This is the "Home" page of the "Chemistry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chemistry  

Chemistry Research Guide
Last Updated: Jun 9, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wku.edu/content.php?pid=185147 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Chemistry

Department of Chemistry
Departmental Research Guide


This research guide relays some basic information on library and information resources pertaining to the concerns of this department, as provided by University Libraries and/or sites on the World Wide Web.

1. LC Call Nos.   2. Finding Articles   3. Ref Collection   4. Chem Faculty   5. Prof. Societies   6. Websites



1. To Shelf-Browse for Books (using main Library of Congress Subject Divisions)

Books on subjects associated with this field are shelved under the call number ranges listed below. Use TOPCAT to search for specific items in the collection, or more narrowly-defined subjects.

Coal Economics: HD9540-HD9559 ------- Forensic Chemistry: HV8073, RA1053, & RA1057-RA1057.55 ------- Atomic Physics: QC170-QC173.458 ------- Spectroscopy: QC450-QC467 ------- Chemistry (all main subjects): QD ------- Geochemistry: QE514-QE516.5 ------- Animal Biochemistry: QP501-QP801 ------- Environmental & Industrial Pollution: TD ------- Chemicals & Chemical Engineering/Technology: TP ------- Chemistry Bibliography: Z5521-Z5526 ------- Environment & Pollution Bibliography: Z5861-Z5862 ------- Coal & Coal Mining Bibliography: Z6033.C7 & Z6738.C6

2a. To Find Journal and Magazine Articles (using indexing/abstracting/full-text services)

The following services are recommended for courses for first-year students and nonmajors:

2b. To Find Journal and Magazine Articles (using indexing/abstracting/full-text services)

The following services are recommended for use by advanced students and researchers:

Special Resources

3. Monographic and Other Reference Materials in the Helm Library

The following are recommended for use:

Handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, etc.: available in Reference, mainly in the QDTD, and TP parts of the collection. Note especially the following:

  • The ACS Style Guide QD8.5 .A25 2006
  • Handbook of Chemistry and Physics QD65.H3
  • Encyclopedia of Analytical Science (an encyclopedia of analytical chemistry methods) QD71.5 .E53
  • Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry QD95 .E55x
  • Inorganic Syntheses QD151 .A1.I5
  • Dictionary of Organic Compounds QD246.D5
  • Organic Syntheses QD262.O7
  • Encyclopedia of Environmental Pollution and Cleanup TD173.E53
  • Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology TP9.E685
  • Concise Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology TP9.K54.

4. Department of Chemistry Faculty

 

6. Web Sites Recommended by Department of Chemistry Faculty

Science Librarian

Profile Image
Charles Smith
Contact Info
mail: University Libraries, 1906 College Heights Blvd., Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green, KY 42101

office: Room 102, Helm Library
phone: (270) 745-6079
fax: (270) 745-2275
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip