Last Updated: Jul 24, 2014
Department of Library Public Services
13 Helm Library
1906 College Heights Blvd. #11067
Western Kentucky University
Bowling Green, Kentucky 42101
Phone: (270) 745-6441
FAX: (270) 745-6175Send Email
The following are recommended for courses for first-year students and non-majors:
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Abstracts both scholarly and non-scholarly articles in all subjects, with some articles available full text.
- America: History & Life (EBSCOhost)
Cites articles on U.S. & Canadian history & government.
- Google Scholar
*Directions for getting full text articles
A free Web-based Google service that restricts searches to the scholarly literature. Now features linking to full-text of articles held by WKU.
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Cites articles on world history & governments (not U.S. & Canada).
JSTOR provides complete full text from all years of almost 1,400 core scholarly journals, not including the most recent five years.
- LexisNexis Academic
Full-text news, law, business, and finance items, including newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts. Also includes U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, and law reviews.
- Masterfile Premier (EBSCOhost)
Abstracts mostly non-scholarly popular, opinion, or trade magazine articles in all subjects. Some of the articles are available full text.
- Project Muse
Full text for 100+ scholarly journals in the arts and humanities and social sciences.
- Reader's Guide to Periodicals 1890 to Present
Contains all information from the printed Readers’ Guide annuals, indexing approximately 375 leading magazines and journals (many peer reviewed). Subject headings have been updated with modern terminology, although the original subject headings are also available.
- 19th Century British Pamphlets (JSTOR)
Significant British pamphlets from the 19th century covering key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of the day.
- Accounting Research Manager (CCH)
Note: CCH ARM is limited to one user at a time…please log out promptly when finished.
- Alt-Press Watch
Full text of over 170 alternative and independent newspapers, magazines and journals.
- Facts on File News Digest
Facts on File News Digest (FACTS.com) contains the complete full text of the Facts On File News Digest since January 1960, updated weekly.
The following are recommended for use by advanced students and researchers:
- Humanities Index
Helm Reference PER/IND AI3 .H85
- Index to Legal Periodicals
Helm Reference PER/IND K9 .N32
- International Political Science Abstracts
Reference Periodical Indexes JA36 .I5
- American Mosaic
includesThe African American Experience and The Latino American Experience, which can be searched individually or together. The American Mosaic includes history, biographies, literature, arts, music, popular culture, folklore, business, slavery, civil rights, politics, sports, education, science, and other themes. The database contains full-text primary documents and media, including slave narratives, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, statistics, maps, songs, audio clips, interviews, and photographs, as well as peer-reviewed scholarly essays.
- CQ Researcher Online (Congressional Quarterly Database)
(Congressional Quarterly Database)
CQ Researcher or CQ Global Researcher
CQ Researcher contains in-depth, non-biased pro/con coverage of political and social issues. Reports contain background and chronology; assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
- Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)
Full-page cover-to-cover images for all issues of over 1,200 legal journals, cases from the U.S. Supreme Court, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, and English Reports Full Reprint (1694-1867).
- Public Administration Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Citations to articles in public administration with linked full text.
- RAND Abstracts
Located in Periodicals (2nd floor of Helm Library).