For finding music-related print and online resources. Most materials are at WKU's Visual & Performing Arts Library on the 2nd floor of Cravens. The VPAL also houses resources for Dance, Musical Theatre, Art, Costume, Fashion, and Crafts.
Last Updated: Sep 28, 2013
Finding Books, Journals, and Articles
GENERAL and MUSIC-SPECIFIC
- TOPCAT (WKU Libraries online catalog)
The catalog lists books, journals, CDs and DVDs; searchable by title, author, subject or keyword. It also lists titles of magazines and journals owned by the library, but does not provide access to articles. TOPCAT shows the location of each item, gives the call number, and indicates whether it is available. TOPCAT has a mapping feature for most items which shows where they are located within the main library.
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
These two (see below) multi-subject databases provide abstracts of scholarly journal and popular magazine articles, with many available full text. Both databases have a somewhat limited range concerning topics of music, but they do have some full-text journals that are useful to undergraduates.
- Google Scholar
A free Web-based Google service that restricts searches to the scholarly literature. Now features linking to full-text of articles held by WKU, in addition to numerous links to scholarly materials posted on the free web.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCOhost)
Covering the years 1969-present, RILM indexes articles on musical research from 1969 to the present. Included articles were written in over 200 languages from 3,700 journals. The database covers all genres and geographical origins, including Western and Eastern music, classical, pop, folk, and jazz.
- Grove Music Online
Oxford Music Online contains the full text of several music reference works, most importantly Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. It also provides contextual to links to images, sound, and other related Websites.
- Music Index 1973 - Present (EBSCOhost)
Indexes research on music from 1971 to the present, with coverage of popular, classical, and traditional music styles.
- TDNet Electronic Journal Finder
Special resource: use to access Libraries' electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers, as well as some indexes and databases containing full-text articles; includes a comprehensive A-Z listing of titles.
- Naxos Music Library
Special resource: Use to access our subscription to streaming audio files of over 85,000 tracks of music produced by the Naxos label, including a vast array of classical music recordings and some international, new age, and other material. The liner notes of each recording and special biographical write-ups on the composers are also searchable, and provide a good reference source in themselves.