Skip to main content
Western Kentucky University Libraries
Research Guides
Ogden College of Science and Engineering
Earth, Environmental and Atmospheric Sciences
Websites
Search this Guide
Search
Earth, Environmental and Atmospheric Sciences
Earth, Environmental and Atmospheric Sciences
Welcome
Databases
Books
Websites
Professional Organizations
American Association for the Advancement of Science
American Association of Petroleum Geologists
American Geographical Society
American Geological Institute
American Geophysical Union
American Institute of Professional Geologists
American Meteorological Society
American Planning Association
ASPRS: The Imaging & Geospatial Information Society
Association for Geographic Information
Association of American Geographers
Geological Society of America
Kentucky Coal Association (KCA)
Kentucky Institute for International Studies
National Association of Geoscience Teachers
National Council for Geographic Education
National Speleological Society
National Weather Association
The Seismological Society of America (SSA)
Sigma Xi (The Scientific Research Society)
Society for Sedimentary Geology
General & Miscellaneous Geography or Environment
The American Geographical Society Collection
Data.gov [U.S. maps and data]
Eldis: The Gateway to Development Information [development studies]
Geneva Environment Network (U.N.)
GEO Data Portal (USGS)
GIS Dictionary
National Center for Geographic Information & Analysis
Promote Sustainable Development (United Nations)
U. S. Energy Resources Program (formerly: Coal Resources)
United Nations Environment Programme
United States Environmental Protection Agency
World Resources Institute
Geosciences Subjects (Paleontology, Geomorphology, Karst, Earthquakes, Volcanism, etc.)
British Society for Geomorphology
The Center for Earthquake Research and Information
Earthquake Hazards Program (USGS)
Global Volcanism Program (Smithsonian Institution)
Glossary of Karst Related Terms
Marine Geology and Geophysics Educational Resources
Museum of Paleontology, University of California, Berkeley
Natural Hazards (USGS)
The New Madrid Compendium [information and references for the 1811-1812 earthquakes]
New Madrid Earthquake Bicentennial
Caves and Karst (NPS)
Science Topics (USGS)
The Structural Geology Page
USGS Earthquake Hazards Program
An Introduction to Plate Tectonics
My NASA Data [access NASA earth system data]
Volcano World (Oregon State Univ.) [resources]
Geosciences: General (Information Gateways, Teaching Resources, Careers, etc.)
Geology.com [news, jobs, features]
Kentucky Geological Survey
Pangaea [geology-related data sets & software]
Teach the Earth [teaching activities & resources for geoscience educators]
United States Geological Survey
Virtual-Geology.Info [educational materials]
West's Geology Resources
U.S. Geological Survey Photographic Library
Meteorology, Climatology, Hydroclimatology, Hydrology
ARS Water Database [runoff data from the USDA]
Atmospheric Variables Plotting Page (NOAA-CIRES)
Climate.org (Climate Institute) [issues & news]
Climate Change (Natural Resources Canada)
Climographs for Selected U. S. Cities
Dartmouth Flood Observatory
Data Snapshots: Reusable Climate Maps
The Discovery of Global Warming
Extreme Events (NOAA)
Flood Hazard Mapping (National Flood Insurance Program)
Global Precipitation Climatology Project (GPCP)
International Research Institute for Climate Prediction
Karst Waters Institute
Kentucky Climate Center
Locating Climate and Weather Data & Information
MetEd: Meteorology Education and Training [meteorology education]
National Centers for Environmental Information
formerly: National Climatic Data Center (NCDC)
National Hurricane Center
National Oceanographic Data Center
The National Water and Climate Center
National Weather Service
RealClimate [climate science data sources]
Resources for Teaching Meteorology
Tornado Project Online
Water Resources of the United States
World Meteorological Organization
Weatherspark: Typical Weather Anywhere in the World
Mineralogy
American Mineralogist Crystal Structure Database
Athena: Mineralogy
mindat.org [minerals: data & images]
Mineral Gallery
The Mineralogy Database [information & images]
Minerals Yearbook (USGS)
Maps & Cartography
American Revolutionary War Era Maps
ArcGIS Online [creating maps and sharing data]
Atlas of the Historical Geography of the United States
Color Landform Atlas of the United States
Cornell's Building the Digital Earth [mapping]
David Rumsey Collection [historical maps online]
Digital Map Store: Topographic Maps [free, printable, topo maps]
GPS Visualizer for Google Earth Overlays
Kentucky Map
The Kentucky Maps Collection (Univ. of Louisville) [historical maps]
Library of Congress Map Collections
Map History/History of Cartography: The Gateway to the Subject
Map Locator & Downloader (USGS)
Maps, Imagery, and Publications (USGS)
Old Maps Online
Health Sciences Librarian
Carol Watwood
Schedule Appointment
Contact:
carol.watwood@wku.edu
110 Cravens Library
(270)745-3912
Website
Subjects:
Allied Health
,
Applied Human Sciences
,
Biology
,
Communication Sciences and Disorders
,
Dentistry and Dental Hygiene
,
Earth, Environmental, & Atmospheric Sciences
,
Health and Wellness
,
Nursing
,
Physical Therapy
,
Public Health and Medicine
,
Social Work
<<
Previous:
Books
