Resources available for the study of religion
Last Updated: Aug 29, 2014
The following online databases and print indexing services are recommended for basic research in religious studies.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A large multi-subject database which covers every topic. Contains abstracts of scholarly journal and popular magazine articles, with many available full text.
- Google Scholar
Free open Web access to Google's scholarly search engine. It identifies articles and other scholarly resources across many disciplines and, thanks to Google's unique way of searching and sorting documents, it often provides unique results that differ from traditional research databases.
- Oxford English Dictionary
- Philosopher's Index (EBSCOhost)
The basic tool for finding articles about philosophy and ethics, Philosopher's Index indexes articles from 1940 to the present.
- Reader's Guide to Periodicals 1890 to Present
- Religion Index One
Reference Periodical Indexes BL 1 .R4x
The following services are recommended for use by advanced students and researchers:
- Alt-Press Watch
has full text of over 170 alternative and independent newspapers, magazines and journals.
- America: History & Life (EBSCOhost)
Since 1964, the premiere database covering the history of the United States and Canada. Database indexes 2,000 journals published worldwide. In addition to articles, the database provides citations of book and media reviews annually as well as abstracts of dissertations.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index
With a deep variety of materials in religious studies, this database indexes journals and cited references in many disciplines. Part of the Web of Science database.
- Biblical Archaeology Society Archive
Contains the editorial content of each issue of the Biblical Archaeology Review (1975 to 2003), Bible Review (1985 to 2003), and Archaeology Odyssey (1998 to 2003).
- ETANA (Electronic Tools and Ancient Near Eastern Archives)
Contains archaeological images and data on the ancient Near East.
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Since 1954, the premiere database covering history since 1450 (excluding Canada and the United States). In addition to articles includes 3,000 citations annually to useful historical books reviewed by leading historical journals and citations to abstracts of dissertations.
Provides the full text/full image web access of the complete archival collections of a large number of journals, up to the most recent three to five years.
- Project Muse
"Provides online, worldwide, institutional subscription access to the full text of around 500 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics."
- PsycINFO (EBSCOhost)
Provides indexing and abstracts for over one million articles in 1,500 journals, plus dissertations, books and book chapters, from 1887 to the present.
- Sociological Abstracts
Provides abstracting of the sociological and anthropological literature from 1963 onward. Contains articles that are related to sociology of religion.
A searchable catalog of manuscripts, letters, sheet music, photographs, museum exhibits, images, journals, and books in the Special Collections Library.
- TDNet Electronic Journal Finder
Access Libraries' electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers, as well as some indexes and databases containing full-text articles; includes a comprehensive A-Z listing of titles.
- TOPCAT (WKU Libraries' Online Catalog
Lists CD’s, DVD’s, sound recordings, and other items owned by the library, searchable by title, author, subject or keyword.
TOPCAT has a mapping feature which shows where on each floor the books are located within the main library.
TOPCAT lists titles of magazines and journals owned by the library, but does not provide access to articles.
- TopSCHOLAR® Digital Repository
Contains scholarly research, creative projects, and other full-text learning resources created by WKU faculty, staff, and faculty-sponsored students.
The following printed journal indexing services are located in the Reference Room on the first floor of Helm Library:
- Elenchus of Biblica
Index of Biblical literature, mostly in German. Located in the Reference Room at BS 1171.2 .E4x.
- Humanities Index
Reference Periodical Indexes AI3 .H85
Contains information on all fields of the humanities, including philosophy and ethics. The Humanities Index had several previous titles, including: Social Sciences and Humanities Index; International Index: A Guide to Periodical Literature in the Social Sciences and Humanities; and International Index to Periodicals.
- Index Islamicus
Ref Per/Ind BP161.2 .I5x
- Index to Legal Periodicals
This print series indexes articles related to law and religion, freedom of religion, or separation of church and state. Located in the Helm Reference Room at REF PER/IND K9 .N32.
- International bibliography of the history of religions
Reference Periodicals Indexes BL80 .I53
- L'annee Pilologique
Published in France, this annual abstracting guide contains materials on Philosophy of Religion. Some are in French and some are in English.
- New Testament Abstracts
REF PER/IND BS 410 .N35.
- Old Testament Abstracts
REF PER/IND BS 410. O42.
- Religious and Theological Abstracts
This print series provides abstracts of articles in religion and theology. Located in the Reference Room at REF PER/IND BR 1 .R286.