Menu
Databases | E-Books | E-Journals
Gordon Wilson Storage Facility
Leisure Magazines
Library of Congress Classification
Magazines/Journals: Print | online
Maps: Reference | Periodicals
Ref Books: Science | Business
SuDoc System (Gov't Documents)
Department of Agriculture
Agriculture
Department of Agriculture
Departmental Research Guide
This research guide relays some basic information on library and information resources pertaining to the concerns of this department, as provided by University Libraries and/or sites on the World Wide Web.
1. To Shelf-Browse for Books (using main Library of Congress Subject Divisions)
Books on subjects associated with this field are shelved under the call number ranges listed below. Use TOPCAT to search for specific items in the collection, or more narrowly-defined subjects.
Golf Courses & Greens (GV975) ------- Economics of Agriculture (HD1401 - HD2210 & HD9000 - HD9495) ------- Agricultural Insurance (HG9966 - HG9969.4) ------- Rural Sociology (HT401 - HT485) ------- Plant Physiology (QK640 - QK707) ------- Microbial Ecology (QR111 - QR113) ------- General Agriculture (S) ------- Plant Culture (SB) ------- Forestry (SD) ------- Animal Culture (SF) ------- Aquaculture/Fisheries (SH) ------- General Hunting (SK1 - SK21) ------- Agriculture Bibliography (Z5071 - Z5076) ------- Botany Bibliography (Z5351 - Z5358) ------- Dairying Bibliography (Z5706 - Z5707) ------- Gardening Bibliography (Z5996 - Z5997) ------- Horses Bibliography (Z6240) ------- Tobacco Bibliography (Z7882)
The following services are recommended for courses for first-year students and nonmajors:
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) These two (see below) all-subject WWW-based services (they are part of the EBSCOhost system) feature indexing and abstracting of many journals and magazines WKU Libraries receives in hardcopy, plus a large selection of articles in full-text.
- Masterfile Premier (EBSCOhost)See above.
- Science (Magazine) Online (AAAS)
- Google Scholar A free Web-based Google service that restricts searches to the scholarly literature. Now features linking to full-text of articles held by WKU.
2b. (advanced students & researchers)
The following services are recommended for use by advanced students and researchers:
- Web of Science A state of the art abstracting tool covering more than 11,000 scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences and humanities, with links to full text as available.
- AGRICOLAA WWW-based service that provides indexing and some abstracting for many important research journals and magazines in agriculture.
- ArticleFirst ArticleFirst: FirstSearch database available to faculty and graduate students (and to undergraduate students by special permission). Indexes almost 13,000 journals and magazines from 1990 onward, including some ninety percent of the ones University Libraries carries in hardcopy.
- Science (Magazine) Online (AAAS)
- Nature Online (Nature Publishing)
- SpringerLink JournalsAccess to about 1000 Springer journals with full content back to about 1997.
- ASABE Online Technical Library ASABE Technical Library contains the full text of conference proceedings, meeting papers, journals, standards, and technical papers of the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (PDF and HTML). Some books and textbooks are also available (each chapter is a separate PDF).
- DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals" (across all subject areas, and in multiple languages)
- Google Scholar A free Web-based Google service that restricts searches to the scholarly literature. Now features linking to full-text of articles held by WKU.
- IngentaConnect A free online database indexing some 28000 journals and magazines from the 1980s onward. Offers for-pay text delivery.
- Marcive Web DOCSA WWW-based service that indexes monographic series by the U.S. Government, including those on agricultural subjects.
Special Resources
- Comprehensive List of Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Services Related to the Natural & Applied Sciences Special resource: Held by University Libraries
- TDNet Electronic Journal Finder Special resource: use to access Libraries' electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers, as well as some indexes and databases containing full-text articles; includes a comprehensive A-Z listing of titles
The following are recommended for use:
- handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, etc.: available in Reference, mainly in the S, SB, SD, SF, and SH parts of the collection. See the Shelf List of Science & Technology-Related Reference Works in the Reference Department, Helm Library.
- artifacts, publications and manuscript materials in the Kentucky Building on agricultural practices, tobacco, forestry, care of stock, veterinary medicine and farming.
- Agricultural & Applied Economics Association
- American Dairy Science Association
- American Forage & Grassland Council
- American Horticultural Society
- American Nursery & Landscape Association
- American Phytopathological Society
- American Society for Horticultural Science
- American Society of Agricultural & Biological Engineers (ASABE)
- American Society of Agronomy
- American Veterinary Medical Association
- Crop Science Society of America
- Golf Course Superintendents Association of America
- The Irrigation Association
- Kentucky Forage and Grassland Council
- National Institute for Animal Agriculture (hdqts, Bowling Green)
- Royal Horticultural Society
- Society of American Foresters
- Soil and Water Conservation Society
- Soil Science Society of America (SSSA)
- Southern Agricultural Economics Association
- United States Golf Association
- Water Environment Federation
- [Special:] Scholarly Societies Project: Agriculture [list of agriculture-related professional societies]
- AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural & Applied Economics [archive of articles in full-text]
- Agricultural Research Service (USDA)
- Agriculture Network Information Center (AGNIC) [international cooperative gateway]
- Agripedia (University of Kentucky) [gateway]
- AGRIS (FAO) [searches world literature in agriculture]
- Center for Rural Affairs
- Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (Cornell)
- Elite Farmer [portal for products, services, and information]
- Farmland Information Center
- Farms.com
- INASP Rural Development Directory [profiles & links to worldwide organizations]
- Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources (University of Nebraska)
- Kentucky Department of Agriculture
- LandscapeOnline.com [portal for the landscape development industry]
- National Agricultural Statistics Service (USDA)
- Plant Information Online (Univ. of Minnesota) [includes horticultural information]
- The Virtual Library: Agriculture [links]
- Action on Smoking and Health
- Ag Biotech InfoNet [genetic engineering applications & implications]
- Agricultural Biotechnology
- Animal Welfare Information Center
- biotechterms.org [biotech terms glossary]
- Dairying for Tomorrow [news, case studies, reports, etc.]
- Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
- FAO: Food and Nutrition
- FSRIO (Food Safety Research Information Office)
- Future Agricultures [development, innovations, news]
- National Agricultural Law Center (U. of Arkansas)
- National Centre for Biotechnology Education
- Public Perception Issues in Biotechnology
- Transgenic Crops: An Introduction & Resource Guide
- U.S. & World Population Clocks
- United States Department of Agriculture
- USDA: Sustainable Agriculture Research and Education
- United States Environmental Protection Agency
- United States Food and Drug Administration
- The AgNIC Dairy Information Center [portal]
- American Veterinary Medical Association Media Library
- Breeds of Livestock [encyclopedia]
- The Cattle Pages [breeds, supplies, resources]
- Dairy Cattle Nutrition (Penn State University)
- Dairy Network.com
- Dairy Science Department, University of Wisconsin
- Hoard's Dairyman
- HolsteinWorld
- Johne's Information Center [veterinary medicine]
- The Merck Veterinary Manual
- Bioversity International (IPGRI) [international plant genetic resources news & info]
- Crop Index
- GIE Media [horticulture news]
- Global Crop Diversity Trust [news & programs]
- GrainGenes: A Small Grains and Sugarcane Database
- HortiPlex [database containing plant images & links to resources]
- Insect Fact Sheets (Clemson University)
- Internet Glossary of Soil Science Terms
- Jobs in Horticulture Inc.
- The National Food Safety Database
- NASIS: National Soil Information System
- Natural Resources Conservation Service
- New York Botanical Garden
- Perry's Perennial Pages
- Pesticide Action Network Pesticide Database
- Plant Dictionary (Ohio State University)
- Plant Facts (Ohio State University)
- The Plant Pathology Internet Guide Book
- Plants Database
- Soil Science Division, College of Agriculture, University of Idaho
- The Succulent Plant Page
- Weed Identification Guide
- Wisconsin Corn Agronomy
Science Librarian |
Contact Info mail: University Libraries, 1906 College Heights Blvd., Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green, KY 42101 office: Room 102, Helm Library phone: (270) 745-6079 fax: (270) 745-2275 Send Email |

Loading...
