Last Updated: Apr 25, 2013
The following services are recommended for use by first-year students and non-majors:
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
These two (see below) all-subject WWW-based services (they are part of the EBSCOhost system) feature indexing and abstracting of many journals and magazines WKU Libraries receives in hardcopy, plus a large selection of articles in full-text.
- Masterfile Premier (EBSCOhost)
- Access World News (Newsbank)
full-text of newspapers, including local, national, and international titles.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
This EBSCOhost database includes abstracts and some full-text of articles in the communication field.
- Facts on File News Digest (FACTS.com)
Delivers the complete full-text of the authoritative Facts On File News Digest since January 1980, updated every week.
- Google Scholar
A free Web-based Google service that restricts searches to the scholarly literature. Now features linking to full-text of articles held by WKU.
- Newspaper Source (EBSCOhost)
Provides full text for 128 regional U.S. newspapers, fifteen international newspapers, six newswires, and nine newspaper columns, The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times, for a total of 160 full text newspapers and other sources.
- LexisNexis Academic
full-text news, law, business, and finance items, including newspapers, wire services, and broadcast transcripts from U.S. and international news sources. Also includes U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, and law reviews.
- Times (London) Digital Archive (Gale)
Online tool researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), to retrieve full facsimile images of articles from 1785-1985.
- Gallup Poll News Service & Gallup Poll Tuesday Briefing
- Los Angeles Times 1881-1986 (ProQuest)
Another complete digital rendering with full facsimile images of articles from 1881-1986. [For more recent coverage, see Newsstand Proquest]
- Chicago Tribune 1849 - 1988
Complete digital rendering with full facsimile images of articles from 1849-1988. [For more recent coverage, see Newsstand Proquest]
- New York Times 1851-2006 (ProQuest)
Complete digital rendering with full facsimile images of articles from 1851-2006. [For more recent coverage, see Newsstand Proquest]
- Washington Post Historical: 1877-1996 (ProQuest)
Full text coverage of the Washington Post from 1877 to 1996. Washington Post to the current time is also available through ProQuest Databases. [For more recent coverage, see Newsstand Proquest]
- Newsstand (ProQuest)
WKU’s core newspaper database includes international, national and regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post. Abstracting and indexing are available for the more than 1,370 newspapers in ProQuest Newsstand; of these, over 1,270 are full text.
The following services are recommended for use by advanced students and researchers:
Provides the full text/full image web access of the complete archival collections of journals, up to the most recent three to five years.
- Project Muse
Provides online, worldwide, institutional subscription access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.