Library resources for research in economics
Last Updated: Aug 26, 2013
This guide will help you find the library resources you need to carry out effective research on topics in Economics. The tabs above will take you to advice on finding books, articles, research databases, and open Websites. To the right you will find contact information for WKU's Business Librarian, who will be happy to help you plan research strategies and overcome problems you encounter on the way.
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
Academic Search Premier is a very large general interest databases offering access to thousands of journals and publications.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)
Business Source Premier contains the full text of over 2,200 journals in the fields of marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Also offers market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
- ABI/Inform Global (ProQuest)
ABI/INFORM Global is a highly comprehensive business research database containing in-depth coverage for over 3,380 publications, with more than 2,380 available in full text. ABI/INFORM Global offers the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels.
JSTOR is a nonprofit organization that has traditionally been a reliable source of older issues of leading academic journals and other materials on all topics, including hundreds of business and economics periodicals. Recently, JSTOR has begun to expand its coverage to current issues.
- Google Scholar
Free open Web access to Google's scholarly search engine. It identifies articles and other scholarly resources across many disciplines and, thanks to Google's unique way of searching and sorting documents, it often provides results that don't come up through the other traditional research databases.
- U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
Free, open-web resource: BEA's economic statistics, which provide a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of the U.S. economy, are key ingredients in critical decisions affecting monetary policy, tax and budget projections, and business investment plans.