v. 1. Aaron-Brown, Ruth -- v. 2. Brown, S.-Diggs -- v. 3. Dihigo-Gwynn -- v. 4 Hacker-Jones, Sarah -- v. 5. Jones, Scipio-Moore, Kevin -- v. 6. Moore, Lenny-Romain -- v. 7. Roman-Tzomes -- v. 8. Uggams-Zuber.
Includes bibliographical references and index.
The African heritage: a short history of a continent -- Slavery in early America -- The divided nation -- Up from slavery: African Americans in the late 19th century -- The "new Negro": African Americans from the early to mid-20th century -- The civil rights years -- Backlash and retrenchment -- Black America today.
Includes bibliographical references (p. -245) and index.
From Library Journal, November 1, 2015 issue: "Comprehensive and scholarly in scope, this tome is a model for future single-volume reference works about African Americans. Approximately 150 contributors chronicle individuals, events, places, organizations, movements, and institutions that have shaped the state's history from its earliest frontier days to the present. Criteria for inclusion are that individuals must have been born in the state or have lived their formative years there and have made significant contributions to the state, the nation, or the world. Also included are those who were born elsewhere, moved to Kentucky, established a career, and then moved out of the region and gained a notable reputation. Each of the 1,000 entries is cross-referenced and includes a limited number of source materials for further research and reading. A few topical essays placed in the context of Kentucky history make the book even stronger. A lengthy bibliography that includes Internet sites and an excellent index conclude the encyclopedia. VERDICT This work will be the standard on the subject and deserves consideration not only in Kentucky libraries but also in any setting where there is interest about African American history.-Rob Tench, Old Dominion Univ. Lib., Norfolk."
From Choice, November 1, 2006 issue: "Over 700 entries and 300 images cover events from the arrival of the first slaves in Jamestown, VA, in 1619 to the death of abolitionist Frederick Douglass in 1895. The first three volumes of this two-part encyclopedia series focus on activities, issues, and biographies that relate to blacks in the US. Editor and historian Finkleman (Univ. of Tulsa) states in his introduction, "While these volumes are about 'black history,' in the end they tell the story of 'American' history." Many white activists, slaveholders, and opponents of black liberty are included. The clear 500- to 1,200-word entries are arranged alphabetically with cross-references and a selective bibliography at the end of each article.Volume 3 contains "Directory of Contributors," "Thematic Outline of Entries," "Chronology of African American History to 1895," and a comprehensive 76-page index. Africana, ed. by K. A. Appiah and H. L. Gates Jr. (2nd ed., CH, Nov'05, 43-1309) and Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History (2nd ed., Oct'06, 44-0699) cover broader topics and geographical areas. The new Oxford volumes concentrate on blacks in US history and provide more detailed coverage of topics that are marginally covered in these other titles. All three titles are important. The continuation of this Oxford series, a four-volume set titled Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to 2005: From the Age of Segregation to the Twenty-first Century was in press at the time this review was written. ^BSumming Up: Highly recommended. All libraries. S. D. Campbell University of Arkansas at Monticello"
From Choice, September 1, 2009 issue: "This five-volume set completes the eight volumes of Oxford's Encyclopedia of African American History. The first three volumes, covering 1619-1895 (CH, Nov'06, 44-1295), end with the death of abolitionist Frederick Douglass. This set, with coverage starting in 1896, truly provides a comprehensive examination from the "Age of Segregation" through the 2008 presidential election. With over 1,250 signed entries and 450 illustrations, the set conveys the story of African American history with a focus on topics such as politics, literature, law, art, and cultural figures. Editor and historian Finkelman (Albany Law School) states in his introduction, "There are approximately as many biographies as there are topical entries, and the Encyclopedia includes entries from each of the 50 states and on each of the US presidential administrations in the period." Entries are arranged alphabetically with cross-references and a selective bibliography at the end of each article. For example, in the entry for "Arkansas" (Volume 1 A-C), an introductory paragraph precedes sections titled "Disfranchisement and Segregation" and "The Civil Rights Movement and After," along with reference to the Little Rock Central High School Crisis. This volume also features a listing of entries for all volumes, roster, thematic outline, chronology, and comprehensive index. Summing Up: Highly recommended. Lower-level undergraduates and above; general readers. S. D. Campbell University of Arkansas at Monticello"
From Choice: "Undergraduates and graduate students may use this set as a starting point for researching the cultural, social, political, economic, and intellectual history of African Americans, especially for the later 19th and 20th centuries. It includes brief biographical sketches of 1,188 men and 382 women representing education, medicine, politics, religion, sports, the social sciences, and especially the creative arts. It also offers 500 short- to medium-length topical entries covering historical events; organizations; social, political, and cultural movements; business enterprises; the professions; and other subjects relating to the African American experience. The 50 states, major American cities, Mexico, and Canada each have separate entries. Most useful are about 40 broad thematic essays, eight to 24 pages in length with extensive bibliographies, that survey African American contributions to business, drama, education, music, painting, religion, sports, television, and other areas of US life."
"With the Civil Rights movement and the passage of the Voting Rights Act in 1965, African-American political participation has increased substantially. Now students, researchers, journalists, and policymakers can turn to Encyclopedia of African-American Politics for a wealth of objective, accessible information concerning the events, people, organizations, and policies that have figured in the political history of African Americans. This A-to-Z volume examines the role of African Americans in the political process from the early days of the American Revolution to the present. Focusing on basic political ideas, court cases, laws, concepts, ideologies, institutions, and political processes, this book covers all facets of African-American participation in American government." (Annotation from Books in Print)
Chronology of events -- Prologue: Panic in Westmoreland County -- State of siege -- The Stono Revolt -- The 1741 New York conspiracy -- The Prosser conspiracy -- The German Coast Revolt -- Negro Fort resistance -- The Vesey conspiracy -- Nat Turner's Revolt -- The Cheneyville conspiracy -- The Creole Revolt -- The Second Creek conspiracy -- Biographies -- Thomas Bennett -- William Bull -- William Claiborne -- Sir Francis Cockburn -- William Lloyd Garrison -- Thomas Ruffin Gray -- James Hamilton -- Daniel Horsmanden -- James Monroe -- Solomon Northup -- Primary documents -- Stono Revolt -- The New York conspiracy -- The Prossor conspiracy -- The German Coast Revolt -- Negro Fort resistance -- The Vesey conspiracy -- Nat Turner's Revolt -- The Cheneyville conspiracy -- The Creole Revolt -- The second Creek conspiracy -- Analytical essays -- Perspectives: The Stono Rebellion -- Counterfactual essay: Gabriel Prosser's revolt -- Turning point: Nat Turner's Revolt -- Primary document essay: The condemnation of Denmark Vesey.
Includes bibliographical references(pages 249-253) and index.
"The Black Abolitionist Papers includes primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States (1830-1865)."
v. 1. The British Isles, 1830-1865 -- v. 2. Canada, 1830-1865 --v. 3. The United States, 1830-1846 -- v. 4. The United States, 1847-1858. -- v.5. The United States, 1859-1865.
Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
"Frederick Douglass (born Frederick Augustus Washington Bailey, c. February 1818 – February 20, 1895) was an African-American social reformer, abolitionist, orator, writer, and statesman. After escaping from slavery in Maryland, he became a national leader of the abolitionist movement from Massachusetts and New York, gaining note for his dazzling oratory and incisive antislavery writings."
The first volume of a six volume set of the letters of abolitionist William Lloyd Garrison. CONTENTS.--v. 1. I will be heard, 1822-1835--v. 2. A house dividing against itself, 1836-1840.--v. 3. No union with slave holders, 1841-1849.--v. 4. From disunionism to the brink of war, 1850-1860.--v.5. Let the oppressed go free, 1861-1867.--v. 6. To rouse the slumbering land, 1868-1879. Description from Books in Print: "William Lloyd Garrison (1805-1879), outstanding among the dedicated fighters for the abolition of slavery, was also an activist in other movements such as women's and civil rights and religious reform. Never tiring in battle, he was 'irrepressible, uncompromising, and inflammatory.' He antagonized many, including some of his fellow reformers. There were also many who loved and respected him. But he was never overlooked."
From Library Journal, February 15, 2002 issue: "Published in 1861, this was one of the first personal narratives by a slave and one of the few written by a woman. Jacobs (1813-97) was a slave in North Carolina and suffered terribly, along with her family, at the hands of a ruthless owner. She made several failed attempts to escape before successfully making her way North, though it took years of hiding and slow progress. Eventually, she was reunited with her children. For all biography and history collections."
Jacobs went on to become an abolitionist and feminist speaker.
Another collection of the writings of African American abolitionist Frederick Douglass, edited by noted American labor historian Philip Sheldon Foner.
CONTENTS.--v.1. Early years, 1817-1849.--v.2. Civil War decade, 1850-1860. --v.3. The Civil War, 1861-1865.--v.5. Supplementary volume, 1844-1860.
"This volume presents the 49 speeches and sermons given by Lucretia Mott, a fore-runner of the modern women's rights movement, abolitionist, influential social reformer, and peace activist." (Books in Print)
In this prize-winning book Thomas Holt is concerned not only with the identities of the black politicians who gained power in South Carolina during Reconstruction, but also with the question of how they functioned within the political system. Thus, as one reviewer has commented, "he penetrates the superficial preoccupations over whether black politicians were venal or gullible to see whether they wielded power and influence and, if they did, how and to what ends and against what obstacles." "Well crafted and well written, it not only broadens our knowledge of the period, but also deepens it, something that recent books on Reconstruction have too often failed to do." -- Michael Perman, American Historical Review. . . . a valuable study of post-Civil War black leaders in a state where Negro control came closest to realization during Reconstruction. . . . Effectively merging the techniques of quantitative analysis with those of narrative history, Holt shatters a number of myths and misconceptions. . . . It should be on the reading list of all students of Reconstruction and nineteenth-century black history." -- William C. Harris, Journal of Southern History "Holt presents his work modestly as a state study of reconstruction politics. But this should not obscure a significant intellectual achievement and a contribution of fundamental importance, demonstrating the value of social-class analysis in understanding the politics of the black community." -- Jonathan M. Wiener, Journal of American History.
The Department of Library Special Collectionsacquires and preserves materials primarily related to Kentucky and Kentuckians, with the objective of making them available to researchers interested in the state, its people and their relationship to the world. Visit us to learn about the Civil War, World War II, Kentucky authors, Mammoth Cave, Western Kentucky University, genealogy, folklore, Kentucky Shakers, politics and more. It consists of the Kentucky Library Research Collections, Manuscripts & Folklife Archives, and WKU Archives.
· Church minutes (including white and “colored” members). Examples are: Sandy Creek in Butler County, 1805-1903 (MSS 313); another Butler County church, 1830-1867 (SC 612); a Logan County church, 1844-1877 (SC 688); Mt. Pleasant, Barren County, 1804-1992 (SC 1175); Mt. Tabor, Barren County, 1798-1870 (SC 2162); Beaver Dam, Edmonson County, 1815-1847 (SC 620)
· John Hardin’s speech “African American Education in Kentucky,” 1996 (SC 972)
· Ephemera (usually stereotyping Blacks, but occasionally a rare gem like…) the concert program at Western of the First African American to record “Nobody Knows the Trouble I’ve Seen” (Ephemera G-039)
· Student’s attempt to receive credit for course taken at African American school, 1922 (SC 1658)
· Oral histories with African Americans: 29 interviews from 14 counties on their educational opportunities (FA 166); 22 interviews from Taylor County, 2006 (FA 202); 50 cassette tapes by Maxine Ray, interviewing Warren Countians, 1997-2000 (FA 509); Glasgow, 2004 (FA 457); Trigg County, 1995 (FA 196); one Warren county female, 1990 (FA 76); gospel musician, 1988 (FA 376)
· World War II African American war service news clippings (MSS 326)
· General Education Board, Early South Program (on microfilm; MICRO D117, N36-44)
· Vertical file of news clippings: KL VF General entitled “African Americans”
· Scrapbook of an artist Mazie Lee (Allen) Thomas, Adairville, Logan County compiled by niece (MSS 199)
· 1926 Warren County School Survey School Conditions summary (including African American schools) – Broadside)-3233
· Warren County African American burials (SC 2836)
· Photographs of lynchings in Scottsville, July 18, 1894 (2010.69.1) and in Russellville, 1908 (1997.175.1) ; Students might also be interested in NPR’s story on the last public lynching in America which occurred in Owensboro, KY in 1912.
· Photographs with African American employees, workers, slaves, etc.
· Advertisement in Scrapbook: child eating watermelon (SBK 147)
· Sheet music [again heavily stereotyped including “coon songs”] including SM01132, SM00625, SM03306, SM03177, SM03329
· Letter expressing “unrest among African Americans”, 1874 (SC 136)
· Campaign card & buttons (Ephemera B & Kentucky Museum)
Books in Special Collections are found via the one search box on the library home page.
Female influence is powerful: respectability, responsibility, and setting the terms of the woman question debate -- Right is of no sex: reframing the debate through the rights of women -- Not a woman's rights convention: remaking public culture in the era of Dred Scott v. Sanford -- Something very novel and strange: civil war, emancipation, and the remaking of African American public culture -- Make us a power: churchwomen's politics and the campaign for women's rights -- Too much useless male timber: the nadir, the woman's era, and the question of women's ordination.
Includes bibliographical references (p. 271-300) and index.
From Library Journal March 15, 1992 issue: "In a detailed morphology of free black women's experiences in antebellum reform, historian Yee shifts the genesis of radical antislavery from the Garrisonians to blacks and finds free black women present at the creation. Women abolitionists joined together in community building, political organizing, and building private and professional female networks. In doing so, they discovered that to gain a public audience they needed simultaneously to act like ``true women'' in working for moral reforms such as temperance and education while also stepping out of conventional ``middle-class'' female roles to speak and write against slavery. Such activism led toward women's rights, yet blacks abjured association with white reformers unsupportive of racial uplift. Racism among reformers propelled black women reformers toward separate action and identity. Yee's complex argument demands serious attention from those trying to unravel the contradicions in the reform tradition. Recommended for university libraries.-- Randall M. Miller, St. Joseph's Univ., Philadelphia"
"Black Women in Nineteenth-Century American Life presents selections from the writings of two dozen representative black women leaders of the past century, with a general introduction relating them to their forebears in colonial times and to their descendants in the twentieth century. Each selection is introduced with a biographical headnote, and the book contains a bibliography of works by or about these women and other black women. The selections are grouped in four parts, emphasizing respectively family relationships, religious activities, political and reformist movements, and education.The women represented in this book comprise a cross section of historically significant black women in the nineteenth century. Ten were born free, eight were freed before the Civil War, and six were freed by the Emancipation Proclamation; eight were born in the North and sixteen in the South. Their names are Annie Louise Burton, Anna Julia Cooper, Fanny Jackson Coppin, Cornelia, Ellen Craft, Silvia Dubois, Elleanor Eldridge, Elizabeth, Charlotte Forten Grimke, Frances Ellen Watkins Harper, Elizabeth Keckley, Lucy Craft Laney, Jarena Lee, Louisa Picquet, Ann Plato, Nancy Prince, Sarah Parker Remond, Amanda Berry Smith, Maria Stewart, Susie King Taylor, Sojourner Truth, Harriet Tubman, Ida Wells-Barnett, and Fannie Barrier Williams.'"
From Choice July 1, 1988 issue: "This brief volume offers the essays and speeches of Maria W. Stewart and, thanks to Richardson's fine editorial hand, insight into that remarkable if ill-remembered black woman and her milieu. Orphaned at five, widowed at 24 after three years of marriage, Stewart (1803-1879) enjoyed a brief public career during the first half of the 1830s. In Boston, she delivered four public addresses (which appeared in The Liberator), and published a political pamphlet and a collection of religious meditations. After moving to New York City, she compiled her collected works (which were published as Productions of Mrs. Maria W. Stewart, 1835) and remained active in antislavery, women's, and black organizations. Stewart earned her way as a teacher in Williamsburg (later Brooklyn), Baltimore, and Washington, DC., where she became Matron of the Freedmen's Hospital. As her life neared its end, Stewart received a pension as the widow of a veteran of the War of 1812, and published Meditations from the Pen of Mrs. Maria W. Stewart (1832), containing her earlier works and later material. Stewart's works command attention, as do Richardson's preface, introductions, appendixes, and notes. Illustrations; map. Recommended for libraries at all levels.-S.T. McSeveney, Vanderbilt University"
A compilation by Dr. Majors originally published in 1893 of the lives and works of African American women of the 19th century. Includes well-known women such as Sojourner Truth or Phillis Wheatley but also includes the biographies of over a hundred others.
"Salem traces the history of black women's engagement in organized reform movements (both local and national, wit hin segregated and integrated associations) from the first halting beginnings led by the black elite to the cooperation with white authorities and white reformers, and concludes with a documentation and analysis of the changes that evolved during the war and immediate post-war period."
Reprint. Originally published: 2nd ed. Philadelphia : G.S. Ferguson Co., 1908, c1894. Includes bibliographical references (p. xlii).
"Part intellectual history, part advice book, and part polemic, this collection of original essays and poetry is a defence and celebration of the achievements - moral, material, intellectual, and artistic - of black women in Victorian America. Writing as a Christian, a mother, and a wife, Mrs Mosell held exemplary models of black womanhood before the public eye. A source of instruction and inspiration in its own time, it remains today a valuable document of blackAmerican cultural and intellectual history"
Family, memory, history -- Lower Manhattan, 1795-1865. Collect Street : circa 1819 ; The Mulberry Street School : circa 1828 ; The young graduates : circa 1834 ; Community building : circa 1840 ; A Black aristocracy : circa 1847 ; Whimsy and resistance : circa 1853 ; The Draft Riots : July 1863 ; Union and disunion : circa 1864 -- Brooklyn, 1865-1895. Peter Guignon's private wars : circa 1862 ; Philip White in Brooklyn : circa 1875 ; New women, new men at century's end -- Commemorations.
Narrates the story of the elite African American families who lived in New York City in the nineteenth century, describing their successes as businesspeople and professionals and the contributions they made to the culture of that time period.
Includes bibliographical references (p. 415-429) and index.
The Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography is a major biographical reference work covering the lives and legacies of more than 2,000 notable Afro-descendants from the Caribbean and Latin American, men and women from all eras and walks of life.
From Choice, July 1, 1993: The author of this scholarly, valuable book has plowed new ground. No other source describes the black press of the pre-Civil War era in such depth, and with such thoroughness and candor. These black journalists aimed their messages at the black middle class, a group small in number but significant in that it supplied the role models for brethren still enslaved. Despite the harshest of social conditions, these writers and editors published uplifting, idealistic news and features. They were given little or no assistance by the mainstream press of the era. The journals were short-lived for the most part. Their readers were rarely people of wealth; indeed, most were nearly destitute. Circulation figures are few and vague, but the author makes the plausible point that the pass-along rate was high. The book also contains the only thorough list of these journals, the years of their births and deaths. Writing is lucid if not sprightly; documentation is excellent; the bibliography is useful and thorough; but the several illustrations are of little value. Hutton (Lehigh Univ.) is a teacher of journalism and African American studies. R. Halverson; Arizona State University
The theater of history -- Scattered lives, scattered documents : writing liberation history -- Multiple lives and lost narratives : (auto)biography as history -- The assembly of history : orations and conventions -- Our warfare lies in the field of thought : the African American -- Press and the work of history -- Epilogue : William Wells Brown and the performance of history.
Includes bibliographical references (p. -412) and index.
A mount calvary of joy: Ottilie Assings' childhood an youth -- If only I were a bird: vagrant years -- Pilgrim-fool: American beginnings -- Irresistible attractiveness and distinction: appropriating Frederick Douglass -- The I and the other: Ottilie Assing and the Douglasses -- Of Emerald Islands and Magic Gardens: the Antebellum years -- The iron arm of the black man: the Civil War years -- A delightful time, admirably spent: the Reconstruction years -- La donna è mobile? Years of suspense -- Hagar's shadow: separation and suicide -- Concluding remarks: aequanimitas -- Notes -- Bibliography --Illustration credits -- Index.
Includes bibliographical references (p. -463) and index.
Bell's 1953 disseration at Northwestern University, based on African American newspapers and pamphlets published through the movement. It is a study of the Colored Convention Movement as a whole, emphasizing on its work in 'education, temperance, moral reform, frugality, and self-help' as well as 'emigration and Black Nationalism' from the beginning of the movement in 1830 to the eve of the Civil War.
African American advice literature and Black middle-class self-fashioning -- Slave narratives and the Black self-made man -- Antislavery discourse and the African American family -- Domestic literature and the antislavery household -- Transnationalism, revolution, and the Anglo-African magazine on the eve of the Civil War.
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Born into slavery in Kentucky, raised on the Western frontier on the farm adjacent to Daniel Boone’s, “rented” out in adolescence to a succession of steamboat captains on the Mississippi and Missouri rivers, the young man known as “Sandy” reinvented himself as “William Wells” Brown after escaping to freedom. He lifted himself out of illiteracy and soon became an innovative, widely admired, and hugely popular speaker on antislavery circuits (both American and British) and went on to write the earliest African American works in a plethora of genres: travelogue, novel (the now canonized Clotel), printed play, and history. He also practiced medicine, ran for office, and campaigned for black uplift, temperance, and civil rights.
"In March of 1827 the nation's first black newspaper appeared in New York City--to counter attacks on blacks by the city's other papers. From this signal event, The African American Newspaper traces the evolution of the black newspaper--and its ultimate decline--for more than 160 years until the end of the twentieth century. The book chronicles the growth of the black press into a powerful and effective national voice for African Americans during the period from 1910 to 1950--a period that proved critical to the formation and gathering strength of the civil rights movement that emerged so forcefully in the following decades. In particular, author Patrick S. Washburn explores how the Pittsburgh Courier and the Chicago Defender led the way as the two most influential black newspapers in U.S. history, effectively setting the stage for the civil rights movement's successes. Washburn also examines the numerous reasons for the enormous decline of black newspapers in influence and circulation in the decades immediately following World War II. His book documents as never before how the press's singular accomplishments provide a unique record of all areas of black history and a significant and shaping affect on the black experience in America."
Examines black newspapers in general and four in particular - the ""Chicago Defender"", the ""Pittsburgh Courier"", the ""Black Dispatch"", and the ""Jackson Advocate"" - and their coverage of national events. The beginnings of the black press are detailed, focusing on how they reported the anti-slavery movement, the Civil War, and the Reconstruction era.
A sample of the Works Progress Administration's interviews of former slaves from 1936-1938. For the entire collection, see George P. Rawick, ed. The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1972-9.
The Amistad Research Center is committed to collecting, preserving, and providing open access to original materials that reference the social and cultural importance of America's ethnic and racial history, the African Diaspora, human relations, and civil rights.
From Yale University, a collection of digitized images and historic books. Users can perform advanced searches by genre (ex. Cabinet photographs) and many historic books are digitized or can be found via Google Books.
The Black Abolitionist Digital Archive is a collection of over 800 speeches by antebellum blacks and 1,000 editorials from the period that paint a portrait of black involvement in the anti-slavery movement.
The Black Metropolis Research Consortium (BMRC) is a Chicago-based membership association of libraries, universities, and other archival institutions.The BMRC’s mission is to connect all who seek to document, share, understand and preserve Black experiences.
An online reference center and repository of materials on African American history, this site includes an online encyclopedia of nearly 3,000 entries, transcripts of over 300 speeches given between 1789 and 2012, 140 full text primary documents, bibliographies, timelines, and links to other digital collections including African American museums and research centers.
Also includes a Kentucky Source from the University of Kentucky - "Notable Kentucky African Americans Database".
The Colored Conventions Project is a digital humanities project team based at the University of Delaware that "'brings buried African American history to digital life' and attends to social justice activism in scholarship and research by offering an opportunity for deep engagement with 19th-century Black political organizing." The digital collection organizes conventions by year and location, and includes transcribed minutes. It also offers exhibits such as maps, information tables, The First National Convention, etc., as well as teaching resources, links to other research guides, bibliographies, and more.
The Digital Public Library of America is a portal that brings together the digital collections of libraries, archives, and museums across the country and makes them accessible to users anywhere online. A search engine on the homepage enables users to search by keyword and narrow results.
The Freedmen and Southern Society Project depicts the drama of emancipation in the words of the participants: liberated slaves and defeated slaveholders, soldiers and civilians, common folk and the elite, Northerners and Southerners. With the aid of original essays, the documents presented convey with first-person immediacy the experiences of the liberated and can be found in the published series, Freedom: A Documentary History of Emancipation, 1861–1867.
Dickinson College is presenting materials of the period from 1840 to 1880 - currently focusing on digitizing their collection from Reconstruction between 1865-1870. Browse antebellum almanacs, for search the collection for people, places, events, major topics, primary sources like documents and images, or view their bibliographies.
The Daniel A. P. Murray Pamphlet Collection is 'a panoramic and eclectic review of African-American history and culture' from 1818-1907, with most resources published between 1875 and 1900. Includes works by Frederick Douglass, Booker T. Washington, Ida B. Wells-Barnett, Benjamin W. Arnett, Alexander Crummel, Emanuel Love, and more.
Online digitized images collections provided by the Library of Congress. You can browse each collection, such as the "African American Photographs Assembled for 1900 Paris Exposition", or use the search engine to search by topic.
Archiving Kentucky oral history interviews at the University of Kentucky, the Louie B Nunn Center allows users to listen to digitized interviews online. You can browse by topics (ex. agriculture, appalachia, communities, diversity, education, gender, healthcare, etc.), as well as Projects, People, and by Subject. Also includes Advanced search functions.
This resource provides access to information, interpretation, and scholarship on the global black experience. Includes a project on Emmett Till (primary sources, podcasts, and essays), scholarly podcasts, oral histories, digitized images, books, articles, and documents, exhibitions, newsletters, and links to other resources.
Part of the Schomburg Digital Collection from the New York Public Library this is a collection of 41 full-length books, including autobiography, novels, poetry, slave testemonies, and more -- by 19th African American women, from Phillis Wheatley to Sojourner Truth. You can access more books, as well as oral histories, images, and more from NYPL: Digital Schomburg.
With over 11,000 digitized items, this digital compilation was developed in support of the NYPL website, "The African American Migration Experience," a sweeping 500-year historical narrative from the transatlantic slave trade to the Western migration, the colonization movement, the Great Migration, and the contemporary immigration of Caribbeans, Haitians, and sub-Saharan Africans.
The Race and Slavery Petitions Project offers data on race and slavery from 18th and 19th century documents, including information on about 150,000 individuals, almost 3,000 legislative petitions, 14,512 county court petitions, and more.
From Cornell University Library's Division of rare and Manuscript Collections, the Samuel J. May Anti-Slavery Collection is one of the richest anti-slavery and Civil War collections with over 10,000 titles and Reverend Samuel Joseph May's pamphlets and leaflets for the anti-slavery struggle at local, state, and national levels. See "Search the Collection" to search, and "Other Online Resources" for other web collections.
From the Smithsonian, SIRIS Image Gallery contains over 530,000 digitized images from its collections. Users can browse by format (photographs, postcards, paintings, etc.), by repository, or by cultural groups (ex. African Americans, Woman in History). Select the "Collections Search Center" link at the top or use the search engine in each collection to search for specific topics.
The WWW Virtual Library is an index of the web and operates as a directory of electronic sources. This link serves as a portal to many information resources to bibliographies, archives, and other materials.