Books on subjects associated with the field of folk studies are shelved according to Library of Congress Subject Divisions under the call number ranges listed below:
GR1-950 Folklore
GR72-79 Folk literature (General) Including folktales, legends
GR81 Folk beliefs, superstitions, etc. (General)
GR99.6-390 By region or country
GR420-950 By subject
GR420-426 Costume, jewelry
GR430-488 Folklore relating to private life Including dreams, love, children, nursery rhymes, etc.
GR500-615 Supernatural beings, demonology, fairies, ghosts, charms, etc.
GR620-640 Cosmic phenomena, weather lore
GR650-690 Geographical topics GR700-860 Animals, plants, and minerals
GR865-874 Transportation, travel, commerce, etc.
GR880 Medicine. Folk medicine
GR890-915 Occupations
GR931-935 Signs and symbols
GR940-941 Mythical places
Use the One-Search Library catalog to search for specific items in the collection, or more narrowly-defined subjects.
The Special Collections Library in the Kentucky Building also has extensive Kentucky folklore material.
The Oxford Companion to Fairy Tales by 
Supernatural Fiction Writers by 
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Folklore and Folklife by 
Storytelling: an encyclopedia of mythology and folklore by 
The Greenwood Library of American Folktales by 
Encyclopedia of Urban Legends by 
Medieval Folklore: an encyclopedia of myths, legends, tales, beliefs, and customs by 
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
The Folk Music Revival, 1958-1970 by 
The Encyclopedia of World Folk Dance by 