Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals.
To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.
The Educational Resources Information Center contains abstracts of journal articles in the field of education since 1966.
Access provided by KYVL.
Indexes education articles from 1929 to the present with selected full text.
A large multi-subject database covering every topic with scholarly journals and popular magazines.
Access provided by KYVL.
A collection of full text E-books and Audiobooks for grades K-5. Also includes a collection of e-books for educational professionals.
Contains reviews of children’s literature. Part of Literature Criticism Online. Go to Advanced Search and limit by Product: Children's Literature Review Online.
Background information gives you a general overview of a topic and is a great way to find keywords and learn basic concepts. You can use Wikipedia, or this Education Reference Guide series that has several publications about educational topics. Below are links to a few of the items in the series:
Scholarly books are much longer than articles and they provide more depth and context. You can find physical books or e-books using the search box below. Try searching by subject, keyword, author, or title.
If you would like to browse the library's collection of physical books, check out the following call numbers (listed below by topic):
L7-991 (Education--General)
LA5-2396 (History of education)
LA201-398 (United States)
LB5-3640 (Theory and practice of education)
LB1025-1050.75 (Teaching--Principles and practice)
LB1139.2-1139.5 (Early childhood education)
LB1140-1140.5 (Preschool education. Nursery schools)
LB1141-1489 (Kindergarten)
LB1501-1547 (Primary education)
LB1555-1602 (Elementary or public school education)
LB1603-1696.6 (Secondary education. High schools)
LC8-6691 (Special aspects of education)
LC3950-4806.5 (Exceptional children and youth. Special education)
LC3991-4000 (Gifted children and youth)
LC4001-4806.5 (Children and youth with disabilities. Learning disabled children and youth)
LT6-501 (Textbooks)
