Last Updated: Dec 6, 2013
To Find Journal and Magazine Articles (using indexing/abstracting/full-text services)
The following services are recommended for courses for first-year students and non-majors:
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
Provides full text for over 3,000 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. Includes full text of Leadership Quarterly, Military History. Access restricted by IP address via WKUNet; dialup remote access available via password access.
- Masterfile Premier (EBSCOhost)
Provides full text for 1,830 periodicals covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more. Includes full text of Leadership Quarterly, Military History, Military Review. Access restricted by IP address via WKUNet; dialup remote access available via password access.
- LexisNexis Academic
Citations to approximately 170 magazines and newsletters of the federal government, many of them from the Dept. of Defense.
- Google Scholar
A free Web-based Google service that restricts searches to the scholarly literature. Now features linking to full-text of articles held by WKU.
The following services are recommended for use by advanced students and researchers:
- America: History & Life (EBSCOhost)
Provides citations to articles on U. S. and Canadian history and government. Access to this bibliographic database is restricted to a total of 6 simultaneous users. This is controlled by IP address via the campuswide information system, WKUNet and by password for dialup remote access.
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Provides citations to articles on history and governments of the world (excluding the U. S. and Canada). Access to this bibliographic database is restricted to a total of 6 simultaneous users. This is controlled by IP address via the campuswide information system, WKUNet and by password for dialup remote access.
Contains cover-to-cover full-page images for all issues of over 1,200 legal journals, cases from the U.S. Supreme Court, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, and English Reports Full Reprint (1694-1867)...
- Military Education Research Libraries Network
From the National Defense Library, a variety of defense-related study guides Some items are full text.
- Reader's Guide to Periodicals 1890 to Present (H.W. Wilson)
Contains all information from the printed Readers’ Guide annuals in a single database. Over 3 million articles from approximately 375 leading magazines (many peer reviewed). Also includes PDF full text from the Wilson Library Bulletin from 1914 to 1983. Subject headings have been updated with modern terminology, although the original subject headings are also available.
- TDNet Electronic Journal Finder
Special resource: use to access Libraries' electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers, as well as some indexes and databases containing full-text articles; includes a comprehensive A-Z listing of titles.
Special resource: A searchable catalog of the collections at the Kentucky Library & Museum. KenCat includes manuscripts, letters, sheet music, photographs, museum exhibits, images, journals, and books.
Department of Library Public Services
13 Helm Library
1906 College Heights Blvd. #11067
Western Kentucky University
Bowling Green, Kentucky 42101
Phone: (270) 745-6441
FAX: (270) 745-6175Send Email