Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals.
To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.
Core database for research in psychology and related fields.
Access provided by KYVL.
Contains full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology, 1894-present.
A large multi-subject database covering every topic with scholarly journals and popular magazines.
Access provided by KYVL.
Background information gives you a general overview of a topic and is a great way to find keywords and learn basic concepts. You can use Wikipedia, or one of the encyclopedias or handbooks listed below.
Click psychology encyclopedias to see a catalog search of all our discipline based encyclopedias
Click psychology handbooks to see a catalog search for all our discipline based handbooks
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Psychology and Gender by 
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Abnormal and Clinical Psychology by 
APA Handbook of Testing and Assessment in Psychology by 
Handbook of Multicultural Competencies in Counseling and Psychology by Scholarly books are much longer than articles and they provide more depth and context. You can find physical books or e-books using the search box below. Try searching by subject, keyword, author, or title.
