The Research and Creative Activity Database of WKU
Bibles and Sacred Documents
Listen to the King James Bible, as read by Stephen Johnston.
Free service for reading and researching Scripture online -- all in the language or translation of your choice. Provides advanced tools that can be used to search the Bible by keywords or verse, as well as other tools to enhance the study of the Bible.
Bible Study Tools
Includes a selection of bible translations, commentaries, dictionaries, parallel & interlinear bibles.
Manuscript contains the Christian Bible in Greek, including the oldest complete copy of the New Testament.
Greek NT (from SBL)
Edited by Michael Holmes (2010). Based on four previous editions of the Greek New Testament: Westcott and Hort, Tregelles, Robinson-Pierpont, and the Greek text that is the basis for the New International Version translation.
The Gottingen copy of the Gutenberg Bible, the Model Book and the Helmasperger Notarial Instrument are accompanied by explanatory texts about Gutenberg and his life, the early period of letterpress printing and its impact.
This website contains the Hebrew Bible, the King James Bible, and the Apocrypha, as well as Greek and Latin translations.
This online Bible includes research tools and maps.
A search engine that aggregates and displays information from major papyri collections worldwide.
A collection of searchable Bibles with: various English versions; Greek; Hebrew; ancient translations; dozens of other language versions.
World Wide Study Bible
Study Bible developed and located around the world. Hosted by the Christian Classics Ethereal Library.
Ancient Maps of Jerusalem
This site is a joint project of the Jewish National and University Library and the Department of Geography, the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. The site contains maps of Jerusalem, and basic information concerning the map-makers and the history of cartography in Jerusalem. In the very near future we will index many of the maps and upload aerial photographs and modern maps and paintings of the city.
Holy Land Maps
This beautiful collection of ancient maps of the Holy Land is part of a much larger collection that includes ancient maps of the world, early printed atlases and travel books. The entire extraordinary collection was donated by its renowned owner, Eran Laor in 1975 to the Jewish National and University Library in Jerusalem.
Journals on Biblical Studies
Bible Commentary & Exegesis
Full texts of commentaries written by John Calvin prepared for the OnLine Bible project and the Christian Classics Ethereal Library.
This site from the American Bible Society features articles about biblical figures and study guides for various books of the Bible.
Biblical Studies on the Web
This site includes the electronic versions of the biblical journals Biblica and Fililogía Neotestamentaria, as well as an index of biblical commentaries on the web.
Blue Letter Bible (BLB)
Mission is to facilitate in-depth study of God's Word through an on-line interactive reference library continuously updated from the teachings and commentaries of selected pastors and teachers who hold to the conservative, historical Christian faith. Site includes 14 standard versions of the Bible, a dictionary, commentaries, devotionals, study tools, Hebrew/Greek access, single- and multiple-verse retrieval, images and maps of the Old and New Testaments and more.
A bible tool available for free download. It is a leaner version of a Bibleworks or Accordance and features many free texts and reference sources for close study of the Bible. Resources not in the public domain do have to be purchased.
Free Bible Commentaries by Dr. Bob Utley
These verse-by-verse, exegetical video, audio and printed commentaries are committed to the trustworthiness and authority of Scripture, emphasizing the intent of the original inspired authors by means of their: 1. Historical Setting, 2. Literary Context, 3. Grammatical Features, 4. Choice of Words, 5. Genre, 6. Parallel Passages.