Resources available for the study of African American Studies
Last Updated: Feb 17, 2014
The following are recommended for courses for first-year students and non-majors:
- Masterfile Premier (EBSCOhost)
Covers over 1,750 periodicals in nearly all subjects including general reference. Many articles in full text.
- Reader's Guide to Periodicals 1890 to Present (H.W. Wilson)
Contains all information from the printed Readers’ Guide annuals in a single database. Over 3 million articles from approximately 375 leading magazines (many peer reviewed). Also includes PDF full text from the Wilson Library Bulletin from 1914 to 1983. Subject headings have been updated with modern terminology, although the original subject headings are also available.
- Google Scholar
A free Web-based Google service that restricts searches to the scholarly literature. Now features linking to full-text of articles held by WKU.
JSTOR provides the full text of the complete archival collections of almost 1,400 core scholarly journals, not including the most recent five years. WKU subscribes to JSTOR Arts & Sciences I - VIII modules; the Life Sciences module; the Life Sciences collection; and the 19th Century British Pamphlets collection.
The following are recommended for use by advanced students and researchers:
- America: History & Life (EBSCOhost)
America: History & Life provides abstracts of articles, books, and dissertations on the history of North America since 1492. Historical Abstracts provides abstracts of articles, books, and dissertations covering history since 1450 (excluding Canada and the United States).
- The American Mosaic
Includes The African American Experience and The Latino American Experience, which can be searched individually or together. The American Mosaic includes history, biographies, literature, arts, music, popular culture, folklore, business, slavery, civil rights, politics, sports, education, science, and other themes.
The following service is useful in locating biographical information:
- American National Biography Online
Offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women whose lives shaped the nation with thousands of illustrations, 80,000 cross-references, links to select websites, etc..
- American History in Video
The largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles in collection.
- Biography and Geneaology Master Index
This index contains citations that point to over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor. This database does not provide full text content or abstracts--it will provide you with a list of resources that you can find through other sources.
- Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)
For access to doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
HeinOnline contains cover-to-cover full-page images for all issues of over 1,200 legal journals, cases from the U.S. Supreme Court, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, and English Reports Full Reprint (1694-1867). HeinOnline has all issues of the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, and U.S. Statutes at Large, plus all issues of the Congressional Record (1873 to present), the Annals of Congress (1789-1924), Register of Debates (1824-1837), and Congressional Globe (1833-1873).
Provides the full text/full image web access of the complete archival collections of over 150 (and growing) core scholarly journals up to the most recent three to five years.
- Project Muse
Provides online, worldwide, institutional subscription access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
The following sources are useful in locating reviews of historical books:
- America: History & Life (EBSCOhost)
America: History & Life provides abstracts of articles, books, and dissertations on the history of North America since 1492.
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Historical Abstracts provides abstracts of articles, books, and dissertations covering history since 1450 (excluding Canada and the United States).
- Book Review Index (Ref Z1035 A1 B6)
Since 1965, BRI has been the leading general guide to reviews of thousands of books appearing in over 500 publications from the U.S., Canada, Europe and Australia. Each annual includes more than 40,000 reviews.
- Books in Print with Reviews
Lists 2.5 million books in print, out of print, or forthcoming, and provides 500,000 full text reviews from Choice, Library Journal, Booklist, and other library review media.
- TDNet Electronic Journal Finder
Access Libraries' electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers, as well as some indexes and databases containing full-text articles; includes a comprehensive A-Z listing of titles
KenCat A searchable catalog of the collections at the Kentucky Library & Museum. KenCat includes manuscripts, letters, sheet music, photographs, museum exhibits, images, journals, and books.