Last Updated: Apr 25, 2013
The following services are recommended for use by first-year students and non-majors:
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
These two (see below) all-subject WWW-based services (they are part of the EBSCOhost system) feature indexing and abstracting of many journals and magazines WKU Libraries receives in hardcopy, plus a large selection of articles in full-text. EBSCOhost databases are also available in Spanish.
- Masterfile Premier (EBSCOhost)
- MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)
A WWW-based database available through Literature Online which exhaustively indexes all literature of the field of Literature, Languages, Linguistics, and Folklore.
- Literature Online
Contains full text of over 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, along with literature journals and other key criticism and reference resources. Also Indexes scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Includes a combined search with the MLA International Bibliography.
- Google Scholar
A free Web-based Google service that restricts searches to the scholarly literature. Now features linking to full-text of articles held by WKU.
- Reader's Guide to Periodicals 1890 to Present (H.W. Wilson)
Paper index covering articles on all subjects in magazines since 1904.
- LexisNexis Academic
Full-text articles from local, national, and international newspapers.
The following services are recommended for use by advanced students and researchers:
Provides the full text/full image web access of the complete archival collections of journals, up to the most recent three to five years.
- Project Muse
"Provides online, worldwide, institutional subscription access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics."