Sciences (GE) ------- Human Ecology (GF) ------- Population Geography/Migration (HB1951 - HB2577) ------- Economic History & Conditions (HC & HD) ------- General & Urban Transportation (HE131 - HE333) ------- Commercial/Economic Geography (HF1025 - HF1027) ------- Human Settlements & Cities (HT) ------- Geopolitics/Nationalism (JC319 - JC323) ------- City Planning/Beautifying (NA9000 - NA9428) ------- Meteorology & Climatology (QC851 - QC999) ------- Phytogeography (QK101 - QK474) ------- Soil Science (S590 - S599) ------- Natural Resource Conservation (S900 - S972) ------- Survey Methods (TA590 - TA597) ------- various bibliographic subjects (Z)
Geology:
Regional & Physical Geography (GB) ------- Oceanography (GC) ------- Geophysics & Geomagnetism (QC801 - QC849) ------- Geology (all main subjects) (QE) ------- Mining (TN) ------- various bibliographic subjects (Z)
The following services are recommended for use by first-year students and nonmajors:
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) These two (see below) all-subject WWW-based services (they are part of the EBSCOhost system) feature indexing and abstracting of many journals and magazines WKU Libraries receives in hardcopy, plus a large selection of articles in full-text.
- Masterfile Premier (EBSCOhost)See above.
- Science (Magazine) Online (AAAS)
- Google Scholar A free Web-based Google service that restricts searches to the scholarly literature. Now features linking to full-text of articles held by WKU.
- GreenFile (EBSCOhost)This EBSCOhost-based database covers literature on man's impact on the environment.
- Social Sciences IndexA paper product that indexes a good number of geography- and other social sciences-related journals. Located in Helm Reference at AI3 .S62 (ref.per.ind.).
2b. To Find Journal and Magazine Articles (using indexing/abstracting/full-text services)
The following services are recommended for use by advanced students and researchers:
- GeoScienceWorld—Includes E-Journals and GeoRef A WWW-based service which exhaustively indexes the literature of the field of geology; now incorporated into GeoScience World. WARNING!: This library owns only a small fraction of the titles indexed!
- American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG)A collection of around forty ejournals centering on petroleum geology, some with deep backfiles.
- Web of Science A state of the art abstracting tool covering more than 11,000 scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences and humanities, with links to full text as available.
- SpringerLink JournalsAccess to about 1000 Springer journals with full content back to about 1997.
- JSTOR Provides the full text/full image web access of the complete archival collections of over 150 (and growing) core scholarly journals up to the most recent three to five years.
- Science (Magazine) Online (AAAS)
- Nature Online (Nature Publishing)
- DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)"This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals" (across all subject areas, and in multiple languages).
- Google Scholar As described above.
- GreenFile (EBSCOhost)This EBSCOhost-based database covers literature on man's impact on the environment.
- Sociological Collection (EBSCOhost)An EBSCOhost database that covers many subjects in the social sciences in full-text.
- Marcive Web DOCSA WWW-based service that indexes monographic series by the U.S. Government, including those on geographical and geological subjects.
- ArticleFirst FirstSearch database available to faculty and graduate students (and to undergraduate students by special permission). Indexes almost 13,000 journals and magazines from 1990 onward, including some ninety percent of the ones University Libraries carries in print.
- IngentaConnect A free online database indexing some 28000 journals and magazines from the 1980s onward. Offers for-pay text delivery.
- GEOBIB Online Geographical Bibliography A paper abstracting service located in Reference at G1.C8x (ref.per.ind.). Ended as a hardcopy product in 2003, but then continued online as GEOBIB (with electronic backfile coverage to 1985).
Special Resources
- Comprehensive List of Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Services Related to the Natural & Applied Sciences Special resource: Held by University Libraries
- TDNet Electronic Journal Finder Special resource: use to access Libraries' electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers, as well as some indexes and databases containing full-text articles; includes a comprehensive A-Z listing of titles
Handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, etc. are available in Helm Reference, mainly in the G, GA, GB, GC, GE, GF, QC801-QC999, QE, and TD parts of the collection. The following are recommended for use:
- The Columbia Gazetteer G103.5 .C65x
- Encyclopedia of Geomorphology GB400.3 .E53
- Encyclopedia of Caves & Karst Science GB601 .E535
- Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences GC9 .E57
- Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences QC854 .E522
- Significant Tornadoes QC955.5 .U6.G733x
- The Weather Almanac QC983.W38
- Dana's New Mineralogy QE372.D23
- Treatise on Invertebrate Paleontology QE770.J6.
- Shelf List of Science & Technology-Related Reference Works in Helm ReferenceSpecial resource
- Special resource: Geological Survey Reports, almanacs, maps and works relating to Mammoth and other caves, in the Kentucky Building.
- American Association for the Advancement of Science
- American Association of Petroleum Geologists
- American Geographical Society
- American Geological Institute
- American Geophysical Union
- American Institute of Professional Geologists
- American Meteorological Society
- American Planning Association
- American Society for Photogrammetry & Remote Sensing
- Association for Geographic Information
- Association of American Geographers
- Geological Society of America
- Kentucky Institute for International Studies
- Kentucky Society of Professional Geologists
- National Association of Geoscience Teachers
- National Council for Geographic Education
- National Speleological Society
- National Weather Association
- The Seismological Society of America (SSA)
- Sigma Xi (The Scientific Research Society)
- Society for Sedimentary Geology
Maps & Cartography
General & Miscellaneous Geography or Environment
Countries/Cities of the World
(Predominantly) Social Sciences Data-Related
Meteorology, Climatology, Hydroclimatology, Hydrology
Mineralogy
Geosciences: General (Information Gateways, Teaching Resources, Careers, etc.)
Geosciences Subjects (Paleontology, Geomorphology, Karst, Earthquakes, Volcanism, etc.)
- ArcGIS Online [creating maps and sharing data]
- Browse Our Digital Map Collection (UC Berkeley)
- Color Landform Atlas of the United States
- Cornell's Building the Digital Earth [mapping]
- David Rumsey Collection [historical maps online]
- Digital Map Store: Topographic Maps [free, printable, topo maps]
- The Kentucky Maps Collection (Univ. of Louisville) [historical maps]
- Library of Congress Map Collections
- Map History/History of Cartography: The Gateway to the Subject
- Maps, Imagery, and Publications (USGS)
- National Atlas
- NOAA Central Library: Historical Maps and Charts
- Paleomap Project
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection (Univ. of Texas)
- Zoom into Maps [historical maps, etc.]
- The American Geographical Society Collection
- Dept. of Geography & Geology, Western Kentucky University
- Dictionary of Abbreviations and Acronyms in GIS, Cartography and Remote Sensing
- EarthRef [databases, software, etc.]
- EarthTrends: The Environmental Information Portal (WRI)
- EcoEarth.info Environmental Portal & Search Engine
- Ecosystem Valuation
- Eldis: The Gateway to Development Information [development studies]
- Energy Topics from A to Z
- EnviroLink [environmental issues]
- GEO Data Portal (UNEP) [environmental data sets & mapping]
- geodata.gov [U.S. maps and data]
- Geography-Related Web Links
- Geosource Web Resources [geography & geosciences directory]
- GIS Dictionary
- lGIS WWW Resource List
- Global Change Master Directory
- Guide to Mostly On-Line and Mostly Free U.S. Geospatial and Attribute Data
- International Environment House [links to environment-related sites & databases]
- National Center for Geographic Information & Analysis
- Natural Resources Canada
- OECD: Environment [news, events, topics]
- The Premier Portal for Geospatial Technology Professionals
- Resources for Earth Sciences and Geography Instruction
- Terms of Environment: Glossary, Abbreviations and Acronyms
- United Nations Environment Programme
- U. S. Coal Resource Databases (USCOAL)
- United States Environmental Protection Agency
- University of Kentucky Appalachian Center
- World Resources Institute
- AfricaResource.com [educational portal]
- Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library
- City Population [world cities' population statistics & maps]
- Country & Regional Data (Philadelphia Univ.)
- CountryData
- CountryWatch.com [geopolitics]
- Digital South Asia Library
- Eldis Country Profiles
- EurasiaNet.org [Central Asia portal]
- INCORE [World] Regional Internet Guides
- Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)
- Library of Congress: Country Studies [the "Area Handbooks" series online]
- The Major Cities and Agglomerations of the World
- Middle East Studies Internet Resources
- Nation Master [nations-related statistics]
- National Statistics Online [United Kingdom statistics]
- Nations of the World (Library of Congress)
- The Nations Online Project
- OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web
- PAIR: Portal to Asian Internet Resources
- PopPlanet (NCSE) [country-related data & issues]
- United Nations Statistics Division
- World Bank Group: Data & Statistics
- American Community Survey (U.S. Census Bureau)
- American Factfinder
- Bureau of Labor Statistics
- Center for Spatially Integrated Social Science (CSISS) [spatial resources for the social sciences]
- County and City Data Books
- Data on the Net [Web-based sources for social sciences data]
- EconData.Net [socioeconomic & regional economic data]
- EuroInternet [materials pertaining to regional integration]
- Fedstats: Subjects from A to Z
- The Geography of Transport Systems
- Immigration Explorer [maps depicting where foreign-born immigrants settled across the U.S., by census year]
- Institute for Social Research (Univ. of Michigan)
- Kentucky Statistics (Kentucky Virtual Library)
- National Survey of America's Families
- National Transportation Statistics
- Population Profile of the United States 2000
- Population Reference Bureau [worldwide demographic & health data]
- Statistical Resources on the Web
- United Nations Population Information Network (POPIN)
- U. S. Census Bureau
- The Web Center for Social Research Methods (Bill Trochim)
- World Trade Organization
- ARS Water Database [runoff data]
- Atmospheric Variables Plotting Page (NOAA-CIRES)
- Climate Change Impacts (Natural Resources Canada)
- Climate Diagnostics Center (NOAA-CIRES)
- Climate.org (Climate Institute) [issues & news]
- Climatology and Paleoclimatology Resources
- College of DuPage Next Generation Weather Lab
- Dartmouth Flood Observatory
- The Discovery of Global Warming
- Extreme Weather & Climate Events (NCDC)
- Global Hydrology and Climate Center (Earth Science Office, NASA)
- Global Precipitation Climatology Project
- International Research Institute for Climate Prediction
- Karst Waters Institute
- Kentucky Climate Center
- Locating Climate and Weather Data & Information
- MetEd: Meteorology Education and Training [meteorology education]
- Meteorological Links and Information
- National Climatic Data Center (NCDC)
- National Hurricane Center
- National Oceanographic Data Center
- The National Water and Climate Center
- National Weather Service
- NOAA Central Library: Historical Maps and Charts
- NOAA Photo Library's Photostream [on flickr]
- The Online Guides: Meteorology [web-based instructional manuals]
- Severe and Hazardous Weather (Univ. of Illinois)
- Tornado Project Online
- UM Weather (Univ. of Michigan)
- Water Resources of the United States
- WINDandSEA (NOAA) [information on the internet]
- World Meteorological Organization
- WorldClimate.com [climate data for 85,000+ locations worldwide]
- Careers in the Geosciences
- Earth Science World
- Geology.com [news, jobs, features]
- Geoscience Departments WWW Directory--U.S. & Canada
- Internet Resources: Earth Sciences, etc. (UCAL Berkeley)
- Kentucky Geological Survey
- National Geophysical Data Center
- Pangaea [geology-related data sets & software]
- United States Geological Survey
- Virtual-Geology.Info [educational materials]
- The Virtual Geosciences Professor [online course & teaching]
- West's Geology Resources
- U.S. Geological Survey Photographic Library
- Yahoo: Earth Sciences
- British Geomorphological Research Group
- The Center for Earthquake Research and Information
- Earthquake Hazards Program (USGS)
- Global Volcanism Program (Smithsonian Institution)
- Glossary of Karst Related Terms
- Igneous Rocks [descriptive geology and petrology/geochemistry]
- Museum of Paleontology, University of California, Berkeley
- Natural Hazards (USGS)
- The New Madrid Compendium [information and references for the 1811-1812 earthquakes]
- NPS Cave and Karst Program
- Palaeos: The Trace of Life on Earth [paleontology & paleobiology]
- The Paleobiology Database
- The PaleoNet Pages [resource for professionals and graduate students]
- Paleontology Portal [historical geology, paleontology resources]
- Science Topics (USGS)
- The Structural Geology Page
- Teaching Resources in Structural Geology
- USGS National Earthquake Information Center
- Virtual Courseware: Earthquake
- Web Resources for Sedimentary Geologists
Science Librarian |
Contact Info mail: University Libraries, 1906 College Heights Blvd., Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green, KY 42101 office: Room 102, Helm Library phone: (270) 745-6079 fax: (270) 745-2275 Send Email |

Loading...
