Skip to main content

English

English (Writing and Literature) Departmental Research Guide

English Classes

Library Research Guides for English Classes

What are Library Research Guides for English Classes?

They are guides set up for English courses at the behest of the Instructor to aid the student to locate resources which will be  particularly useful for specific course assignments.  The course instructor lets the subject librarian know what the class assignments will be, and the librarian then puts together a library research guide of databases (and their links) and library materials (and their call numbers), along with any advice that the student might find useful in working on their assignment.  

 Library Research Guide for classes are listed by course number, title,  and Instructor's name to make them easy to locate.

English 457 ---------- British Literature since 1900 ---------- Dr. Hale

Book Reviews which are Contemporary 

Databases

The resources below are provided by WKU Libraries. When accessing off-campus you will have to enter your WKU NetID and password.

Important Tip:  Use quote marks around the title you are looking for best results when doing your search.  Example:  "to the lighthouse"  Especially important when using newspaper resources!

Reference Books which will be Useful  ==  Reference Books are Located on the First Floor of Helm

  • Book Review Digest    Ref Z 1219 .C96 Suppl  1905 TO 1984 (Currently unavailable due to water damage)
  • Magill's Literary Annual   Ref Z 1035 .A1 M3x  (1977-2015)
A Decade Report on 20th Century Britain Synthesizing the Main Political, Cultural, and Literary Developments of the Period

Databases

The resources below are provided by WKU Libraries. When accessing off-campus you will have to enter your WKU NetID and password.

Reference Books which will be Useful   ==     Reference Books are Located on the First Floor of Helm   (A Printable List of additional books is attached below)

A dictionary of British history      online

Britannica Book of the year 1938 to present  Ref AE5 .E364

Encyclopaedia Britannica Ref AE5  .E363x 

Encyclopedia of contemporary British culture     Ref  DA589.4 .E53 1999
Handbook of British chronology  Ref DA34 .P6 1961 

The Illustrated dictionary of British history      Ref  DA34 .I44

The Longman handbook of modern British history, 1714-1980      Ref  DA470 .C65 1983 

Twentieth-century Britain: an encyclopedia    Ref   DA566 .T835 1995  
 
 Don't Forget!  Please feel free to ask for assistance in locating materials at the Help Desk in the Library Commons  on Cravens Fourth Floor

Subject Guide

Jack Montgomery's picture
Jack Montgomery
Contact:
Address: 304 Cravens Library, 1906 College Heights Blvd. #11067, Bowling Green, KY 42101

270-745-6156
(270) 745-6156
Website

Subject Guide

Jack Montgomery's picture
Jack Montgomery
Contact:
Address: 304 Cravens Library, 1906 College Heights Blvd. #11067, Bowling Green, KY 42101

270-745-6156
(270) 745-6156
Website