This is the "Articles & Databases" page of the "Anthropology and Archaeology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Anthropology and Archaeology  

Last Updated: Jun 5, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wku.edu/content.php?pid=198186 Print Guide RSS Updates

Articles & Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Anthropology Department

Basic Research

To Find Journal and Magazine Articles (using indexing/abstracting/full-text services)

The following services are recommended for use by first-year students and non-majors:

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)  
      
    A part of the EBSCOhost system (a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet or direct connection) feature indexing and abstracting of many journals and magazines WKU Libraries receives in hardcopy, plus a large selection of articles in full text.
  • Masterfile Premier (EBSCOhost)
    Also part of the EBSCOhost system.
  • MAS FullTEXT Ultra (EBSCOhost K-12)
    Also part of the EBSCOhost system.
  • Google Scholar  
      
    A free Web-based Google service that restricts searches to the scholarly literature. Now features linking to full-text of articles held by WKU.Social Sciences Index: A paper product that indexes a good number of social sciences-related journals REF AI3 .S62 (April 1974-).
  • Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)  
      
    Contains abstracts since 1953 from journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related social and behavioral sciences. Since 2001, many records also include cited references from the source article.
  • Sociological Collection (EBSCO)
    A database of nearly 570 full text titles; more than 500 are peer-reviewed.

Advanced Research

The following services are recommended for use by advanced students and researchers:

  • Annual Review of Anthropology: (main) GN 1 .A623 vol. 1- (1972-)
    also available from 1996 in full-text as e-journal--see listing under "Multi-Title Services" / Annual Reviews Online.
  • American Mosaic  
      
    includes The African American Experience and The Latino American Experience, which can be searched individually or together. The American Mosaic includes history, biographies, literature, arts, music, popular culture, folklore, business, slavery, civil rights, politics, sports, education, science, and other themes...
  • JSTOR  
      
    Provides the full text/full image web access of the complete archival collections of over 150 (and growing) core scholarly journals up to the most recent three to five years.
  • Project Muse  
      
    Provides online, worldwide, institutional subscription access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
    Social Science Citation Index: An international multi-disciplinary index to the core journal literature of the social, behavioral and related sciences. REF H1 .S6x (1985-1994 only).
  • PubMed (NIH, Open Acces)
    Service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's.
  • Web of Science
    Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.

Special Resources

  • TDNet Electronic Journal Finder  
      
    Special resource: use to access Libraries' electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers, as well as some indexes and databases containing full-text articles; includes a comprehensive A-Z listing of titles
  • KenCat  
      
    Special resource: [A searchable catalog of the collections at the Kentucky Library & Museum. KenCat includes manuscripts, letters, sheet music, photographs, museum exhibits, images, journals, and books.]

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sean Kinder--Humanities & Social Sciences Librarian
Contact Info
806 Cravens Library
Western Kentucky University
1906 College Heights Blvd. #11067
Bowling Green, Kentucky 42101-1067

Phone:(270) 745-6339
FAX: (270) 745-2275
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip