This site is a searchable collection of almost 400 classical Greek and Roman texts (in English translation) with user-provided commentary. The Internet Classics Archive has won many awards. The site includes works by Aeschylus, Andocides, Antiphon, Marcus, Aurelius, Antoninus, Apollodorus, Aristophanes, Aristotle, Bacchylides, Titus, Lucretius, Carus, Demades, Demosthenes, Dinarchus, Diodorus, Euripides, Herodotus, Hesiod, Hippocrates, Homer, Hyperides, Isaeus, Isocrates, Lysias, Pausanias, Pindar, Plato, Plotinus, Plutarch, Sophocles, Strabo, P. Cornelius, Tacitus, Thucydides,Virgil, and Xenophon.
This site contains the Dialogues of Plato (mostly the Benjamin Jowett translations), the works of Aristotle, Epictetus' Discourses, and Plotinus' Enneads, as well as the Meditations of Marcus Aurelius.
Greek Thinkers : A History of Ancient Philosophy
by Theodore Gomperz; Translated by Laurie Magnus
Call Number: B173 .G7 1964
Publication Date: 1964
4 volumes. Important secondary interpretive work on ancient Greek philosophers. Contains an index in the back of the book.
History of Greek Philosophy
by W. K. C. Guthrie
Call Number: Cravens Library B171 .G83
Publication Date: 1962
4 volumes. Contains secondary explanatory and interpretive work on Greek thinkers. There is an index and a bibliography in the back of the book.
History of Philosophy
by Emile Brehier
Call Number: Cravens Library B77 .B723
Publication Date: 1963
Essays on various philosophers and their principles throughout the ages. This is a general work that is easily understandable by the beginner. Each essay contains a bibliography, and there is an index in the back of each volume.
History of Women Philosophers
by Gilles Menage; translated by Beatrice H. Zedler
Call Number: Cravens Library B187 .W64 M4613 1984
Publication Date: 1984
Translation of the work of Menage, a 17th-century scholar. This work contains information about ancient female philosophers. The translator has also included an introduction for historical context and a bibliography of the sources that Menage used. There is also an index, and in the back of the book there is a chart listing the classification by school of thought which Menage used. This is an important source to use for information on ancient female thinkers.
Introduction to Western Philosophy
by Anthony Flew
Call Number: Cravens Library BD21 .F59 1971b
Publication Date: 1971
Contains readings from the classics and textbook-style explanations together in one volume. Clearly-written in non-technical language. Includes both "Index of Names" and "Index of Notions" in the back of the book.
Midwest studies in Philosophy
1976-1999: Cravens Library B29 .S832
1999 to Present: Available online via EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete
This multi-volume set aims to be a comprehensive survey of the field of philosophy. Each volume contains a different subject, which is discussed at length by various essays. This is a primary source which contains original material, as well as secondary essays on the ideas of others. Most articles have notes at the end which contain references, although some authors put their references in the body of the essays. Topics include:
* Causation and Causal Theories
* Social and Political Philosophy
* Contemporary Perspectives in the Philosophy of Language
* Studies in Epistemology
* Contemporary Perspectives in the History of Philosophy
* Studies in Essentialism
* Foundations of Analytic Philosophy
* Studies in Ethical Theory
* Realism and Antirealism
Oxford illustrated history of Western philosophy
by edited by Anthony Kenny
Call Number: Cravens Library B72 .O95 2000x
Publication Date: 1994
This guide is a great place for a beginning student to start their research. Philosophers and their theories are given in simple-to-understand capsules. The references will point to more advanced works. Contains illustrations.
Philosophic Thought in France and the United States
by Edited by Marvin Farber
Call Number: Cravens Library B2421 .F3 1968
Publication Date: 1968
Selected primary essays involving French and American thought during the 20th century. Most of the essays are in non-technical language. Some of the articles include bibliographies at the end. There is an index and a supplementary bibliography at the back of the book.
Principles of Philosophical Reasoning
by Edited by James H. Fetzer
Call Number: Cravens Library BC177 .P74 1984
Publication Date: 1984
Contains 12 original papers on reasoning and principles of inquiry. Some of the essays use symbols. This is a graduate or professional level work which presupposes an extensive knowledge of the field on the part of the reader. It is for the expert rather than the beginner. There is an index of subjects in the back of the book, and also a list of references.
Studies in Philosophy and the History of Philosophy
Call Number: Not available at WKU
3 volumes. Contains signed articles on philosophical principles. The entries are written in non-technical language which can be understood with a minimal background in the field. The references are given in footnotes, and there is an index in the back of volume 3.