Skip to main content

Philosophy

Resources available for the study of Philosophy

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Philosophy of Mind / Edited by Chris Eliasmith. St Louis, Mo. : Philosophy-Neuroscience-Psychology Program, Department of Philosophy, Washington University, 1997.http://www.artsci.wustl.edu/~philos/MindDict/
This work is a dictionary on the World Wide Web. The dictionary is intended to reflect current approaches to the philosophy of mind. Most submissions are from professional philosophers and ABD graduate students in philosophy. All submissions are subject to blind review by approved members of the review board.

Dictionary of Philosophy / Antony Flew. London : McMillan, 1979.
Contains definitions and entries about philosophers (mostly European). Although some terms are cross-referenced, many other terms are not. This is a good place to look for general definitions; however, some of the entries make use of symbols or advanced syllogisms.

Dictionary of Philosophy / A. R. Lacey. London, Boston : Routledge & K. Paul, 1976.
This work contains general definitions and entries on terms used in the field of philosophy and on 80 individual philosophers. Cross-references are denoted by small capital letters. Individual terms which are cross-referenced are shown by the use of italics. Each entry contains a list of readings.

Dictionary of Philosophy and Psychology / Edited by James Mark Baldwin. Gloucester, Massachusetts : P. Smith, 1960.
Contains short definitions of terms used in philosophy and psychology in non-technical, lay-person's terms. The entries are cross-referenced. Each article is signed by initials. This is an older work, but it is still used by practitioners in both fields.

Dictionary of Philosophy and Religion : Eastern and Western Thought / William L. Reese. New and enlarged edition. Atlantic Highlands, N.J. : Humanities Press, 1996.
This dictionary contains short defining entries on various topics and thinkers in the fields of philosophy and religion. It is alphabetical, and contains cross-references. The entries are clear and concise. This is a basic work for quick definitions.

Philosophical Dictionary / Edited by Walter Brugger; translated by Kenneth Baker. Spokane : Gonzaga University Press, 1972.
This work contains short, signed entries on assorted popular topics within the field. The work is non-technical. The book does not contain a bibliography, nor does it have cross-references. This dictionary is good for general background information on a particular topic.

Philosophical Dictionary / Voltaire. Basic Books, 1967. 2 volumes.
This book contains essays on various topics in philosophy. It was written by the French philosopher and thinker Voltaire (1694-1778). The work functions more as a set of essays than as a dictionary. This is a classic work that should be consulted by serious students and scholars in the field.

Oxford Companion to Philosophy / Edited by Ted Honderich. Oxford, New York : Oxford University Press, 1995.
A series of short entries on topics relating to philosophy, this work attempts to provide a comprehensive picture of classical and English-language philosophy in a format accessible to undergraduates. The signed entries range from one paragraph to one page in length. There are readings at the end of each article. There are appendices on logical symbols, maps of philosophy, and a chronological table of philosophy. There is also an index of terms which functions as a thesaurus in suggesting the headings that are used within the work.

Last updated August 30, 2001

Philosophy Encyclopedias

The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy / Edited by James Fieser. Martin, TN. : University of Tennessee at Martin, 1997. http://www.utm.edu/research/iep/
Articles in the Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy are currently from three sources (1) adaptations from public domain sources, (2) adaptations of material written by the editor for classroom purposes, and (3) original contributions by professional philosophers around the internet. Over time, the editor seeks to replace all of the first two types of articles with original contributions by professional philosophers.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy / Edited by Edward N. Zalta. Palo Alto, CA. : Stanford University Center for the Study of Language and Information, 1997.http://plato.stanford.edu/
This Web encyclopedia constantly changes with the addition of new entries and the modification of existing entries. Consequently, you can expect the entries in this encyclopedia to be responsive to new research. The entries are evaluated by an Editorial Board.

Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics / San Diego : Academic Press, 1988. 4 volumes.
This work addresses the field of applied ethics. Applied ethics is the study of ethics in the context of scientific, social, medical, or legal issues. The encyclopedia includes 281 full-length signed articles with cross-references. Each article contains a bibliography. The index is located at the back of the fourth volume.

Encyclopedia of Bioethics / New York : Free Press, 1978. 4 volumes.
This work contains alphabetical articles on a variety of subjects within bioethics. There is an index in the back, and also a systematic classification of articles according to broad subject matter. At the end of the encyclopedia there is a references section; there is also a bibliography at the end of each article. The entries are clearly written and contain non-technical language. This is a basic source for background information and references in the field of bioethics.

Encyclopedia of Ethics / New York : Garland Publishing, 1992. 2 volumes.
This is an encyclopedia with medium-length signed articles on a variety of topics within the field of ethics. Each article includes a bibliography. There is a comprehensive index at the end of volume 2, and also an index of the bibliographies cited to in the book.

Encyclopedia of Philosophy / New York : McHillan, 1967, 1972. 8 volumes.
This is a basic work in the field of philosophy. It contains comprehensive, signed articles on concepts, terms, and major thinkers. This work is good for background information and as a place to start research, since it contains lists of readings for each entry. In articles about philosophers, the bibliography lists works by that person, as well as works about the thinker.

Encyclopedia of Religion and Ethics / edited by James Hastings, John A. Selbie and Louis H. Gray. Edinburgh, New York, T. & T. Clark; Charles Scribner's Sons, 1960. Reprint of the original edition, published 1908-27. 13 volumes.
This encyclopedia is a major work in the area of ethics and religion. It contains signed articles, many of them long. References are contained in footnotes at the bottom of each page. The index is very detailed and comprehensive.

Dictionary of the History of Ideas : Studies of Selected Pivotal Ideas / Edited by Philip P. Weiner. New York : Charles Scribner's Sons, 1968, 1973. 4 volumes.
Contains articles and entries on major topics in philosophy and ideas. This work has clear, non-technical, signed articles that are a good starting place for background knowledge. The cross-references and bibliography are at the end of each article.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy / general editor, Edward Craig. London ; New York : Routledge, 1998. 10 volumes. Also available in CD-ROM.
This encyclopedia was an ambitious undertaking. An entirely new work, it is the first major encyclopedia of philosophy in 30 years. The encyclopedia contains nearly 2,000 entries. Non-western coverage is quite extensive, with over 400 entries on Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Indian, Tibetan, Jewish, Arabit, Islamic, Russian, Latin American, and African philosophy. The levels varry from undergraduate to graduate. Some of the articles use symbols. The entries are signed, and annotated references are found after each article. Volume 10 consists of the index, which is very well cross-referenced.

Last updated August 30, 2001