Last Updated: Jun 5, 2014
To Find Journal and Magazine Articles (using indexing/abstracting/full-text services)
The following services are recommended for use by first-year students and non-majors:
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
These three all-subject services, a part of the EBSCOhost system (a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet or direct connection) feature indexing and abstracting of many journals and magazines WKU Libraries receives in hardcopy, plus a large selection of articles in full text.
- Masterfile Premier (EBSCOhost)
- MAS FullTEXT Ultra (EBSCOhost K-12)
- Google Scholar
A free Web-based Google service that restricts searches to the scholarly literature. Now features linking to full-text of articles held by WKU.Social Sciences Index: A paper product that indexes a good number of social sciences-related journals REF AI3 .S62 (April 1974-).
- Sociological Collection (EBSCO)
A database of nearly 570 full text titles; more than 500 are peer-reviewed.
- MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)
A WWW-based database available through Literature Online which exhaustively indexes all literature of the field of Literature, Languages, Linguistics, and Folklore.
The following services are recommended for use by advanced students and researchers:
- Sociological Abstracts
Contains abstracts since 1953 from journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related social and behavioral sciences. Since 2001, many records also include cited references from the source article.Annual Review of Anthropology: (main) GN 1 .A623 vol. 1- (1972-); also available from 1996 in full-text as e-journal--see listing under "Multi-Title Services" / Annual Reviews Online.
- American Mosaic
includes The African American Experience and The Latino American Experience, which can be searched individually or together. The American Mosaic includes history, biographies, literature, arts, music, popular culture, folklore, business, slavery, civil rights, politics, sports, education, science, and other themes. The database contains full-text primary documents and media, including slave narratives, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, statistics, maps, songs, audio clips, interviews, and photographs, as well as peer-reviewed scholarly essays.
Provides the full text/full image web access of the complete archival collections of over 150 (and growing) core scholarly journals up to the most recent three to five years.
- Project Muse
Provides online, worldwide, institutional subscription access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
- Reader's Guide to Periodicals 1890 to Present
Contains all information from the printed Readers’ Guide annuals in a single database. Over 3 million articles from approximately 375 leading magazines (many peer reviewed). Also includes PDF full text from the Wilson Library Bulletin from 1914 to 1983. Subject headings have been updated with modern terminology, although the original subject headings are also available.
- TDNet Electronic Journal Finder
Special Resources: Use to access Libraries' electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers, as well as some indexes and databases containing full-text articles; includes a comprehensive A-Z listing of titles
Special Resources: A searchable catalog of the collections at the Kentucky Library & Museum. KenCat includes manuscripts, letters, sheet music, photographs, museum exhibits, images, journals, and books.