English

A WWW-based database available through Literature Online which exhaustively indexes all literature of the field of Literature, Languages, Linguistics, and Folklore. MLA Can be searched individually or together with Literature Online.

Contains full text of over 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, along with literature journals and other key criticism and reference resources. Also Indexes scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Includes a combined search with the MLA International Bibliography.

These are two (see below) all-subject WWW-based services (they are part of the EBSCOhost system) feature indexing and abstracting of many journals and magazines WKU Libraries receives in hardcopy, plus a large selection of articles in full-text.

Indexes doctoral dissertations and master's theses from North American and European universities from 1861 to the present.

See above.

Provides combined access to Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism Online and Something About the Author Online.

Provides biographical and critical essays on the lives and works of influential literary figures from all eras and genres.

A large collection of literary commentary from around the world

Contains all information from the printed Readers’ Guide annuals in a single database. Over 3 million articles from approximately 375 leading magazines (many peer reviewed). Also includes PDF full text from the Wilson Library Bulletin from 1914 to 1983. Subject headings have been updated with modern terminology, although the original subject headings are also available.

A free Web-based Google service that restricts searches to the scholarly literature. Now features linking to full-text of articles held by WKU.

The Brown University Women Writers Project is a long-term research and publication project which focuses on making available texts from early modern women writers in the English language. The Women Writers Project maintains "Women Writers Online" an electronic collection of rare or difficult to obtain works written or co-authored by women from the sixteenth century to the mid nineteenth century.

Online access to the Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults.

FirstSearch database available to faculty and graduate students (and to undergraduate students by special permission). Indexes over 1,300 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, 1980 to present.