Departmental Research Guide
Last Updated: Apr 25, 2013
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
These two all-subject WWW-based services (they are part of the EBSCOhost system) feature indexing and abstracting of many journals and magazines WKU Libraries receives in hardcopy, plus a large selection of articles in full-text.
- Masterfile Premier (EBSCOhost)
- Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest)
has full text of over 170 alternative and independent newspapers, magazines and journals.
- Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)
For access to doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
- Google Scholar
A free Web-based Google service that restricts searches to the scholarly literature. Now features linking to full-text of articles held by WKU.
(formerly UnCover Plus)
- LexisNexis Academic
Full text of numerous newspapers, some magazines, and other news sources from the United States and around the world. Useful in finding reviews.
- Project Muse
(Among the film, theater, and performing arts journals included in this database are Camera Obscura, Cinema Journal, Discourse, and Wide Angle. Full text is usually available from from 2000 to present.
- Literature Online
Contains full text of over 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, along with literature journals and other key criticism and reference resources. Also Indexes scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Includes a combined search with the MLA International Bibliography.
- Web of Science
Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.
- MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)
A WWW-based database available through Literature Online which exhaustively indexes all literature of the field of Literature, Languages, Linguistics, and Folklore.
- Los Angeles Times 1881-1986 (ProQuest)
[For more recent coverage, see Newsstand Proquest]
- New York Times
The (Historical) New York Times 1851-2006 contains full page and article images with searchable full text. [For more recent coverage, see Newsstand Proquest]
- Newsstand (ProQuest)
WKU’s core newspaper database includes international, national and regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post. Abstracting and indexing are available for the more than 1,370 newspapers in ProQuest Newsstand; of these, over 1,270 are full text.
- TDNet Electronic Journal Finder
Access Libraries' electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers, as well as some indexes and databases containing full-text articles; includes a comprehensive A-Z listing of titles
A searchable catalog of the collections at the Kentucky Library & Museum. KenCat includes manuscripts, letters, sheet music, photographs, museum exhibits, images, journals, and books.