Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals.
To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.
A large multi-subject database covering every topic with scholarly journals and popular magazines.
Access provided by KYVL.
Contains abstracts and some full text articles in the communication field.
Provides full text of periodicals, reference books, primary source documents, and more on virtually every subject area of general interest, back to 1975.
Access provided by KYVL.
Background information gives you a general overview of a topic and is a great way to find keywords and learn basic concepts. You can use Wikipedia or one of the encyclopedias listed below.
21st Century Communication: a Reference Handbook by
Via 100 entries or "mini-chapters," the SAGE 21st Century Reference Series volumes on Communication will highlight the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in the field of communication ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st Century. The purpose is to provide undergraduate majors with an authoritative reference source that will serve their research needs with more detailed information than encyclopedia entries but not as much jargon, detail or density as a journal article or a research handbook chapter.
Communication Research Measures by
The development of communication as a discipline has resulted in an explosion of scales tapping various aspects of interpersonal, mass, organizational, and instructional communication. This sourcebook brings together scales that measure a variety of important communication constructs. The scales presented are drawn from areas of interpersonal, mass, organizational, and instructional communication--areas in which the use of formal, quantitative scales is particularly well developed. Communication Research Measures reflects the recent important emphasis on developing and improving the measurement base of the communication discipline. It results in an equal amount of labor saved on the part of the scholars, students, and practitioners who find this book useful, and it contributes in a significant way to research efforts. Originally published by Guilford Press in 1994, now available from Routledge.
A Dictionary of Media and Communication by
This authoritative and up-to-date A-Z covers all aspects of interpersonal, mass, and networked communication, including digital and mobile media, advertising, journalism, and nonverbal communication. This new edition is particularly focused on expanding coverage of social media terms, toreflect its increasing prominence to media and communication studies as a whole.More than 2,000 entries have been revised, and over 500 new terms have been added to reflect current theoretical terminology, including concepts such as artificial intelligence, cisgender, fake news, hive mind, use theory, and wikiality. The dictionary also bridges the gap between theory andpractice, and contains many technical terms that are relevant to the communication industry, including dialogue editing, news aggregator, and primary colour correction.The text is complemented by biographical notes and extensively cross-referenced, while web links supplement the entries. It is an indispensable guide for undergraduate students of media and communication studies, and also for those taking related subjects such as television studies, videoproduction, communication design, visual communication, marketing communications, semiotics, and cultural studies.
Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies by
The Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies has provided students and the general public alike with a gateway into the study of intercultural communication, public relations and marketing communications since 1984. In this 9th edition, James Watson and Anne Hill provide a detailed compendium of the different facets of personal, group, mass-media and internet communication that continues to be a vital source of information for all those interested in how communication affects our lives. They cover new applications and developments, such as the incorporation of Neuroscience techniques in advertising and marketing. Other updates include Cyber-bullying, Twitter scandals, conduct in media organizations, on-line lobbying, global protesting/petitioning, and gender issues relating to social media in general. While new entries explore the profound shifts that have taken place in the world of communication in recent years, the purpose of this new edition is not necessarily to keep abreast of every new media event but to reflect the trends that influence and prompt such events, such as the Leveson Inquiry and Report and phone hacking via mobile phones. Politics seems to be playing out more on Twitter than in The Times. This volume seeks to make its twenty-first century readers more media literate, as well as more critical consumers of modern news.
The International Encyclopedia of Intercultural Communication, 3 Volume Set by
The International Encyclopedia of Intercultural Communication employs a broadly-based taxonomy of intercultural communication (ICC) that consists of six organizing themes. Those themes are the traditional ICC core theme--known as "intercultural communication"--and five associated themes recognized as "cross-cultural communication," "cultural communication," "intergroup communication," "intercultural training," and "critical intercultural communication." This encyclopedia addresses issues of ethnicity and race in intercultural communication--not as a separate theme, but as an integral part of each thematic area. It also provides entries outside the ICC's discipline of communication, such as cross-cultural psychology, cultural anthropology, and social psychology. This work features 256 articles written by 249 authors representing 19 different countries. The articles address issues, theories, and concepts that have substantively contributed to the development of ICC theory and research (ie: Hall's high- and low-context communication systems; Hofstede's four dimensions); methodological issues of importance to ICC research (ie: emic and etic; sampling equivalence); and summaries of findings from original studies directly pertaining to the ICC domain (ie: cross-cultural psychological studies of cultural differences in variables pertaining to message processing and verbal/nonverbal communication behavior). Overview of the ICC domain as a whole Key research topics in the field with a strong global editorial team Overview essays on the six thematic areas of study Cross-over information from cross-cultural psychology, cultural anthropology, and social psychology Part of The Wiley Blackwell-ICA International Encyclopedias of Communication series, published in conjunction with the International Communication Association. Online version available at Wiley Online Library. The International Encyclopedia of Intercultural Communication is an ideal book for international communication undergraduate and graduate students as well as for academic researchers and professional practitioners of intercultural communication.
Scholarly books are much longer than articles, and they provide more depth and context. You can find physical books or e-books using the search box below. Try searching by subject, keyword, author, or title.
If you would like to browse the library's collection of physical books, check out the following call numbers: P 87-99. There may also be useful information in other areas,
Find print and electronic journals available in WKU Libraries by title or ISSN.
