Women's Studies Departmental Research Guide
Last Updated: Mar 12, 2013
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
These two all-subject WWW-based services (they are part of the EBSCOhost system) feature indexing and abstracting of many journals and magazines WKU Libraries receives in hardcopy, plus a large selection of articles in full-text. Both databases have a somewhat limited range of materials concerning Women's Studies or Feminism, but they do have some full-text journals in the areas which are scholarly and useful for the undergraduate researcher.
- Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest)
has full text of over 170 alternative and independent newspapers, magazines and journals.
- Alt-Press Index
FirstSearch database available to faculty and graduate students (and to undergraduate students by special permission). Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change.
- The American Mosaic
- Literature Online
Contains full text of over 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, along with literature journals and other key criticism and reference resources. Also Indexes scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Includes a combined search with the MLA International Bibliography.
- MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)
A WWW-based database available through Literature Online which exhaustively indexes all literature of the field of Literature, Languages, Linguistics, and Folklore.
- Google Scholar
A free Web-based Google service that restricts searches to the scholarly literature. Now features linking to full-text of articles held by WKU.
- LexisNexis Academic
full-text news, law, business, and finance items, including newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts. Also includes U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, and law reviews.
- Reader's Guide to Periodicals Literature (Ref. Per. Ind. A13 .R48)
Paper index covering articles on all subjects in magazines since 1904.
- Reader's Guide to Periodicals 1890 to Present (H.W. Wilson)
Contains all information from the printed Readers’ Guide annuals in a single database. Over 3 million articles from approximately 375 leading magazines (many peer reviewed). Also includes PDF full text from the Wilson Library Bulletin from 1914 to 1983. Subject headings have been updated with modern terminology, although the original subject headings are also available.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States
Women and Social Movements in the United States brings together primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, Web site reviews, and teaching tools, all documenting the multiplicity of women’s activism in public life.
- Women Writers Online
The Brown University Women Writers Project is a long-term research and publication project which focuses on making available texts from early modern women writers in the English language. The Women Writers Project maintains "Women Writers Online" an electronic collection of rare or difficult to obtain works written or co-authored by women from the sixteenth century to the mid nineteenth century.
- TDNet Electronic Journal Finder
Access Libraries' electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers, as well as some indexes and databases containing full-text articles; includes a comprehensive A-Z listing of titles
A searchable catalog of the collections at the Kentucky Library & Museum. KenCat includes manuscripts, letters, sheet music, photographs, museum exhibits, images, journals, and books.
Department of Library Public Services
1906 College Heights Blvd. #11067
Bowling Green, Kentucky 42101-1067
Phone: (270) 745-6117
FAX: (270) 745-6413Send Email