Applied Ethics and Ethical Theory / Edited by David M. Rosenthal & Fadlou Shehadi. Salt Lake City : University of Utah Press, 1988.
This is a part of the Ethics in a Chancing World series. It contains essays and articles on the relationship between theoretical ethics and everyday issues. Some of the areas covered include biomedical ethics, war, professional conduct, and issues involving normative economics and the environment (how should scarce resources be allocated). The essays are general in nature, and do not give answers; instead, they lay out principles to be used in making decisions in these areas. There are some specific examples at the end of the book, including taxation, wickedness and aggression, and nuclear annihilation. This work is non-technical and is easy to read.
Moral Philosophy from Montaigne to Kant / 2 volumes. Cambridge, New York : Cambridge University Press, 1990.
This anthology collects works by moral philosophers in the 17th and 18th centuries. The introduction functions as a broad essay for background to the ideas of the thinkers. It includes a bibliography. There is also a bibliography at the end of each writer's section.
Social Ethics : Morality and Social Policy / Thomas A. Mappes and Jane S. Zembaty. 3rd edition. New York : McGraw Hill, 1987.
Essays on biomedical issues, capital punishment, sex roles and sexual morality, discrimination, censorship, economic justice, hunger, war, and the environment. Includes articles, as well as excerpts from U.S. Supreme Court opinions in important cases such as University of California v. Bakke, 438 U.S. 265 (1978), the "reverse discrimination" case. There is a bibliography at the end of each section, although the legal citations have been edited out of the opinions. There is no index.
Skepticism in Ethics / Panayot Butchvarov. Bloomington, Indiana : Indiana University Press, 1989.
Discusses the foundations of ethics using skepticism to uncover the phenomenological, metaphysical, and epistemological bases of ethical systems. This work is at the undergraduate level, and is best for someone who already has a minimal background in the field. References are given in endnotes at the back of the work, and there is also an index at the back.
Ethics in an Age of Technology / Ian G. Barbour. 2 volumes. San Francisco : Harper, 1993.
This collection contains lectures delivered by the author between 1989 and 1991. They discuss in non-technical, clearly-written language some of the religious, moral, and philosophical issues brought up by the introduction of advanced technology in our society. There is a list of abbreviations used in the front of each volume, and an index of names at the back. The references are given in endnotes at the back of each volume.
Anthropology and Ethics / May Edel and Abraham Edel. Cleveland : Press of Case Western Reserve University, 1968.
This work looks at the concept of morality from both the philosophical viewpoint (ethics) and the anthropological understanding of the concept. The discipline of philosophy looks at morality from a speculative perspective (what should be done, while anthropology treats morality descriptively (what is done). There is no assumption that the reader knows either field. Clearly-written and non-technical. There is an index at the back, and references are also at the back of the book.
Ethics and the Rule of Law / David Lyons. Cambridge, U.K, New York : Cambridge University Press, 1984.
Lyons’ book serves as an introduction to the field. It is simple to understand and suitable for undergraduates. The endnotes, bibliography, and index are located at the back of the book.