Skip to main content

English

English (Writing and Literature) Departmental Research Guide

Reference

books

Subject Call # range
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory  PN81 .E43
Oxford English Dictionary PE1625 .O87 and Online
Oxford Dictionary of Quotations  PN6080 .O95
Columbia Grainger Index to Poetry  PN1022 .C63
Dictionary of Literary Biography PN451 .D54 and Online
Contemporary Authors  PS129 .C6
Reader's Guide to Women's Studies  Z7961 .R43 1998
Encyclopedia of Feminist Literary Theory PN98 .W64 E53 1997
Southern Writers  PS261 .S59
Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism  PN761 .N5
Contemporary Literary Criticism PN771 .C59
Twentieth Century Literary Criticism PN771 .T85x
Southern Writers PS261 .S59
Book Review Index Z1035 .A1 B6
Book Review Digest  Z1219 .C96
Biography and Genealogy Master Index  Online

Works (printed and manuscript) in the Kentucky Building by and about Kentucky authors (including Janice Holt Giles, Alice Hegan Rice, Jesse Stuart and Robert Penn Warren)

For citing sources:

MLA   MLA Handbook

Subject Call # range
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers  LB2369 .G53 in Ready Ref. and Online

Information on places to send creative writing, book manuscripts, poetry:

Subject Call # range
Literary Market Place PN161 .L51x
Writer's Market  PN161 .W83

Call Numbers

Use One Search to search for specific items in the collection, or more narrowly-defined subjects.

call numbers

CALL NUMBER       (how to read the Library of Congress call numbers)

Example:     

BF 11.H39  

BF= Subject Area

11= Location within the subject- Like a Street AddressNumbers go from 1-9999 (so: 11 is in beginning of BF section, 9879 is at end of BF section)

.H39= (shows where the book sits on the shelf in the BF11 area) -stands for author’s name

 

Subject Call # range
PhilologyLinguisticsClassical PhilologyClassical Linguistics P-PA
Modern European Languages PB-PH
Dictionaries (of all kindsincluding the OEDThesauriSlang...) PE
German Dictionaries PF 
African Writers PL
LiteratureGeneralQuotationsetc. PN
FrenchItalianSpanishMexicanLatin American, & Portuguese Literatures PQ
English Literature PR
American Literature PS
German Literature PT
Juvenile Belles Lettres PZ

Available in Cravens Floors 9

Subject Guide

Jack Montgomery's picture
Jack Montgomery
Contact:
Address: 304 Cravens Library, 1906 College Heights Blvd. #11067, Bowling Green, KY 42101

270-745-6156
(270) 745-6156
Website

Subject Guide

Jack Montgomery's picture
Jack Montgomery
Contact:
Address: 304 Cravens Library, 1906 College Heights Blvd. #11067, Bowling Green, KY 42101

270-745-6156
(270) 745-6156
Website