Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals.
To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.
A large multi-subject database covering every topic with scholarly journals and popular magazines.
Access provided by KYVL.
Abstracts in Anthropology contains several thousand abstracts in subfields that include Cultural Anthropology, Physical Anthropology, Archaeology and Linguistics.
Provides full text of periodicals, reference books, primary source documents, and more on virtually every subject area of general interest, back to 1975.
Access provided by KYVL.
Background information gives you a general overview of a topic and is a great way to find keywords and learn basic concepts. You can use Wikipedia or one of the encyclopedias listed below.
Arc of Interference : Medical Anthropology for Worlds on Edge by 
Living with Nature, Cherishing Language : Indigenous Knowledges in the Americas Through History by 
Mapping the Unmappable? Cartographic Explorations with Indigenous Peoples in Africa by 
Broken Bodies, Places and Objects : New Perspectives on Fragmentation in Archaeology by Scholarly books are much longer than articles and they provide more depth and context. You can find physical books or e-books using the search box below. Try searching by subject, keyword, author, or title.
If you would like to browse the library's collection of physical books, check out the following call numbers (listed below by topic):
| Subject | Call # Range |
|---|---|
| Anthropology |
GN1-890 |
| Human Evolution | GN281-289 |
| Fossil Man. Human Paleontology | GN282-286.7 |
| Medical Anthropology | GN296-296.5 |
| Ethnology. Social and Cultural Anthropology | GN301-674 |
| Applied Anthropology | GN397-397.7 |
| Social Organization | GN48-491.7 |
| Ethnic Groups and Races | GN537-674 |
| By Region or Country | GN550-674 |
| Prehistoric Archaeology | GN700-890 |
