Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals.
To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.
A large multi-subject database covering every topic with scholarly journals and popular magazines.
Access provided by KYVL.
Provides full text of periodicals, reference books, primary source documents, and more on virtually every subject area of general interest, back to 1975.
Access provided by KYVL.
Contains abstracts and some full text articles in the communication field.
Newspapers can be useful for finding film reviews, industry events and news, and interviews with professionals in the field.
Contains the full text of the Los Angeles Times newspaper, 1881-1994.
Background information gives you a general overview of a topic and is a great way to find keywords and learn basic concepts. You can use Wikipedia or one of the reference sources listed below.
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory by 
The Cinematographer's Voice: Insights into the World of Visual Storytelling by 
The GoFaSt Guide to Screenwriting: The Goals, Failures, and Stakes Model of Narrative Storytelling by 
Encyclopedia of Early Cinema by Scholarly books are much longer than articles and they provide more depth and context. You can find physical books or e-books using the search box below. Try searching by subject, keyword, author, or title.
If you would like to browse the library's collection of physical books, check out the following call numbers (listed below by topic):
| Subject | Call # Range |
|---|---|
| Music for Motion Pictures | M176 |
| Motion Pictures | PN1993-1999 |
| Cinematography | TR845-899 |
