This is the "Books" page of the "Gerontology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Gerontology  

Last Updated: Nov 7, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wku.edu/gerontology Print Guide RSS Updates

Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Featured Electronic Books

For more eBooks, please check TOPCAT or eBooks.

Cover Art
Aging Intellect, The - Douglas H. Powell
ISBN: 0415996856
Publication Date: 2011-05-09
Habits such as regular exercise are well known to be linked to better health in older adults. Far less is understood about behaviors that contribute to the optimally aging mind. This may be a reason why only about 25% of elders meet the standards for optimal cognitive aging. The Aging Intellect describes more than a dozen specific characteristics that distinguish older people who remain cognitively vigorous from the majority who are aging normally or are at risk for cognitive impairment. In addition, this book provides professionals with evidence-based recommendations that can help their aging patients and clients minimize the effects of predictable cognitive changes and more fully use their mental abilities. The Aging Intellect is also written for people of all ages interested in maximizing their cognitive vigor. Dr. Powell has encouraging words for those who know they are not aging optimally, but are willing to modify one or two habits that can improve their mental powers.

Cover Art
Aging Social Policies - Robbyn R. Wacker; Karen A. Roberto
ISBN: 1412939097
Publication Date: 2010-12-07
"In Aging Social Policies: An International Perspective the authors consider how policy – domestic and international – affects and will continue to affect the lives of our aging population."

Cover Art
Aging, Economic Growth, and Old-Age Security in Asia - D. Park; S. H. Lee; Andrew Mason
ISBN: 1781952302
Publication Date: 2012-12-01
Population aging is perhaps the single biggest economic and social obstacle confronting Asia's future. The region-wide demographic transition towards an older population is fundamentally reshaping the demographic landscape, and is giving rise to two key socio-economic challenges. This timely book provides an in-depth analysis of these challenges and presents concrete policy options for tackling them.

Cover Art
Cardiovascular Disease and Health in the Older Patient - David J. Stott (Editor); Gordon D. O. Lowe (Editor)
ISBN: 0470973722
Publication Date: 2013-01-22
Written by leading experts in the field, Cardiovascular Diseases and Health in the Older Patient covers the epidemiology, pathophysiology and management of cardiovascular disease in the older patient. Based on and expanded from the cardiovascular section in Pathy's Principles and Practice of Geriatric Medicine, Fifth Edition, this book provides authoritative, practical information on one of the major diseases of old age. An excellent reference for clinical and pre-clinical levels, it's a must-have resource for geriatricians, cardiologists, and GPs, as well as cardiac specialist nurses and advanced practice nurses.

Cover Art
Caregiving Across the Lifespan - Ronda C. Talley (Editor); Rhonda J. V. Montgomery (Editor)
ISBN: 1461455529
Publication Date: 2012-12-21
Most scholars do not consider the long-term nature of caregiving, but rather focus on a specific developmental period (e.g., old age) or a specific disability (e.g., cancer). Yet the most important lessons about caregiving may occur at any age, regardless of disabilities or other limitations. Caregiving is a lifelong process. It begins in a mother’s womb, continues throughout the lifespan, and ends after death. Caregiving Across the Lifespan emphasizes caregiving as a process that occurs throughout one’s life. It discusses infant care, the developmental needs of children and adolescents, the many caregiving issues in adulthood and mid-life, and finally end-of-life care and bereavement.Key coverage includes:Examining caregiving issues across a developmental perspective.Caregiving from infancy through early childhood through end of life.Mid-life and multigenerational bonds and responsibilities.Caregiver identity in older adults.Family caregiving at the end of life.This must-have volume offers a wealth of insights and ideas for researchers, practitioners, and graduate students across the caregiving fields, including psychology, social work, public health, geriatrics and gerontology, and medicine as well as public and education policy makers.

Cover Art
Caregiving for Alzheimer's Disease and Related Disorders - Steven H. Zarit (Editor); Ronda C. Talley (Editor)
ISBN: 9781461453345
Publication Date: 2012-11-30
Assisting someone with Alzheimer’s disease or another illness that causes dementia is incredibly demanding and stressful for the family. Like many disabling conditions, Alzheimer’s disease leads to difficulty or inability to carry out common activities of daily life, and so family members take over a variety of tasks ranging from managing the person’s finances to helping with intimate activities such as bathing and dressing.

Cover Art
Elder Abuse Prevention - Lisa Nerenberg
ISBN: 0826103278
Publication Date: 2007-12-01
Drawing from over twenty years of experience helping communities improve their response to elder abuse, Lisa Nerenberg describes what agencies, communities, tribes, states, and national organizations are doing to prevent abuse, treat its effects, and ensure justice. She further explores what remains to be done and offers a plan for the future. In doing so, she addresses the broader challenges of fortifying the long-term care, protective service, and legal systems to meet the new and imminent demands of a burgeoning elderly population. In short, the book is about making communities safer places to grow old.

Cover Art
Ethnicity and the Dementias - Gwen Yeo (Editor); Delores Gallagher-Thompson (Editor)
ISBN: 0415954053
Publication Date: 2006-07-12
"In recent years, the literature on the topic of ethnic and racial issues in Alzheimer’s disease and other dementias has increased dramatically. At the same time, the need for cultural competence in all of geriatric care, including dementia care, is increasingly being acknowledged. Researchers and providers are beginning to recognize the impending "ethnogeriatric imperative," as the number of elders from diverse ethnic and cultural backgrounds continues to rise."

Cover Art
From Exclusion to Inclusion in Old Age - Thomas Scharf (Editor); Norah C. Keating (Editor)
ISBN: 1847427731
Publication Date: 2012-09-27
Evidence of widening inequalities for the aging has led to strong concerns about the many ways older adults experience social exclusion. Against the backdrop of a massive older demographic, From Exclusion to Inclusion in Old Age casts a welcome light on the patterns and processes that either include senior citizens in or exclude them from wider society. Taking a broad international perspective, the contributors to this volume examine a host of central topics important to understanding the lives of seniors, from globalization, age discrimination, and human rights to intergenerational relationships, poverty, and migration. Essential reading for anyone interested in aging issues, this book is key to understanding the interplay between institutions, policies, and the people they affect.

Cover Art
Global Ageing in the Twenty-First Century - Susan A. McDaniel; Zachary Zimmer
ISBN: 140943270X
Publication Date: 2013-01-11
"Population ageing - a growth in the proportion of a population that is in older age - is now occurring in every region and nearly every country of the world. Indeed, the growth of older populations is among the important global phenomena of the twenty-first century. It poses both opportunities and challenges for societies and policy makers, but these are far from uniform worldwide...."

Cover Art
Global Aging Issues and Policies - Yushi/(Boni) Li (Editor)
ISBN: 0398088675
Publication Date: 2013-06-28
"Aging society is an urgent global issue that challenges almost all human societies in the world. When nations evolve into aging societies, they must establish and implement policies and approaches to meet the needs of the elderly population, such as elderly services, long-term care, health care policies, institutional facilities, illness and healing processes, financial support, and retirement life and leisure. The fundamental purpose of this book is to help students and readers develop their knowledge on worldwide elderly issues."

Cover Art
Global Aging: Comparative Perspectives on Aging and the Life Course - Suzanne R. Kunkel
ISBN: 0826105475
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Using a comparative, cross-national perspective, Global Aging: Comparative Perspectives on Aging and the Life Course explores the major topics in social gerontology worldwide and the demands that the aging population places on a society. This comprehensive and timely guide includes contributions from international gerontology scholars and illustrates both universal and socioculturally unique aspects of aging across nations. It is organized thematically for ease of use and includes an abundance of photographs and illustrations to highlight key points.

Cover Art
Handbook of Death and Dying - Clifton Bryant (Editor)
ISBN: 0761925147
Publication Date: 2003-10-01

Cover Art
Handbook of Minority Aging - Tamara A. Baker; Keith E. Whitfield
ISBN: 0826109640
Publication Date: 2013-06-01
This text provides up-to-date, multidisciplinary, and comprehensive information about aging among diverse racial and ethnic populations in the United States

Cover Art
Handbook of the Psychology of Aging - K. Warner Schaie (Editor); Sherry L. Willis (Editor)
ISBN: 0123808820
Publication Date: 2010-11-16
[Description] The Handbook of the Psychology of Aging, 6e provides a comprehensive summary and evaluation of recent research on the psychological aspects of aging. The 22 chapters are organized into four divisions: Concepts, Theories, and Methods in the Psychology of Aging; Biological and Social Influences on Aging; Behavioral Processes and Aging; and Complex Behavioral Concepts and Processes in Aging.
The 6th edition of the Handbook is considerably changed from the previous edition. Half of the chapters are on new topics and the remaining half are on returning subjects that are entirely new presentations by different authors of new material. Some of the exciting new topics include Contributions of Cognitive Neuroscience to Understanding Behavior and Aging, Everyday Problem Solving and Decision Making, Autobiographical Memory, and Religion and Health Late in Life.

The Handbook will be of use to researchers and professional practitioners working with the aged. It is also suitable for use as a textbook for graduate and advanced undergraduate courses on the psychology of aging.

Cover Art
Health Promotion and Aging - David Haber
ISBN: 0826199178
Publication Date: 2013-03-01
Substantially revised and updated, the sixth edition of this classic text continues to define healthy aging by illustrating how to prevent disease and make large-scale improvements toward health and wellness. New to this edition is current information regarding the future of Medicare, Social Security, and the Affordable Care Act, information about the Healthy People 2020 initiative supported with examples, up-to-date and comprehensive medical screening recommendations, and an extensive review of new developments in complementary and alternative medicine, geriatric mental health, community health, and public health policy. A new section on technology and aging is also included, as well as an instructor?s manual.
The text synthesizes current research findings with practical applications, and includes detailed and updated descriptions of the author?s own programs that have been recognized by the National Council on the Aging?s Best Practices in Health Promotion and Aging.

Cover Art
Major Issues in Cognitive Aging - Timothy A. Salthouse
ISBN: 0195372158
Publication Date: 2010-01-27
In recent years the field of cognitive aging has flourished and expanded into many different disciplines. It is probably, therefore, inevitable that some of the research has become very narrow, primarily focused on "counting and classifying the wrinkles of aged behavior," rather than addressing more broad, general, and important questions. Timothy Salthouse's main goal in this book is to try to identify some of the major phenomena in the field of cognitive aging, and discuss issues relevant to the investigation and interpretation of them. He does not attempt to provide a comprehensive survey of the research literature on aging and cognition because many excellent reviews are available in edited handbooks. His principal aim is rather to stimulate readers to think about the big questions in cognitive aging research, and how they might best be answered.

Cover Art
Oxford Desk Reference: Geriatric Medicine - Margot Gosney (Editor); Adam Harper (Editor); Simon Conroy (Editor)
ISBN: 0199592349
Publication Date: 2012-09-08
With an ageing population, there is little doubt that the majority of hospital based consultants and their teams will care for older patients and the many complications this presents. This book provides an evidence-based guide for both trainees and consultants in geriatric medicine and those interested in geriatric medicine. Designed in line with the core Royal College curriculum it provides a comprehensive and relevant guide to the issues seen in everyday geriatric medicinepractice across the world. Presented in an easy-to-use double page spread format, highly bulleted and concise, Oxford Desk Reference: Geriatric Medicine is ideal for quick referral for both trainees and consultants. Contributions from the leading figures in geriatric medicine throughout the world make this book indispensable for all those working in the field, and for all those who have to deal with older patients.

Cover Art
Person-Centred Dementia Care: Making Services Better - Dawn Brooker
ISBN: 1843103370
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
"This book gives fresh definition to the important ideas behind and the implementation of person centred care for people with dementia. Dawn Brooker explains the four key elements of person centred care that comprise the VIPS model: Valuing people with dementia and those who care for them (V); treating people as Individuals (I); looking at the world from the Perspective of the person with dementia (P); and a positive Social environment in which the person living with dementia can experience relative well being (S)."

Cover Art
Predictable Surprise, The: The Unraveling of the U.S. Retirement System - Sylvester J. Schieber
ISBN: 0199890951
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
Social Security is in jeopardy, private pension systems have fallen apart, and workers are trying to save on their own for retirement with the stock market in the worst shape since the Great Depression. In The Predictable Surprise, Sylvester J. Schieber shows that forewarnings of the coming retirement crisis have been apparent for decades, but we have never mustered the political will to address the problem. This book explains how we have gotten into the retirement predicament and where we can go from here. Schieber, a renowned authority on this topic, provides a compact, insightful history of Social Security, pension plans, and other retirement options, highlighting both their original justifications and the point when things began to go wrong. He brings his discussion right up to the present morass and concludes with suggestions as to how we can reform our retirement system. Our situation is not hopeless, Schieber concludes, if we take on some of these issues and resolve them. If we do not, we will severely jeopardize the prosperity of younger generations.

Cover Art
Scientific American Healthy Aging Brain, The - Scientific American; Judith Horstman
ISBN: 0470647736
Publication Date: 2012-06-05
[Description] Good news about getting older from Scientific American and Scientific American Mind The Scientific American Healthy Aging Brain taps into the most current research to present a realistic and encouraging view of the well-aged brain, a sobering look at what can go wrong––and at what might help you and your brain stay healthy longer. Neurologists and psychologists have discovered the aging brain is much more elastic and supple than previously thought, and that happiness actually increases with age. While our short-term memory may not be what it was, dementia is not inevitable. Far from disintegrating, the elder brain can continue to develop and adapt in many ways and stay sharp as it ages. Offers new insights on how an aging brain can repair itself, and the five best strategies for keeping your brain healthy.

Cover Art
Supportive Care for the Person with Dementia - Julian Hughes (Editor); Mari Lloyd-Williams (Editor); Greg Sachs
ISBN: 0199554137
Publication Date: 2010-02-01
"Sportive care can be thought of as an extension of palliative care so that the person with dementia receives good quality, holistic care that makes no distinctions between the dichotomies of care and cure from the time of diagnosis until, and beyond, death. It recognizes the need for an inter-disciplinary approach for continuity of care. Supportive care in dementia must, therefore, be broad in its scope and application."

Cover Art
Winning Strategies for Successful Aging - Eric Pfeiffer
ISBN: 9780300185416
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
For anyone who is approaching a 65th birthday with trepidation, this valuable book offers heartening advice on navigating the later years of life. Dr. Eric Pfeiffer, who for thirty years has cared for—and learned from—elderly people, addresses with compassion and deep understanding the multitude of issues that arise for aging individuals and their families. He writes authoritatively but in a conversational tone. His advice is easy to read, easy to follow, and full of wisdom.
In short, practical chapters, Dr. Pfeiffer advises on choosing an ideal place to live, finding a range of satisfying activities, and maintaining an active social life. He also explains how best to maintain one's health, mental health, wealth, and independence. Other chapters explore the importance of a spiritual life and the value of maintaining an active sexual life. In addition, the author speaks to the value of charitable giving and describes how it is possible to prepare for a good good-bye to life. Filled with illustrative anecdotes and enhanced with a lovely selection of poems, this reassuring book demonstrates how it is possible to direct and control the aging experience. For every person approaching retirement years, and for their friends and families, the book is an excellent resource and a practical guide.

 

Print Books

Use TOPCAT to search for print books, journal titles, and audiovisuals at WKU Libraries.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip