Menu
Databases | E-Books | E-Journals
Gordon Wilson Storage Facility
Leisure Magazines
Library of Congress Classification
Magazines/Journals: Print | online
Maps: Reference | Periodicals
Ref Books: Science | Business
SuDoc System (Gov't Documents)
Engineering
Department of Engineering
Departmental Research Guide
This research guide relays some basic information on library and information resources pertaining to the concerns of this department, as provided by University Libraries and/or sites on the World Wide Web.
1. LC Call Nos. 2. Find Articles 3. Ref Collection 4. Engineering Faculty 5. Prof. Societies 6. Websites
1. To Shelf-Browse for Books (using main Library of Congress Subject Divisions)
Books on subjects associated with this field are shelved under the call number ranges listed below. Use TOPCAT to search for specific items in the collection, or more narrowly-defined subjects.
Traffic Engineering: HE331-HE380 ------- Analytical Methods: QA401-QA433 ------- Analytic Mechanics: QA801-QA939 ------- Fluid Mechanics: QC138-QC168 ------- Chemical Reactions: QD501-QD505.5 ------- General Technology: T ------- Civil Engineering: TA ------- Hydraulic Engineering: TC ------- Sanitary Engineering: TD ------- Highway Engineering: TE ------- Bridge Engineering: TG ------- Building Construction: TH ------- Mechanical Engineering & Machinery: TJ ------- Electrical Engineering & Electronics: TK ------- Chemical Engineering: TP ------- Manufacturing Processes: TS ------- various bibliographic subjects (Z)
The following services are recommended for courses for first-year students and nonmajors:
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) These two (see below) all-subject WWW-based services (they are part of the EBSCOhost system) feature indexing and abstracting of many journals and magazines WKU Libraries receives in hardcopy, plus a large selection of articles in full-text.
- Masterfile Premier (EBSCOhost)See above.
- Applied Science & Technology Index (H.W. Wilson) A Web-based database that indexes many engineering/technology-related titles. A paper version running through 1997 is located in Reference at TA1 .A66 (ref.per.ind.).
- Google Scholar A free Web-based Google service that restricts searches to the scholarly literature. Now features linking to full-text of articles held by WKU.
- Science (Magazine) Online (AAAS)
- ABI/Inform Global (ProQuest) This WWW-based service is primarily business-oriented, but also provides the full-text of many articles in trade publications concerning technology-related subjects.
2b. To Find Journal and Magazine Articles (using indexing/abstracting/full-text services)
The following services are recommended for use by advanced students and researchers:
- Web of Science A state of the art abstracting tool covering more than 11,000 scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences and humanities, with links to full text as available.
- Applied Science & Technology Index (H.W. Wilson) As described above.
- SpringerLink JournalsAccess to about 1000 Springer journals with full content back to about 1997.
- DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)"This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals" (across all subject areas, and in multiple languages).
- Science (Magazine) Online (AAAS)
- Google Scholar As described above.
- ArticleFirst FirstSearch database available to faculty and graduate students (and to undergraduate students by special permission). Indexes almost 13,000 journals and magazines from 1990 onward, including some ninety percent of the ones University Libraries carries in hardcopy.
- IOPScience (Institute of Physics) 250,000 articles in full-text from the serial publications of the IOP.
- IngentaConnect A free online database indexing some 28000 journals and magazines from the 1980s onward. Offers for-pay text delivery.
Special Resources
- Comprehensive List of Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Services Related to the Natural & Applied Sciences Special resource: Held by University Libraries
- TDNet Electronic Journal Finder Special resource: use to access Libraries' electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers, as well as some indexes and databases containing full-text articles; includes a comprehensive A-Z listing of titles
- Knovel Online Library Special resource: A set of technical reference books and tables of particular interest to engineering, mathematics, physics, astronomy, and chemistry.
The following are recommended for use:
handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, etc.: available in Reference, mainly in the QA, QC, T, TA, TC, TD, TH, TJ, TK, TP, and TSparts of the collection. Note, for example:
- Index & Directory of Industry Standards T59.2 .U6.I5
- The Civil Engineering Handbook TA151.C57
- Job Opportunities for Engineering Majors TA157.P445
- Standard Handbook of Engineering Calculations TA332.S73
- Standard Handbook of Environmental Engineering TD145.S72
- Encyclopedia of Environmental Pollution & Cleanup TD173.E53
- Encyclopedia of Energy & the Environment TJ163.235 .W55
- International Encyclopedia of Heat & Mass Transfer TJ260.I579
- The Communications Handbook TK5101.C6583
- The Electronics Handbook TK7867.E4244.
- Shelf List of Science & Technology-Related Reference Works in Helm ReferenceSpecial resource: Related Reference Works in Helm Reference.
- Air & Waste Management Association
- American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists, Inc. (ACGIH)
- American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC)
- American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE)
- American Society for Testing & Materials (ASTM)
- American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
- American Society of Heating, Refrigerating & Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE)
- American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
- American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE)
- Association of Energy Engineers (AEE)
- BOCA: see International Code Council
- Engineering Research Centers Association (ERCs)
- IEEE Communications Society
- Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
- Institute of Transportation Engineers
- Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET)
- International Code Council (BOCA, ICBO & SBCCI)
- International Conference of Building Officials (ICBO): see International Code Council
- International Society for Measurement and Control (ISA)
- Kentucky Engineering Center
- Materials Research Society (MRS)
- National Academy of Engineering
- National Environmental Health Association
- National Institute for Certification in Engineering Technologies (NICET)
- National Society of Professional Engineers (NSPE)
- Society of Women Engineers (SWE)
- Southern Building Code Congress International, Inc.: see International Code Council
- Structural Engineers Association International
- Tau Beta Pi Association
- Water Environment Federation
- The Bridge (National Academy of Engineering) [articles on major issues]
- BUBL LINK 5:15 Catalogue: Engineering
- Cadalyst [industry news & information]
- CADTutor [tutorials, articles & applications]
- Dept. of Engineering, WKU
- eFunda [engineering fundamentals]
- eFunda Engineering Fundamentals: Mathematics [review of engineering mathematics]
- eiNET: Engineering and Technology [website links]
- Energy Efficiency (U.S. Dept. of Energy)
- Energy Topics from A to Z [energy use statistics]
- Engineering Case Studies (Carleton University)
- Engineering Jobs, Resume & Salary Survey [for job searching]
- Engineering Statistics Handbook
- Engineer's Edge: Solutions by Design [engineering aids]
- Engineers Edge: Strength and Mechanics of Materials
- EngNet: Engineering + Internet [portal]
- E-Print Network [preprints, etc.]
- HighlyCited.com [highly cited scientists]
- iHireEngineering [jobs]
- Interactive Units Converter [measurements conversions]
- Manufacturing.net
- Modern Steel Construction [magazine]
- Nanodot: The Original Nanotechnology Weblog [news & discussion]
- NanoScout [nanotechnology portal]
- Nanotechnology Database (NSF & Loyola College)
- Nanotechweb.org: The World Service for Nanotechnology
- Online Ethics Center (Center for Engineering, Ethics & Society, NAE)
- Professional Publications, Inc. [professional exams preparation]
- Sensors: How They Work
- Smithsonian Physical Tables 9th rev. ed.
- Source.The Engineer [product news]
- Structural Engineering (Open Directory Project)
- TechXtra [multi-materials gateway]
- Techstreet [technical standards, etc.]
- Virtual Technical Reports Center
- The Wavelet Tutorial: The Engineer's Ultimate Guide to Wavelet Analysis
- The World Wide Web Virtual Library: CAD Resources Library [links/resources]
- Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
- Advanced Building Technologies [design & construction issues]
- ASCE Publications [searchable index to ASCE publications, including journals]
- Earthworks Jobs
- Encyclopedia of Earth [environmental news & resources]
- Engineer Manuals (USACE)
- EnviroLink Network [environmental resources]
- HazDat Database (Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease)
- iCivilEngineer [news, resources, careers, etc.]
- Land Surveyor Reference Page [surveying resources]
- Ultimate Civil Engineering Directory
- US Army Corps of Engineers Institute for Water Resources
- WebDirectory.com: Pollution [links]
Science Librarian |
Contact Info mail: University Libraries, 1906 College Heights Blvd., Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green, KY 42101 office: Room 102, Helm Library phone: (270) 745-6079 fax: (270) 745-2275 Send Email |

Loading...
