Theater and Dance
Last Updated: Dec 11, 2013
Take a look at the Library of Congress Digital Playscript Collection: The New Deal Stage.
(Library of Congress, 2013)
To Find Journal and Magazine Articles (using indexing/abstracting/full-text services)
The following are recommended for courses for first-year students and non-majors:
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
Covers 3,200 journals in social science, humanities, general science, etc. Many articles in full-text.
- Google Scholar
A free Web-based Google service that restricts searches to the scholarly literature. Now features linking to full-text of articles held by WKU.
- Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (call no. Ref.Per.Ind. AI3 .R48)
Paper index covering articles on all subjects in magazines since 1904.
- TOPCAT (WKU Libraries online catalog)
The catalog lists books, journals, CDs and DVDs; searchable by title, author, subject or keyword. It also lists titles of magazines and journals owned by the library, but does not provide access to articles. TOPCAT shows the location of each item, gives the call number, and indicates whether it is available. TOPCAT has a mapping feature for most items which shows where they are located within the main library.
The following are recommended for use by advanced students and researchers:
- America: History & Life (EBSCOhost)
Since 1964, the premiere database covering the history of the United States and Canada. Database indexes 2,000 journals published worldwide.
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Since 1954, the premiere database covering history since 1450 (excluding Canada and the United States).
- Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest)
has full text of over 170 alternative and independent newspapers, magazines and journals.
- Alt-Press Index
FirstSearch database available to faculty and graduate students (and to undergraduate students by special permission). Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change.
Provides the full text/full image web access of the complete archival collections of over 225 (and growing) core scholarly journals up to the most recent three to five years.
- Project Muse
Scholarly Journals Online: Full-text articles, mostly in the humanities.
- Reader's Guide to Periodicals 1890 to Present (H.W. Wilson)
Contains all information from the printed Readers’ Guide annuals in a single database. Over 3 million articles from approximately 375 leading magazines (many peer reviewed). Also includes PDF full text from the Wilson Library Bulletin from 1914 to 1983. Subject headings have been updated with modern terminology, although the original subject headings are also available.
- Web of Science
- TDNet Electronic Journal Finder
Special resource: use to access Libraries' electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers, as well as some indexes and databases containing full-text articles; includes a comprehensive A-Z listing of titles.
Special resource: A searchable catalog of the collections at the Kentucky Library & Museum. KenCat includes manuscripts, letters, sheet music, photographs, museum exhibits, images, journals, and books.
Motley Collection of Theatre & Costume Design
The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign has a wonderful collection of theatre history. Check out the collection of set designs and costumes from Margaret Harris, sister Sophia Harris, and Elizabeth Montgomery. There works have been featured in theatres in America and England.