Menu
Databases | E-Books | E-Journals
Gordon Wilson Storage Facility
Leisure Magazines
Library of Congress Classification
Magazines/Journals: Print | online
Maps: Reference | Periodicals
Ref Books: Science | Business
SuDoc System (Gov't Documents)
Biology
Department of Biology
Departmental Research Guide
This research guide relays some basic information on library and information resources pertaining to the concerns of this department, as provided by University Libraries and/or sites on the World Wide Web.
1. To Shelf-Browse for Books (using main Library of Congress Subject Divisions)
Books on subjects associated with this field are shelved under the call number ranges listed below. Use TOPCAT to search for specific items in the collection, or more narrowly-defined subjects.
Environmental Sciences: GE ------- Biochemistry: QD415-QD436 ------- Paleobiology: QE760.8-QE996.5 ------- Natural History: QH1-QH278.5 ------- Biology Miscellaneous (Evolution, Genetics, Reproduction, Ecology, Cytology, etc.): QH301-QH705.5 ------- Botany: QK ------- Zoology: QL ------- Human Anatomy: QM ------- Physiology: QP ------- Microbiology: QR ------- Natural Resources Conservation: S900-S954 ------- Environmental Technology: TD ------- Biotechnology: TP248.13-TP248.65 ------- various bibliographic subjects (Z)
The following services are recommended for courses for first-year students and nonmajors:
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) These two (see below) all-subject WWW-based services (they are part of the EBSCOhost system) feature indexing and abstracting of many journals and magazines WKU Libraries receives in hardcopy, plus a large selection of articles in full-text.
- Masterfile Premier (EBSCOhost)See above.
- Science (Magazine) Online (AAAS)
- GreenFile (EBSCOhost)This EBSCOhost-based database covers literature on man's impact on the environment.
- Google Scholar A free Web-based Google service that restricts searches to the scholarly literature. Now features linking to full-text of articles held by WKU.
2b. To Find Journal and Magazine Articles (using indexing/abstracting/full-text services)
The following services are recommended for use by advanced students and researchers:
- HighWire Contains free full text for 362 journals in the life sciences, along with indexing and abstracting for all journals in MEDLINE. Articles that are not free are available for purchase with a credit card. The database contains cited references (with free links to the full text of many of the articles), along with citation analysis of journals on HighWire.
- BioOne A collection of over 150 bioscience journals containing a "moving wall" of the most recent five years of articles in full text.
- SpringerLink JournalsAccess to about 1000 Springer journals with full content back to about 1997.
- Web of Science A state of the art abstracting tool covering more than 11,000 scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences and humanities, with links to full text as available.
- Science (Magazine) Online (AAAS)
- Nature Online (Nature Publishing)
- JSTOR Provides the full text/full image web access of the complete archival collections of over 150 scholarly journals in ecology and botany, up to the most recent three to five years.
- MEDLINE / PubMedThis database provides abstracting of the primary research literature in medicine.
- ASABE Online Technical Library ASABE Technical Library contains the full text of conference proceedings, meeting papers, journals, standards, and technical papers of the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (PDF and HTML). Some books and textbooks are also available (each chapter is a separate PDF).
- GreenFile (EBSCOhost)This EBSCOhost-based database covers literature on man's impact on the environment.
- Annual Reviews Online series: Full-text of state-of-the-art essay reviews for major subjects within the biological sciences.
- ACS Web The American Chemical Society "is the leading publisher of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences, serving scientific communities worldwide through an unparalleled commitment to quality, reliability, and innovation."
- DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)"This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals" (across all subject areas, and in multiple languages).
- Index to American Botanical Literature(N.Y. Botanical Garden).
- ArticleFirst FirstSearch database available to faculty and graduate students (and to undergraduate students by special permission). Indexes almost 13,000 journals and magazines from 1990 onward, including some ninety percent of the ones University Libraries carries in hardcopy.
- Google Scholar As described above.
- IngentaConnect A free online database indexing some 28000 journals and magazines from the 1980s onward. Offers for-pay text deliveries.
- Biological AbstractsA state-of-the-art paper abstracting service (we own the 1926-1994 volumes only). Located on the ninth floor of Cravens, QH301 .B37.
- Marcive Web DOCSWWW-based service that indexes monographic series by the U.S. Government, including those on various biology-related subjects.
- Taxonomic LiteratureProvides bibliographic treatment of the historical literature of and on botany. Located in Reference, QK96 .R42x (ref.per.ind.).
Special Resources
- Comprehensive List of Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Services Related to the Natural & Applied Sciences Special resource: Held by University Libraries
- TDNet Electronic Journal Finder Special resource: use to access Libraries' electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers, as well as some indexes and databases containing full-text articles; includes a comprehensive A-Z listing of titles
- Knovel Online Library Special resource: A set of technical reference books and tables of particular interest to engineering, mathematics, physics, astronomy, and chemistry.
The following are recommended for use:
- handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, etc.: available in Helm Reference, mainly in the GF, QH, QK, QL, QM, QP, and QR parts of the collection. See the Shelf List of Science & Technology-Related Reference Works in the Reference Department, Helm Library.
- 18-20th century printed works in the Kentucky Building relating to botany (including original works by Linnaeus and John James Audubon), biology and medicine.
- American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
- American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS)
- Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB)
- Kentucky Academy of Science
- National Academy of Sciences
- National Association of Biology Teachers (NABT)
- National Science Teachers Association (NSTA)
- Society for Integrative and Comparative Biology
- Association for Tropical Biology and Conservation
- Defenders of Wildlife
- Ecological Society of America
- Freshwater Biological Association
- National Audubon Society
- National Wildlife Federation
- The Nature Conservancy
- Sierra Club
- Society for Conservation Biology
- Society for Ecological Restoration International
- Society for Freshwater Science
- World Wildlife Federation (WWF) International
- Worldwatch Institute
- American Cancer Society
- American Fisheries Society
- American Ornithologists' Union
- American Physiological Society
- American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
- American Society for Cell Biology
- American Society for Microbiology
- American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists
- American Society of Mammalogists
- Biochemical Society (England)
- Botanical Society of America
- Entomological Society of America
- Genetics Society of America
- Society for the Study of Amphibians and Reptiles
- Zoological Society of London
- arXiv.org e-Print Archive [e-print service]
- BioEd Online (Baylor Univ.) [biology teacher resources]
- Bioethics Information Resources (National Library of Medicine) [gateway]
- BiologyBrowser [websites gateway]
- Biology Links (Harvard University)
- Biology Online [discussion forums, resources, links, tutorials, dictionary]
- BioModels Database [published mathematical biological models]
- BIOSCI [electronic communication forums]
- BUBL Link Catalogue of Internet Resources: Life Sciences, Biology
- CSU BioWeb [links to all subjects]
- Department of Biology, Western Kentucky University
- E-Print Network [article preprints, etc.]
- FreeMedicalJournals.com
- Highly Cited Research
- Kimball's Biology Pages
- MarineBio.org [resources gateway]
- NBII (National Biological Information Infrastructure)
- National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature
- Open Directory Project: Biology
- Penn Center for Bioethics
- Science and Creationism
- United States Environmental Protection Agency
- The Virtual Library: Biosciences [directory]
- American Museum of Natural History
- Atlas of the Biosphere [mapped environmental variables, by continent]
- Center for Biodiversity Studies, Western Kentucky University
- Convention on Biological Diversity
- Darwin Digital Library of Evolution
- EcoEarth.info Environmental Portal & Search Engine
- Ecology Education Network [teaching resources]
- The Ecology WWW Page [links]
- EE-Link, Environmental Education Resources on the Internet
- Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920
- Focus on Biodiversity and Conservation (Intute) [web resources]
- Global Biodiversity Information Facility: Biodiversity Data Portal
- The Global Invasive Species Team
- ITIS (Integrated Taxonomic Information System)
- IUCN, The World Conservation Union
- IUCN Red List of Threatened Species 2006
- MarineBio.org [news,features]
- NatureServe (formerly Association for Biodiversity Information)
- The NCBI Taxonomy Homepage
- Nearctica [North American nature subjects]
- The Paleobiology Database
- Smithsonian Institution National Museum of Natural History
- Species 2000: Indexing the World's Known Species
- Status and Trends of Our Living Resources
- The Tree of Life
- Understanding Evolution (U. Calif., Berkeley)
- Agripedia (Univ. of Kentucky)
- AlgaeBASE [data & resources regarding algae]
- Atlas of Plant Anatomy
- Checklist of Online Vegetation and Plant Distribution Maps
- eFloras.org
- eNature.com [free field guides for over 5000 species, etc.]
- Flora of North America
- Glossary of Botanical Terms in French and English
- The International Plant Names Index
- Internet Directory for Botany
- Noble Foundation Plant Image Gallery [photoimages of plant species]
- Plant Dictionary (Ohio State University)
- Plant Information Online (Univ. of Minnesota)
- The Plant Pathology Internet Guide Book
- Plants Database
- Scott's Botanical Links
- Systematic Botany and Mycology Laboratory Fungal Database
- Terrestrial Vegetation of the United States
- Transgenic Crops: An Introduction & Resource Guide
- Treesearch (USDA Forest Service) [full-text of thousands of forestry-related publications]
- WildFinder: Mapping the World's Species
- Plant Information Online (Univ. of Minnesota)
- The Plant Pathology Internet Guide Book
- Plants Database
- Plant Research and Conservation (New York Botanical Garden)
- Scott's Botanical Links
- Systematic Botany and Mycology Laboratory Fungal Database
- Terrestrial Vegetation of the United States
- Transgenic Crops: An Introduction & Resource Guide
- Treesearch (USDA Forest Service) [full-text of thousands of forestry-related publications]
- WildFinder: Mapping the World's Species
- Wildflower Information.org
- AmphibiaWeb
- Animal Welfare Information Center
- Antbase.org [social insects, especially ants]
- Avibase: The World Bird Database
- Bat Conservation International
- BirdNet (The Ornithological Council)
- Butterflies and Moths of North America
- Butterflies & Moths of the World (Natural History Museum, London)
- The Center for North American Herpetology
- Coleoptera [for those interested in beetles!]
- eNature.com [free field guides for over 5000 species, etc.]
- Entomology Index of Internet Resources (Iowa State University)
- FishBase [taxonomy, habits, biodiversity, etc.]
- Ichthyology: The Catalog of Fishes
- Mammal Species of the World (Smithsonian Institution)
- Mammalian Species (Amer. Soc. of Mammalogists) [individual accounts]
- North American Mammals (Smithsonian Institution) [interactive field guide]
- Ornithology: the Science of Birds
- PrimateLit
- Primates (Palomar College) [taxonomy & general characteristics]
- The TIGR Reptile Database
- All the Virology on the WWW
- American Association of Anatomists: Resource Links
- Biochemistry (Univ. of Arizona) [tutorials]
- Biochemistry & Molecular Biology links (Harvard University)
- BRENDA, The Comprehensive Enzyme Information System
- Cells alive!
- DNA from the Beginning ["animated primer on the basics of DNA, genes, and heredity"]
- EBI/SIB/PIR: UniProt [proteins data]
- Enzyme Structures Database
- Dennis Kunkel Microscopy
- Human Anatomy Online [for students]
- ICTVdB Index of Viruses
- List of Prokaryotic Names With Standing in Nomenclature
- Metabolic Pathways of Biochemistry
- The Microbiology Network [resources for practicing microbiologists]
- National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute--Information for Researchers
- The Natural History Museum's (London) Microbiology Video Collection
- Neuroscience Information Framework [resources, data, tools]
- Neurosciences on the Web
- Nucleic Acid Database Project (NDB)
- Protist Information Server [systematics & images]
- RCSB Protein Data Bank [tools & resources]
- StemCellResources.org [news,streams & graphics, features]
- Unseen Life on Earth: An Introduction to Microbiology [videos]
- Foundations of Classical Genetics [key publications, chronology of historical events]
- GenBank [the NIH genetic sequence database]
- GeneCards [database of human genes]
- Genetics Education Center (Univ. of Kansas)
- Genetics Home Reference
- The Genome Database
- Genome Programs of the U.S. Dept. of Energy, Office of Science
- Genome News Network
- GOLD: Genomes OnLine Database
- Human Genome Project Information
- Hypermedia Glossary of Genetic Terms
- KEGG LIGAND Database [data on "chemical substances & reactions that are relevant to life"]
- National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI)
- Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM)
- The Wellcome Trust: The Human Genome [news & features]
- biotechterms.org [biotech terms glossary]
- Biotechnology Center, Western Kentucky University
- BioTrack Online [OECD info on regulatory oversight of biotechnology]
- Genetic Engineering Home Page [ethical issues]
- National Center for Biotechnology Information
- National Center for Biotechnology Information: PubChem Project
Science Librarian |
Contact Info mail: University Libraries, 1906 College Heights Blvd., Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green, KY 42101 office: Room 102, Helm Library phone: (270) 745-6079 fax: (270) 745-2275 Send Email |

Loading...
