Skip to main content

Religious Studies

Resources available for the study of religion

Finding Journal Articles in Religion | WKU Special Resources | Advanced Research in Religion | Print Indexes and Abstracts | Religious News

Religious News

  • Religion Dispatches
    “A daily online magazine dedicated to the analysis and understanding of religious forces in the world today, highlighting a diversity of progressive voices and aimed at broadening and advancing the public conversation.”
  • Religion News Blog
    Daily postings from “the only secular news and photo service devoted to unbiased coverage of religion and ethics exclusively.” Other parts of the site are available via a paid subscription.
  • Religion News on the Web
    The Pew Research Center’s Forum on Religion & Public Life “seeks to promote a deeper understanding of issues at the intersection of religion and public affairs . . . The Pew Forum conducts surveys, demographic analyses and other social science research on important aspects of religion and public life in the U.S. and around the world. It also provides a neutral venue for discussions of timely issues through roundtables and briefings.”
  • The Revealer
    “A daily review of religion in the news and the news about religion. We’re not so much nonpartisan as polypartisan-- interested in all sides, disdainful of dualistic arguments, and enamored of free speech as a first principle. We publish and link to work by people of all persuasions, religious, political, sexual, and critical.”
  • Beliefnet
    A popular-level site that covers all religions as well as news and aspects of life connected with religion. Subjects include the really nutball (world is going to end, etc.)
  • ReligionWriters.com Religion Stylebook
    An authoritative guide created for journalists who report on religion in the mainstream media.

Finding Journal Articles in Religion

The following online databases and print indexing services are recommended for basic research in religious studies.

Advanced Research in Religion

The following services are recommended for use by advanced students and researchers:

Religion Journals

Print Indexes and Abstracts

The following printed journal indexing services are located in the  Reference Room on the first floor of Helm Library:

Jack Montgomery's picture
Jack Montgomery
Contact:
Address: 304 Cravens Library, 1906 College Heights Blvd. #11067, Bowling Green, KY 42101

270-745-6156
Website