Skip to Main Content
Western Kentucky University Libraries
Potter College of Arts and Letters
Search this Guide
Articles & Databases
Music Journals Online @WKU
Books, Films, Recordings
Scores / Sheet Music
Streaming Video @WKU
Free Online Performances
Orgs: Music (general)
Orgs: Music Education / Therapy
American Ballet Theatre
Based in NYC, America’s official National Ballet Company has preserved and promoted ballet and contemporary dance since 1939.
The Aria Database
Basic information about each aria in the database; includes translations for many arias and aria texts not under copyright restriction.
The portal to all things classical. Contains an exhaustive index of composers and a buyer’s guide for building your own CD collection.
The Classical Music Navigator
Features an intuitive database that allows you to navigate the entirety of classical music from your own “points of familiarity."
Dedicated to providing tools and practical information for composers of new music, especially modern art music
Composers of Color Resource Project
Houses resources put together by a Humanities Commons Group.
Guide to Medieval and Renaissance Instruments (Iowa State Univ.)
From the bagpipe to the zink, an engaging list of antique instruments. Complete with MP3 samples.
The LiederNet Archive
A prodigious archive of texts and translations for over 150,000 lieder and art songs.
Medieval Music Database (LaTrobe Univ.)
Dedicated to the music of the 14
century. Browse over 70,000 archived works.
Musica International Virtual Choral Library
An encyclopedic database of the choral repertoire. Registration required.
Includes links to festivals and competitions, with over 500,000 searchable opera performances.
Répertoire International des Sources Musicales (RISM)
Musical sources worldwide: manuscripts or printed music, writings on music theory, and libretti.
Schenker Documents Online
Primary sources for the music theory of Heinrich Schenker (1868-1935).
Thesaurus Musicarum Latinarum
Online archive of music theory in Latin.
Information about traditional, popular and classical music, plus artists and recordings.
British Library Sounds
90,000 recordings of music, literature, dialects, and environmental sounds.
Center for the History of Music Theory & Literature (Indiana Univ.)
Dedicated to making music research freely available to scholars worldwide.
Google Voice Search
Got a song rolling around in your head and can’t remember what it's called? Click on the microphone icon in the Google search box, hum the melody, and Google will (usually) tell you the title.
Irving S. Gilmore Music Library (Yale Univ.)
Digital collection of rare musical resources.
This 12-tone generator lets you easily graph out your own 12-tone music.
Every musical genre and subgenre mapped out to show their relationships--nothing musical exists in a vacuum.
Online Resources for Music Scholars (Harvard Univ.)
Countless links to online music resources, including sound recordings and discographies.
teoría: Music Theory Web
Conservatory of Music of Puerto Rico that has resources for music theory and ear training.
Search engine for melodic themes found in classical, folk, etc.
Popular / Traditional Music
92Y on Demand
Street Young Men's and Young Women's Hebrew Association.
A fascinating collection of links to roots music publishing houses, museums, and record labels.
The Brass Band Portal
From sheet music to job vacancies, this is a one-stop shop for brass bands.
Center for Black Music Research (Columbia College, Chicago)
Personal papers, scores, sheet music, audio-visual materials, photographs, books, periodicals, and commercial recordings -- all highlight the role of black music in world culture.
Ethnomusicology Research Guide (Univ. of Washington)
From world music archives to global field recordings, an excellent starting point for all things ethnomusicological.
Folk Alliance International
For over 30 years, this nonprofit has committed itself to preserving and promoting the great tradition of folk music.
Folk Music of England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales and America
Folk music searchable by title, country, and subject matter.
Live Music Archive
Downloadable concerts from popular groups.
Louis Armstrong House
From rare recordings to personal memorabilia, this New York-based museum is the final authority on the life, music, and incalculable influence of Louis Armstrong (1901-1971).
Music Maker Relief Foundation
From emergency grants to art exhibitions to exclusive CD releases, Music Maker has helped preserve the traditions of the American South for 25 years and counting. An indispensable support network.
Pause & Play
New and upcoming release dates for music CDs, DVDs, vinyl, MP3s, and books.
Rock 'n Roll Hall of Fame and Museum
For almost 40 years, this Cleveland-based institution has dedicated itself to the many tangled branches of rock and roll. Also offers top-notch free online learning through Rock Hall Edu.
Index for materials on rock, jazz, and roots music.
Part of the National Museum of American History, Smithsonian Jazz continues to thoroughly document the historical importance of jazz music. Home to the world-renowned Smithsonian Jazz Masterworks Orchestra.
First Year Experience Librarian
Counseling and Student Affairs
Streaming Video @WKU
Free Online Performances >>
Jan 18, 2023 4:02 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem
music research guide