Resources available for the study of Philosophy
Last Updated: Aug 29, 2014
A searchable catalog of manuscripts, letters, sheet music, photographs, museum exhibits, images, journals, and books in the Special Collections Library.
- TDNet Electronic Journal Finder
Access Libraries' electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers, as well as some indexes and databases containing full-text articles; includes a comprehensive A-Z listing of titles.
- TOPCAT (WKU Libraries' Online Catalog
Lists CD’s, DVD’s, sound recordings, and other items owned by the library, searchable by title, author, subject or keyword.
TOPCAT has a mapping feature which shows where on each floor the books are located within the main library.
TOPCAT lists titles of magazines and journals owned by the library, but does not provide access to articles.
- TopSCHOLAR® Digital Repository
Contains scholarly research, creative projects, and other full-text learning resources created by WKU faculty, staff, and faculty-sponsored students.
The following services are recommended for use by first-year students and nonmajors:
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A large multi-subject database which covers every topic. Contains abstracts of scholarly journal and popular magazine articles, with many available full text.
- Google Scholar
- Humanities Index
Reference Periodical Indexes AI3 .H85
Contains information on all fields of the humanities, including philosophy and ethics. The Humanities Index had several previous titles, including: Social Sciences and Humanities Index; International Index: A Guide to Periodical Literature in the Social Sciences and Humanities; and International Index to Periodicals.
Provides the full text/full image web access of the complete archival collections of several communication related journals up to the most recent five years.
- Oxford English Dictionary
- Philosopher's Index (EBSCOhost)
The basic tool for finding articles about philosophy and ethics, Philosopher's Index indexes articles from 1940 to the present.
- Project Muse
Provides online, worldwide, institutional subscription access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, including philosophy, ethics, and logic.
- ACLS Humanities E-Books
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Part of the Web of Science database, this database indexes many journals philosophy and ethics materials.
- Cambridge Histories Online
Contains a lot of materials on the history of philosophy.
- EBSCO E-Books
Contains numerous full text E-Books (including philosophy books) that can be read online, downloaded, or printed a page at a time. Requires WKU NetID and password for access.
- Index to Legal Periodicals
This print series indexes articles on jurisprudence, property, liberty, legal philosophy, and natural rights. Located in the Helm Reference Room at REF PER/IND K9 .N32.
- L'annee Pilologique
Published in France, this annual abstracting guide contains materials on philosophy. Some of the abstracts are in French and some are in English. Located in the Helm Reference Room at >b>REF PER/INDZ 7016 .M35A.
- Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes over 625 periodicals from 1983 to the present.