English (Writing and Literature) Departmental Research Guide
Last Updated: Sep 23, 2013
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
These are two (see below) all-subject WWW-based services (they are part of the EBSCOhost system) feature indexing and abstracting of many journals and magazines WKU Libraries receives in hardcopy, plus a large selection of articles in full-text.
- Masterfile Premier (EBSCOhost)
- MLA (Modern Language Association)
A WWW-based database available through Literature Online which exhaustively indexes all literature of the field of Literature, Languages, Linguistics, and Folklore. MLA Can be searched individually or together with Literature Online.
- Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest)
contains full text of over 170 alternative and independent newspapers, magazines and journals.
- Literature Online
Contains full text of over 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, along with literature journals and other key criticism and reference resources. Also Indexes scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Includes a combined search with the MLA International Bibliography.
- Reader's Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
Contains all information from the printed Readers’ Guide annuals in a single database. Over 3 million articles from approximately 375 leading magazines (many peer reviewed). Also includes PDF full text from the Wilson Library Bulletin from 1914 to 1983. Subject headings have been updated with modern terminology, although the original subject headings are also available.
- Google Scholar
A free Web-based Google service that restricts searches to the scholarly literature. Now features linking to full-text of articles held by WKU.
- Art and Humanities Citation Index (AHSearch)
FirstSearch database available to faculty and graduate students (and to undergraduate students by special permission). Indexes over 1,300 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, 1980 to present.
- The American Mosaic (Alexander Street Press)
includesThe African American Experience and The Latino American Experience, which can be searched individually or together. The American Mosaic includes history, biographies, literature, arts, music, popular culture, folklore, business, slavery, civil rights, politics, sports, education, science, and other themes.
- Women Writers Online
The Brown University Women Writers Project is a long-term research and publication project which focuses on making available texts from early modern women writers in the English language. The Women Writers Project maintains "Women Writers Online" an electronic collection of rare or difficult to obtain works written or co-authored by women from the sixteenth century to the mid nineteenth century.
- Alt-Press Index
FirstSearch database available to faculty and graduate students (and to undergraduate students by special permission). Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change.
- Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)
- TDNet Electronic Journal Finder
Access Libraries' electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers, as well as some indexes and databases containing full-text articles; includes a comprehensive A-Z listing of titles
KenCat A searchable catalog of the collections at the Kentucky Library & Museum. KenCat includes manuscripts, letters, sheet music, photographs, museum exhibits, images, journals, and books.
Department of Library Public Services
1906 College Heights Blvd. #11067
Bowling Green, Kentucky 42101-1067
Phone: (270) 745-6117
FAX: (270) 745-6413Send Email