Background information gives you a general overview of a topic and is a great way to find keywords and learn basic concepts. You can use one of the encyclopedias or resources listed below.
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family by 
Foundations of Family and Consumer Sciences by Background information gives you a general overview of a topic and is a great way to find keywords and learn basic concepts. You can use one of the encyclopedias or resources listed below.
The SAGE International Encyclopedia of Travel and Tourism by 
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Food Labels by Background information gives you a general overview of a topic and is a great way to find keywords and learn basic concepts. You can use one of the encyclopedias or resources listed below.
The Interior Design Reference and Specification Book Updated and Revised by 
World Clothing and Fashion by Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals.
To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.
A large multi-subject database covering every topic with scholarly journals and popular magazines.
Access provided by KYVL.
Contains the full text of journals in the fields of marketing, management, accounting, finance, law, and economics. Access provided by KYVL.
Provides full text consumer-oriented health content covering a wide variety of topics. Access provided by KYVL.
Provides full text of periodicals, reference books, primary source documents, and more on virtually every subject area of general interest, back to 1975.
Access provided by KYVL.
Scholarly books are much longer than articles and they provide more depth and context. You can find physical books or e-books using the search box below. Try searching by subject, keyword, author, or title.
To browse the library's collection of physical books related to Applied Human Sciences, check out the following call number ranges. Visit the Family & Consumer Science, Hospitality Management & Dietetics, or Interior Design & Fashion Merchandising pages for more detailed call number guidance.
ILL for Books
Can't find the book you're looking for? Visit our Interlibrary Loan page to request a copy at no cost to you. Wait times may vary for physical materials.
Note: Textbooks are not available through ILL.
Not sure how ILL works? Using Interlibrary Loan for Books (Video Tutorial)
