This is the "1 - For Teachers" page of the "ESL/TESL" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ESL/TESL  

The best resources for teachers and learners of English as a Second Language.
Last Updated: Dec 6, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wku.edu/esl Print Guide RSS Updates

1 - For Teachers Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

Our library subscribes to these databases which index academic journals.

  • Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
    This is a retrospective citation only (not full-text) database of language and literature journals. Journals not in our Periodicals collection may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
  • Cambridge Journals Online
    Selected fulltext of articles from Studies in Second Language Acquisition, English Today, Bilingualism, Applied Psycholinguistics, and other TESL-related journals.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete
    Indexes many linguistics journals, as well as communication in general.
  • ERIC
    Find ERIC documents and articles from education journals on the topic of ESL.
  • ETS Test Collection
    Find descriptions of tests that can be used with ELLs.
  • Family & Society Studies Worldwide
    Search "English as a Second Language" as a keyword to find articles from early child development and family studies journals.
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR provides the full text of the complete archival collections of almost 1,400 core scholarly journals, not including the most recent five years. Includes 294 language and literature titles.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    Find citations to articles from such journals as English Language Teaching, ELT Journal, TESOL Quarterly, International Journal of Corpus Linguistics, to name but a few. Journals not found in our Periodicals collection may be requested via Interlibrary Loan.
  • Project MUSE
    Find books and journal articles on TESL topics.
  • Testing & Education Reference Center
    This database has current practice tests for TOEFL and TOEIC. Click the "International Tools" tab. You will have to set up an account to see test results, but there is no charge.

Websites

Some of the best websites for professional and pedagogical information.

  • American Factfinder
    This statistical database from the U.S. Census Bureau contains tables that give, for example, Place of Birth by Language Spoken at Home and Ability to Speak English, Household Language by Household, and Language Spoken at Home by Ability to Speak English.
  • Center for Applied Linguistics
    The Center for Applied Linguistics is dedicated to providing a comprehensive range of research-based information, tools, and resources related to language and culture.
  • Country Studies
    Find basic information about your students' countries of origin in this U.S. Department of the Army database.
  • Dave's ESL Cafe
    This site, for teachers and learners, lists jobs, lesson plans, games, exercises, audio files, quizzes, and student forums.
  • EL Civics for ESL Students
    Ebooks, worksheets, PPTs, and other materials to teach Civics to English Language Learners.
  • English Literacy and Civics Education Curriculum
    Developed by the Jefferson County, KY Public Schools and Continuing Education Program, this curriculum set contains 24 lesson plans to help immigrants learn about America.
  • ESL Galaxy
    Find lesson plans, PPTs, ebooks, games, exercises, video lessons, and much more on this excellent resource for ESL instructors.
  • ESL Resource Center
    Fabulous site with lots of lesson plans and activities.
  • Internet TESL Journal
    The Internet TESL Journal published articles from 1995 through 2010.
    This website is now an online resource book for EFL and ESL teachers.
  • Kentucky TESOL
    Kentucky TESOL, Inc. (KYTESOL) is a statewide professional organization for Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages. Our purpose is to distribute information, to discuss current issues, and to improve the teaching of English to speakers of other languages.
  • Linguist List
    The LINGUIST List is dedicated to providing information on language and language analysis, and to providing the discipline of linguistics with the infrastructure necessary to function in the digital world.
  • Linguistic Resources on the Internet
    Lots of links to excellent Linguistics resources.
  • NALDIC - National Association for Language Development in the Curriculum
    Get the UK perspective on EAL - English as an Additional Language. Includes lots of teacher resources.
  • OWL Purdue - ESL Instructors and Students
    Excellent resources for grammar and mechanics, plagiarism, workplace writing, and more.
  • Resource Center for English Teaching and Learning
    Lots of ideas for ESL teachers.
  • Second Language Acquisition Topics, Vivian Cook
    Vivian Cook is chiefly known for L2 learning research, in particular multi-competence, for his book on Universal Grammar, and for popular books on spelling and words. This page gives some of his original work and his favorite links.
  • Stanford's Linguistics Meta-Index
    A guide to the best linguistic resources on the web.
  • TESOL
    The major professional association for those who teach ESL. They also offer online courses and seminars for continuing education.
  • U.S. Department of State, Office of English Language Programs
    The Office of English Language Programs creates and implements English language programs in specific regions and countries of the world. Activities include the development of English teaching curricula, textbooks, and teacher training workshops.
  • World Factbook
    Learn about the people, society, and government of your students' home countries.
 

Books

Be sure to check TopCat often for newer titles. Also, note the LOCATION of each title; we have several libraries in our system.  Be sure to try our new Map It! feature; it's like a GPS for our collection.

Cover Art
Assessing English Language Learners in the Content Areas - Florin Mihai
Call Number: PE1128.A2 M54 2010 Cravens Library
ISBN: 9780472034352
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
Assessment in the Second Language Writing Classroom - Deborah Crusan
Call Number: PE1128.A2 C766 2010 Cravens Library
ISBN: 9780472034192
Publication Date: 2010


Cover Art
Conversation Analysis and Second Language Pedagogy - Jean Wong; Hansun Zhang Waring
Call Number: P118.2 .W66 2010 Cravens Library
ISBN: 9780415806367
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
Differentiating Instruction and Assessment for English Language Learners - Shelley Fairbairn; Stephaney Jones-Vo
Call Number: PE1128.A2 F245 2010 Cravens Library
ISBN: 9781934000021
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
Effective Instruction for English Language Learners - Julie Jacobson; Kelly Johnson; Diane Lapp
Call Number: PE1128.A2 J34 2011 Ed Center
ISBN: 9781609182526
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
Empower English Language Learners with Tools from the Web - Lori Langer de Ramirez (Editor)
Call Number: PE1128.A2 L294 2010 Cravens Library
ISBN: 9781412972420
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
ESL (ELL) Literacy Instruction - Lee Gunderson
Call Number: PE1128.A2 G79 2009 Cravens Library
ISBN: 9780415989718
Publication Date: 2008

Cover Art
ESL Beginner with Vocab Builder and Vocab Enhancer - Johanna Pugni
Call Number: PR8511 .S36x 2002
ISBN: 9780738604671
Publication Date: 2008

Cover Art
ESL Teacher's Book of Instant Word Games for Grades 7-12 - Helene D. Hutchinson
Call Number: PE1128 .A2 H87 1997 Ed Center Activities
ISBN: 0876281323
Publication Date: 1997

Cover Art
ESL, EFL, and Bilingual Education - Lynn W. Zimmerman
Call Number: LC3731 .Z54 2010 Ed Center
ISBN: 9781617350313
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
Generation 1.5 in College Composition - Linda Harklau (Editor); Mark Roberge (Editor); Meryl Siegal (Editor)
Call Number: PE1128.A2 G434 2009 Cravens Library
ISBN: 9780805864434
Publication Date: 2009


Cover Art
Handbook of Research in Second Language Teaching and Learning - Eli Hinkel (Editor)
Call Number: P118.2 .H359 2011x Cravens Library
ISBN: 9780415998710
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
Handbook of Research in Second Language Teaching and Learning - Eli Hinkel (Editor)
Call Number: PA118.2 .H359 2005 Cravens Library
ISBN: 0805841806
Publication Date: 2005

Cover Art
How to Teach English Language Learners - Diane Haager; Janette K. Klingner; Terese C. Aceves
Call Number: PE1128.A2 H223 2010 Ed Center
ISBN: 9780470390054
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
How to Train Language Teacher Trainers - Diadori, Pierangela
Call Number: P53.85 .H698x 2012
ISBN: 9781443840231
Publication Date: 20112

Cover Art
Keys to Teaching Grammar to English Language Learners - Keith S. Folse; Betty S. Azar (Foreword by)
Call Number: PE1128.A2 F674x 2009 Cravens Library
ISBN: 9780472032204
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
Learning One-to-One - Ingrid Wisniewska
Call Number: P51 .W57 2010
ISBN: 9780521134583
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
Mastering ESL and Bilingual Methods - Socorro G. Herrera; Kevin G. Murry
Call Number: Cravens Library
ISBN: 9780137056699
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
One on One with Second Language Writers - Dudley W. Reynolds
Call Number: PE1128.A2 R49x 2009 Cravens Library
ISBN: 9780472032822
Publication Date: 2009


Cover Art
Schoolwide Approaches to Educating ELLs - Sonia W. Soltero
Call Number: PE1128.A2 S5998 2011 Cravens Library & Ed Center
ISBN: 9780325029221
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
Second Language Acquisition Myths - Steven Brown; Jenifer Larson-Hall
Call Number: P118.2 .B77 2012x
ISBN: 9780472034987
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Teaching Chinese, Japanese, and Korean Heritage Language Students - Kimi Kondo-Brown (Editor); James Dean Brown (Editor)
Call Number: LC3071 .T43 2008 Cravens Library
ISBN: 9780805858778
Publication Date: 2007

Cover Art
Teaching ESL/EFL Listening and Speaking - I. S. P. Nation; Jonathan Newton
Call Number: PE1128.A2 N344 2009 Cravens Library
ISBN: 9780415989695
Publication Date: 2008

Cover Art
Teaching ESL/EFL Reading and Writing - I. S. P. Nation
Call Number: PE1128.A2 N345 2009 Cravens Library
ISBN: 9780415989671
Publication Date: 2008

Cover Art
Teaching Grammar in Second Language Classrooms - Hossein Nassaji; Sandra S. Fotos
Call Number: P118.2 .N37 2011 Cravens Library
ISBN: 9780415802048
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
Teaching Speaking - Christine C. M. Goh; Anne Burns
Call Number: PE1128.A2 G576 2012
ISBN: 9781107648333
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
The Cambridge Handbook of Second Language Acquisition - Julia Herschensohn (Editor); Martha Young-Scholten (Editor)
Call Number: P118.2 .C356 2013 Reference (Non-Circulating)
ISBN: 9781107007710
Publication Date: 2013

Cover Art
The English Language Teacher in Global Civil Society - Barbara M. Birch
Call Number: PE1128.A2 B498 2009 Cravens Library
ISBN: 9780415994484
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
The more-than-just-surviving Handbook: ELL for Every Classroom Teacher - Barbara Law, Mary Eckes
Call Number: PE1128.A2 L356x 2010 Cravens Library
ISBN: 9781553792321
Publication Date: 2010


Cover Art
Tips for Teaching Culture - Ann C. Wintergerst; Joe McVeigh
Call Number: LB1576 .W493 2011 Ed Center
ISBN: 9780132458221
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
Vocabulary Activities with CD-ROM - Penny Ur
Call Number: PE1449 .U7 2012
ISBN: 9780521181143
Publication Date: 2011

 

Videos

Be sure to check TopCat often for newer titles. Also, note the LOCATION of each title; we have several libraries in our system.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Lisa Miller, Reference Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip