Art Research Guide
Last Updated: Apr 10, 2013
To Find Journal and Magazine Articles (using indexing/abstracting/full-text services)
The following are recommended for courses for first-year students and non-majors:
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost): Covers over 1,250 journals in social science, humanities, general science, etc. Many articles in full text.
- Art Full Text (Wilson/EBSCOhost)
- Art Index (call no. Ref.Per.Ind. NX1 .A12 A7x)
Paper index covering articles and illustrations in art magazines and journals since 1929.
- Google Scholar
A free Web-based Google service that restricts searches to the scholarly literature. Now features linking to full-text of articles held by WKU.
- Masterfile Premier (EBSCOhost)
Covers over 1,830 periodicals in nearly all subjects including general reference. Many articles in full text.
- Reader's Guide to Periodicals 1890 to Present (H.W. Wilson)
Reader's Guide Retrospective 1890-1982: Contains all information from the printed Readers’ Guide annuals in a single database. Over 3 million articles from approximately 375 leading magazines (many peer reviewed). Also includes PDF full text from the Wilson Library Bulletin from 1914 to 1983. Subject headings have been updated with modern terminology, although the original subject headings are also available.
The following are recommended for use by advanced students and researchers:
- TDNet Electronic Journal Finder
Special resource: use to access Libraries' electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers, as well as some indexes and databases containing full-text articles; includes a comprehensive A-Z listing of titles
Special resource: [A searchable catalog of the collections at the Kentucky Library & Museum. KenCat includes manuscripts, letters, sheet music, photographs, museum exhibits, images, journals, and books.]