Kinesiology, Recreation & Sport
Last Updated: Feb 18, 2013
To Find Journal and Magazine Articles (using indexing/abstracting/full-text services)
The following services are recommended for courses for first-year students and nonmajors:
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
These two (see below) all-subject WWW-based services (they are part of the EBSCOhost system) feature indexing and abstracting of many journals and magazines WKU Libraries receives in hardcopy, plus a large selection of articles in full-text.
- Masterfile Premier (EBSCOhost)
- Career & Technical Education Database (ProQuest)
has full text articles about career, vocational, & technical education.
- ERIC (EBSCO)
Covers over 1000 journals plus research reports and other types of literature on all aspects of education.
- Education Full Text 1929 to Present (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes articles since 1983, abstracts articles since 1994, and selected full text since 1996. Also contains cover-to-cover indexing of over 800 periodicals and yearbooks in the field of education, many peer-reviewed. Also includes PDF full text from the Wilson Library Bulletin from 1914 to 1983.
- Health Source- Consumer Edition (EBSCOhost)
This database provides health information for the health care consumer (layman). A full-text database available via EBSCOhost.
- Google Scholar
A free Web-based Google service that restricts searches to the scholarly literature. Now features linking to full-text of articles held by WKU.
- Sport Discus (EBSCOhost)
This database includes citations on all aspects of exercise physiology, physical education, physical fitness, sports, sports medicine published since 1975.
The following services are recommended for use by advanced students and researchers:
- CINAHL Full Text (EBSCOhost)
These databases are devoted to the fields of nursing and allied health. Available via EBSCOhost.
- Educational Administration Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts articles in educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Older paper issues are located in Reference at LB2805 .E32 (Ref. Per. Ind.).
A consumer health database. Available via FirstSearch if you are faculty, staff, or a graduate student at WKU. Call the Reference Center at x6125 for Authorization and Password.
- MEDLINE / PubMed
This EBSCOhost-based database provides abstracting of the primary research literature.
- PsycInfo (EBSCOhost)
Provides indexing and abstracts for over one million articles in 1,500 journals, plus dissertations, books and book chapters, from 1887 to the present.
- Teacher Reference Center (EBSCOhost)
Indexes and abstracts over 270 trade journals and magazines for teachers and administrators.
- TDNet Electronic Journal Finder
Special Resource: use to access Libraries' electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers, as well as some indexes and databases containing full-text articles; includes a comprehensive A-Z listing of titles.